Customer Reviews for

Parents Need to Eat Too: Nap-Friendly Recipes, One-Handed Meals, and Time-Saving Kitchen Tricks for New Parents

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Breastfeeding Mothers and Professionals-Pay Attention-What a Resource!

    This book is a FANTASTIC resource! Easy to read, great information. I use it daily in my job as an IBCLC (International Board Certified Lactation Consultant). Thank you Debbie Koenig!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Parents need this book!

    Well written, well organized, and funny!
    Debbie Koenig takes her blog recipes to the written page, along with very helpful hints, insight, and a 'been there, done that' vibe that makes getting a healthy, tasty meal on the table with little fuss. I'll be gifting this cookbook to all new mamas.
    (She even reminds you to set timers, so your bleary, sleep-deprived mind doesn't wander too far!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Simple, delicious food that's not just for parents

    Debbie's book is amazing. The recipes are delicious and easy to cook for busy parents of little kids. I only have a few hours with my boys after work and before they go to bed and these recipes allow me to make the most of that time and to feed all of us tasty, healthy food. I'll be introducing solids to my little one, and the baby food recommendations are really helpful.

    This makes a great baby shower gift but it's great for anyone who is short on time but wants home-cooked meals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    The perfect baby shower gift for expectant parents-just order one for yourself too

    Debbie Koenig uses levity and honesty in this fabulous book that makes venturing back into the kitchen when your life has been turned most delightfully upside down by children, a realistic prospect. The recipes are simple to follow, tasty and nutritious. Better still they've been tested by hundreds of families with young children. The anecdotes from parents at the end of each recipe are testimony to the book and offer lovely snapshots into family life across the US and in some cases beyond.

    My copy arrived just a few days ago and I've been thrilled with what I've found. I've used several of Debbie's recipes before from her blog and this volume of recipes is sure to be well used in our home.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    This book got me through the 4th trimester and is now my family

    This book got me through the 4th trimester and is now my family meal standby.  Koenig's conversational and encouraging style makes the recipes really delightful - as if they were emails from your been-there-done-that girlfriend.  Buy this for a baby shower gift and buy one for yourself too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    The only cookbook you need

    I LOVE this cookbook. Usually when I get a cookbook, I only make a couple of the recipes. With this one, I made at least 6 of the recipes within the first two weeks.

    It is full of healthy and tasty recipes. It breaks down the recipes for kids too. So you aren't making separate meals. There are also sections for people who don't cook, big batches, snacks, etc.

    As the first time parent of a 6 month old, I strongly urge all parents to purchase this cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Great book for new parents--or ANY parents for that matter

    Love this book. Great tips on cooking and surviving the early parenthood years. The recipes are wonderful. I bought it as a gift for a newbie parent. I also have kids, ages 8-13 and my life is pretty full. I found the recipes to be easy to follow and both adult and kid friendly, remarkably healthy, and really delicious. No deliciousness was sacrificed and I love the nod to different ethnic styles of cooking as well, but were remarkably easy to make. I kept the copy and am ordering a second to give as the gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended for everyone

    This is a must have in everyone's kitchen. The recipes are varied and meets everyone's dietary needs. I love how Debbie Koenig gave tidbits, hints and alternatives for the recipes. Debbie included her own family in the recipes giving this a feel of reading a book. I have prepared several recipes and my kids swore that I had the meals brought in by our favorite gourmet take out cafe where I usually order their meals from. I urge everyone to buy this cookbook...it is a godsend for those that are pros in the kitchen and especially for those who are novices. This cookbook is great even if your babies are no longer babies anymore! I hope that Debbie Koenig continues writing cookbooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    This should be required third-trimester reading.

    They should give out copies when they give you the Glucola for your gestational diabetes test. Or at least send you home with a copy from the hospital. Or have your midwife give you one at the birth. Or hand it to you with a hearty congratulations when you bring home an adopted child. Because seriously people, ALL PARENTS NEED THIS BOOK.

    Yes, there are a lot of things new parents need - sleep, reassurance, a semi-regular shower perhaps - but to fuel all those things (yes, even the sleep), you need to be well-fed. We're all programmed to be totally tuned into our babies' appetites and eating habits, but what about ours?? This cookbook - really a how-to manual for nurturing yourself during those early weeks and months with baby - takes all the guesswork and how-to planning out of meal prep, which is exactly what you need. Tell me what to cook, how to make it, and what to always have on hand so I can feed myself - and my family - well without having to actually THINK.

    So after you've enjoyed one of her tasty recipes for dinner, you're going to pop one or two (or four) of her amazing chocolate chip cookie dough balls in the oven (because you have a batch in the freezer, natch, that you made during naptime last week), sit down with your baby in your arms, put your feet up, and thank her for making your already sweet life infinitely more delicious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1