Customer Reviews for

Paris

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Seven hundred years of history interwoven with the stories of fi

Seven hundred years of history interwoven with the stories of five families illuminates Paris for a reader much as the first view of la Tour Eiffel at night sparks your imagination.  A herculean task for any author and reader, this book combines actual historical events...
Seven hundred years of history interwoven with the stories of five families illuminates Paris for a reader much as the first view of la Tour Eiffel at night sparks your imagination.  A herculean task for any author and reader, this book combines actual historical events with a nod to their impact on the Paris that exists in this present day.  




Substantial in both information and page count, Rutherford has again created a sweeping book that manages to provide a ‘feel’ of the city and the time as strongly as it informs the reader about the City of Lights.    Having been a fan of Paris for many years, with relatives who live in the city, the areas were familiar, even when the history that was an intrinsic element to the area was not. 




Weaving through time the story never loses that underlying fascination and love for the city that was the centerpiece, backdrop and even breathing character in the stories that explore the history. Adding to the dimensions of understanding and feeling for the city is the detail of the differing perspectives from the characters and families that are used to illustrate the events, providing a contrast and sense of immediate impact that removes it from the annals of the distant past. 




This is my first encounter with this author’s work, and it will not be my last.  I appreciate the fact that the city is in the forefront and becomes a character that will feed your inner travel bug.  As a city Paris does breathe, there is magic in the streets and air: in this book, there is a sense and understanding of her raison d'être and why she is so beloved. 




I received an eBook copy from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

posted by gaele on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not the Author`s Besr

Definitely not the author`s best work•would be better if chapters were in chronological order instead of skipping around. But need to include if collector of this author or anyone else who writes a la Miichener.

posted by 6390381 on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Seven hundred years of history interwoven with the stories of fi

    Seven hundred years of history interwoven with the stories of five families illuminates Paris for a reader much as the first view of la Tour Eiffel at night sparks your imagination.  A herculean task for any author and reader, this book combines actual historical events with a nod to their impact on the Paris that exists in this present day.  




    Substantial in both information and page count, Rutherford has again created a sweeping book that manages to provide a ‘feel’ of the city and the time as strongly as it informs the reader about the City of Lights.    Having been a fan of Paris for many years, with relatives who live in the city, the areas were familiar, even when the history that was an intrinsic element to the area was not. 




    Weaving through time the story never loses that underlying fascination and love for the city that was the centerpiece, backdrop and even breathing character in the stories that explore the history. Adding to the dimensions of understanding and feeling for the city is the detail of the differing perspectives from the characters and families that are used to illustrate the events, providing a contrast and sense of immediate impact that removes it from the annals of the distant past. 




    This is my first encounter with this author’s work, and it will not be my last.  I appreciate the fact that the city is in the forefront and becomes a character that will feed your inner travel bug.  As a city Paris does breathe, there is magic in the streets and air: in this book, there is a sense and understanding of her raison d'être and why she is so beloved. 




    I received an eBook copy from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    I have lived in Paris for almost two years now and I was surpris

    I have lived in Paris for almost two years now and I was surprised by how much I learned from this novel. I now have a newfound appreciation for this magnificent city and I am excited to re-discover the city after seeing through the author's eyes. 

    Although it may not be my most favorite book by this author, it was nevertheless a very enjoyable read. I highly recommend it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Once again Edward Rutherfurd has captured the history and cultur

    Once again Edward Rutherfurd has captured the history and culture of a place-- this time Paris-- by following generations of a few different families.  PARIS covers the centuries from 1261 to 1968 wonderfully by involving the reader in his fictional character's lives mixed in with real historical figures. I especially enjoyed this book because I really knew very little about Paris before hand.  I got engrossed in the "flavor" of the city, as well as the factual history of the city.




    Rutherfurd included so many interesting times, places and characters.  I especially enjoyed the story around the building of the Eiffel Tower and the Statue of Liberty, with the iron workers lives around great heights, and Mr. Eiffel's ingenious means of construction.  The political and power antics of Cardinal Richelieu; all the different King Louies, with the nobility and lower classes populating Versailles; the French Revolution;  the push and pull of democracy, the socialists, and the communists; the extreme violent wars over Catholics and Protestants;  the street lives of the city during the World Wars; and the conflict of the "Jewish problem", with the dehumanizing of the Jews, and thefts of their artworks, resulting in the Nazi occupation ----all were populated with characters that made me feel that I was part of every period in these times.  There was also great stories around the artists, authors, and show folks who flocked to Paris where they found a nurturing environment for their passions and talents.




    Perhaps the most intriguing family situation for me, involved two brothers--Toma and Luke.  Toma being hard working, ethical, brave and extremely likable. .  Luke being calculating, selfish, enterprising in all the wrong ways, and very dangerous.  Their actions and relationship culminating in a grand conflict during WW 2. Rutherfurd told his story of history, but he was even better at involving me in his character's lives. Another winner from Rutherfurd!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Paris by Edward Rutherford What a great story! From the Roman

    Paris by Edward Rutherford

    What a great story! From the Roman times to 1968, here's the story of the French capital as viewed by six fictitious French families:

    The Le Sourds: revolutionaries, leftists and communists
    The Le Cygne: aristocrats
    The Renards: Protestant businessmen and professionals
    The Blanchards: Catholic businessmen and professionals
    The Gascons: Blue collar
    And, the Jacobs: Jewish

    From them, we learn about the founding of Paris, the class warfare, the medieval Parisian history, the religious warfare - The Massacre of Protestants at the Feast of St. Bartholomeus, or the persecution of the Huguenots; the French revolution, the Reign of Terror, The Paris Commune, the persecution of the Jewish people - The edict of Fointainbleau and The Edict of Nantes; the building of the Statue of liberty and of the Tour Eiffel, The First World War; The Influenza epidemic of 1918 - 19, The Second World war, the French occupation, the resistance, and Finally The Charles de Gaulle years...

    Although it's 805 pages and goes from the 13th century to 1968, it's a very pleasant read. It concentrates on the period of history from 1875 to 1940, thus it's heavy on the post revolutionary history of the republic. I loved the way Rutheford manipulates his fictitious characters to tell the French history. I also loved the conflicts between the social classes - whether a citizen using her influence to have an aristocrat sent to the guillotine, to an aristocrats using his power to kill a peasant; and the conflicts these characters demonstrate on religion - whether Catholic against Protestant to Christian against Jews. For anyone who loves Paris, like I do, this is a great read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This author has become the one and only when it comes to epic no

    This author has become the one and only when it comes to epic novels. His new novel called Paris is his latest gem. This book covers many years (700) of one of the most talked about cities in the world. The reader is privy to the culture and architecture; everything from the building of the Statue of Liberty which was sent to New York City as a gift from France and on to the Eiffel Tower, which is an amazing story by itself, a constant march through society, geographic places and history of the city of Paris.




    The story picks up in the year 1261 with the building of Notre Dame Cathedral and ending in the late 1960’s after all the wars that France was involved in came to a close. The reader is treated to the lives of the people who grew up, had families, fought in wars, and built the beautiful city of Paris. The novel goes into many historical scenes that occurred in the City of Light over the centuries. There are many different types of folks and their descendants who meet and mingle with each other whether they want to or not. We meet members of the aristocratic de Cygnes family; the Le Sourd family and the Gascon family who are members of the working class. As an example, one of the sons of the Gascon family helped build the Statue of Liberty and the Eiffel Tower. The Blanchard family, who are very rich, do not associate with aristocrats unless they are selling them something and they are never seen 'hob-nobbing' with the working class.




    The author’s writing is first class, as always, and the stories that he tells of the people of Paris are fascinating. This reader has read a lot of history but was still amazed by some of the things that took place. An example would be the building of the Eiffel Tower. Even with all the modern equipment that is used today, I was astonished at how they put this very large tower together with the means that they had to work with at the time the Tower was built. The author presents us with timelines for each family and the topics that are covered by each are really important. There are chapters about the French Revolution that started out full of dreams to end up in terror; the expectations of the socialists that led into despair as the Nazis marched into Paris in 1940, bringing into being another reign of terror.




    As in any city with a lot of historical facts, including many monuments, and when fortunes are won and lost, such a topic would be a difficult book for any author to conquer but Edward Rutherfurd does not disappoint. Taking into consideration his classic research and writing, the author brings these families, with all their problems and dreams to the forefront for all to see.




    Quill says: Readers who have never seen Paris will think they are sitting in the middle of it. A wonderful read!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Not the Author`s Besr

    Definitely not the author`s best work•would be better if chapters were in chronological order instead of skipping around. But need to include if collector of this author or anyone else who writes a la Miichener.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Rutherfurd writes another great one.

    This book differs from the others: London, Sarum, Russka, etal. Instead of marching through history from beginning to end, There is some jumping around in terms of dates. It was enjoyable and kept me turning pages.
    The reader visits the french revolution, building both the Eiffel Tower and the Statue of Liberty,and Notre Dame Cathedral. Of course the characters are traced from one chapter to another by family tree. Just what I expected from this author who always delivers a grand story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    I have read over seven hundred pages so far, and will be sorry to see the book end. Rutherford has helped me relive all the places I have experienced in over thirty years of travel to Paris. Still, I learned many new things thanks to the author's fascinating historical research. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another Winner

    "Paris" takes you into the lives of several families over about 500 years, threads weaving in and out. Extended stops during Louis XIV, the Revolution, but especially late 19th century (Impressionism, Eiffel). If you love fiction ensconced in real history, you will be in for a great ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    FUN READ!

    This should have been titled "Amanda's vacation to Paris." It takes you to all the hot spots!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Wonderful read

    Having lived in Paris 40 years back, Rutherfurd's imagery of the city makes it even more alive in my memory. Even better it helps you understand the French mind and the politics. Thanks.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    It's great.  His books bring history to life through the vivid p

    It's great.  His books bring history to life through the vivid personalities he creates.  First 100 pages can be a little confusing as the characters jump back and forth in different eras.  Stick with it!   couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    A book for all Rutherford enthusiasts

    Down through the years I have found I am never more content with a book than I am as when I read a Rutherford epic. I looked forward to reading this book wondering how my quest for knowledge about Paris would grow from reading about the history of France, and how Paris became the city as we know it today. Rutherford unfolds this history as with his other epic novels: Families are introduced early in the history of Paris, and through the intermingling of these families they grow as does this magnificent city. Through the development of Paris, Rutherford knits together a wonderful tale of subjects familiar to all of us: from royalty to the commoner, from the wars implicating France and from the building of iconic landmarks as we know them today. I love being transported through time by history, and what beter way than through the history of the great cities of the world as written by Rutherford.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2015

    As captivating as his London epic. Rutherfurd is fabulous!

    As captivating as his London epic. Rutherfurd is fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Sweeping history of a city

    Rutherfurd boils down a sweeping history of Paris for those of us who weren't paying attention during high school history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Gift Shop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    Great, especially if you love Paris!

    So far it's great. Only abou one third into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    haven't started reading this one yet.

    i bought this book because i am a fan of the author and have read New York and London. i read a sample of the book when it first came out and knew i had to have it. i had just finished reading Les Miserables and figured i could more information.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Good historical fiction

    Avid fan of Edward Rutherfurd's books. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    A great tour of the City Recommend

    This is a great story of historic events in Paris following several families through difficult times. I found novel difficult to follow due in part to the chapters jumping from one century to another.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3