Customer Reviews for

Paris, My Sweet: A Year in the City of Light (and Dark Chocolate)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Delicious read

I did so enjoy reading of two great cities, wonderful treats to savour. The writing carried me along side her. The swearing, more towrds the end, did leave me with a sour taste. (Please leave it out in your next writing.)

posted by annonymous on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

lots of "buts" on this book.

This book took me a long time to read, when that happen's it means it just doesn't "thrill" me. I loved the story about people, about describing Paris, and NY----but (yes there is a but here) too, too, too much about the descriptions of the food. It got really boring af...
This book took me a long time to read, when that happen's it means it just doesn't "thrill" me. I loved the story about people, about describing Paris, and NY----but (yes there is a but here) too, too, too much about the descriptions of the food. It got really boring after about 2 chapters, and every chapter is filled with it. The book went into depth of the preparation, presentation, taste of the wonderful and smell of a chocolate chip cookie, and a "prestine" macarons. What does that even mean, a "prestine macaron???" What did I learn from this book? That deserts are wonderful.....I think I already knew that. My advice is if your trying to lose weight, or even maintaine your weight, don't read this book.

posted by roena on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Delicious read

    I did so enjoy reading of two great cities, wonderful treats to savour. The writing carried me along side her. The swearing, more towrds the end, did leave me with a sour taste. (Please leave it out in your next writing.)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of my new favorite books. I hope to go to Paris someday!

    One of my new favorite books. I hope to go to Paris someday!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Travel Memoir

    Amy Thomas fell in love with Paris on a trip in her late teens. She dreamed of living there, and after years of work in the advertising field, she was offered a dream job. She could take a contract to work on the advertising of Louis Vuitton, but would have to move to Paris and work there. Amy jumped at the chance as it was her dream come true.

    Amy's other passion was quality desserts. She had, as a side interest, created a blog about sweets and where to find the best ones in New York. She dreamed about expanding this with all the wonderful new sweet shops and French confections she would find in Paris. Amy spent her first weeks there touring the famous shops and discovering new ones.

    Paris My Sweet combines both the story of Thomas's two years in Paris and her love of anything sweet. Each chapter talks about an issue common to those starting a new job, moving to a new city, or being a woman on the cusp of middle age who is still single and adventurous but starting to wonder about love, marriage and children. Each chapter also features a category of sweet such as the madeline or cupcakes or macarons. At the end of each chapter is a page outlining the best places to find that category of sweet, both in New York and in Paris.

    Paris My Sweet will appeal to a wide variety of readers. It is great travel writing. Foodies will be thrilled to read about the variety and intensity of flavors available in the dessert category as well as the guide to the best places to find specific categories. Overall, the book will appear to women working on finding their place in the world, finding that mix of work and family/love that works for them. Throughout the book, Thomas is revealed as a woman questioning her life but ultimately satisfied with her choices, a woman with a zest for life and who loves to share with others. This book is recommended for all these categories of readers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Fun easy read about life and chocolate

    Read this book while traveling in Paris for the first time. Interesting to see the differences between traveling there and living there. Also enjoyed seeing the actual shops she was talking about in the book. The guide in the back was the best because I didn't have to search through the chapters to remember a shop name. Will use next time I visit NYC and enjoyed the comparisons between both cities.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    People, sweets, biking, a dream job all in Paris! Loved it!

    I enjoyed the time I spent with the author as she explored life, love and desserts! I appreciated that it seemed an honest approach. I will hope to have my NOOK with me next time I get to Paris so I can use the lists with addresses to find some highlighted sweets!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    This tale of another wanna be rich girl looking for love in Pari

    This tale of another wanna be rich girl looking for love in Paris could have been wonderful if her values had gone deeper. Are we really supposed to feel bad because she cannot afford another dead baby animal skin purse? Does she really not get that French women don't want her to seduce away the few remaining good French men and so do not invite her into their dining rooms...?
    Maybe if she had cared about other people or animals (foie gras cookies, eh?), she would have met a Good Guy, French, American, or African, non? Bien sur, the sweet descriptions are inspiring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    lots of "buts" on this book.

    This book took me a long time to read, when that happen's it means it just doesn't "thrill" me. I loved the story about people, about describing Paris, and NY----but (yes there is a but here) too, too, too much about the descriptions of the food. It got really boring after about 2 chapters, and every chapter is filled with it. The book went into depth of the preparation, presentation, taste of the wonderful and smell of a chocolate chip cookie, and a "prestine" macarons. What does that even mean, a "prestine macaron???" What did I learn from this book? That deserts are wonderful.....I think I already knew that. My advice is if your trying to lose weight, or even maintaine your weight, don't read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    MAKES ME WANT MOVE TO PARIS.........AT LEAST FOR A YEAR.......

    This memoir of the author's time in Paris is an absolutely charming, witty, sad, delicious (so many bakeries to visit!), can't-put-down-book. Amy writes so well and describes her surroundings in such vivid detail that the reader will feel like she is right there with her; I wish! Buy this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    I loved the book. I visited Paris a week last year, and will re

    I loved the book. I visited Paris a week last year, and will return for a week this year. I love to order something from the menu and just enjoy the experience. And the sweets.......oh, the sweets. I've bookmarked (on my Nook Tablet) many, many pages within this book, highlighting endless sweet options for my next visit to the fabulous city. I have friends who have lived in Paris for three months and I know the sadness they experience when leaving the city to return home to the USA. The city is magical, and the author shares that on page after page of this book. With Paris map in hand, thank you Amy for the inspiration to endlessly search for just 'one more bite...'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Talonblaze

    Talonblaze 20 moons tom light brown et cream coloured with black star on left ear et green eyes kin wacky but lonely Timber by Pitbull ft. Ke$ha &#9788 ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Fun to read.

    Great little book. Entertaining with lots of tips re Paris and New York.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    For all Francophiles!

    A book about living in the 2 greatest cities in the world. What could be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Paris my Sweet: a beautiful book

    Paris my Sweet is a beautiful book. What I like about this book is that I love how Amy Thomas described how she felt, the sweet treats, and the city. I reccomend this book to people who love the City of Light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Delicious!

    I am so glad I saw this book in the B&N store just by chance! I am partial to all things French since I was a French major and studied abroad there too but it was reading her sincere note to her friends and family at the beginning of the book that I knew I just had to get this on my Nook! This is my first Amy Thomas book and I am a fan. Her descriptions of desserts both in NYC and Paris are so vivid it made me go out to local bakeries just to quench my sweet cravings! I love that she includes addresses of all the places she writes about so her readers can actually go to the places. NYC is close so I will definitely get to many of those but Paris is in the near future and I can't wait to try out all those decadent sweets she describes! I am a busy working mom so this is the perfect kind of book to read just for the fun of it. Nothing too deep or thought provoking but this was a great book to relax and unwind to with a nice hot cup of tea (and a sweet treat) after a stressful day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    This is a DELIGHTFUL, fun read! Paris may be out of reach right

    This is a DELIGHTFUL, fun read! Paris may be out of reach right now but I'm on the hunt for French Bakeries and noted chocolatiers! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Quick read!

    Very fun! Makes you want to go to Paris!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    I loved this book and Denise Acabo was everything she said and m

    I loved this book and Denise Acabo was everything she said and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2