Customer Reviews for

The Paris Vendetta (Cotton Malone Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The latest Cotton Malone thriller is awinner

Danish billionaire Henrik Thorvaldsen obsesses over the terrorist incident in Mexico City that left seven dead including his son. He cannot move on as the brain behind the assault has remained free although he now knows who he is.

Henrik sends apparently fired Secre...
Danish billionaire Henrik Thorvaldsen obsesses over the terrorist incident in Mexico City that left seven dead including his son. He cannot move on as the brain behind the assault has remained free although he now knows who he is.

Henrik sends apparently fired Secret Service Agent Sam Collins to break into the Copenhagen bookstore owned by former United States Department of Justice (DOJ) operative Cotton Malone. The grieving Dane hopes to obtain Malone's cooperation to help bring down the killer Lord Ashby who has ties to a financial cartel the Paris Club planning an assault on the global economy for avaricous gains that the DOJ hopes to counter. The starting point in the plan is a plot to destroy a landmark that could kill hundreds; war is usury profitable for the finance community.

With terrific ties to Napoleon in Corsica and an exciting action packed story line, the latest Cotton Malone thriller (see The Charlemagne Pursuit) is a fun read. Filled with twists and over the top of the Eiffel Tower villains, fans will enjoy Malone's newest retirement caper mindful of War, Inc and If Looks Could Kill although not a satire. Malone teams up with a grieving angry father and a First Amendment conspiracy buff to thwart the latest capitalist plot to have the masses finance war with money and blood so the affluent can make outrageous profits.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paris just okay.

This book was okay but lacked the excitement and thrilling aspects of previous Malone series books. I will still read the sixth installment and hope we see more of the previous characters than we did in this book. Where was Vitt?

posted by AuburnTigersFan on March 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Cotton Malone thriller is awinner

    Danish billionaire Henrik Thorvaldsen obsesses over the terrorist incident in Mexico City that left seven dead including his son. He cannot move on as the brain behind the assault has remained free although he now knows who he is.

    Henrik sends apparently fired Secret Service Agent Sam Collins to break into the Copenhagen bookstore owned by former United States Department of Justice (DOJ) operative Cotton Malone. The grieving Dane hopes to obtain Malone's cooperation to help bring down the killer Lord Ashby who has ties to a financial cartel the Paris Club planning an assault on the global economy for avaricous gains that the DOJ hopes to counter. The starting point in the plan is a plot to destroy a landmark that could kill hundreds; war is usury profitable for the finance community.

    With terrific ties to Napoleon in Corsica and an exciting action packed story line, the latest Cotton Malone thriller (see The Charlemagne Pursuit) is a fun read. Filled with twists and over the top of the Eiffel Tower villains, fans will enjoy Malone's newest retirement caper mindful of War, Inc and If Looks Could Kill although not a satire. Malone teams up with a grieving angry father and a First Amendment conspiracy buff to thwart the latest capitalist plot to have the masses finance war with money and blood so the affluent can make outrageous profits.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Historical fictional thriller with ties to present times in a smooth, easy read.

    I love Steve Berry. He is excellent at mixing fictional thriller with historical accuracy in his plot lines.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Definitely recommended

    For those who like to follow Cotton Malone...fast paced and exciting. As in other of these books the weaving of history and action is irresistible. Not my favorite of the Series but well worth the read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Enjoyable read

    A good historical thriller. Even though the villians weren't as villianous as in some of Berry's other books it was good. I appreciated the lack of bad language that sometimes permeates this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An easy and great read and i recommend it to anyone who likes a little bit of history to get a thrill out of his books.

    The Paris Vendetta by Steve Berry - Book 5 in the Cotton Malone Series

    This is Cotton Malone's fifth adventure: Once again, Steve Barry involves Henry Harold Earl (Cotton) Malone, former Justice Department agent and now a bookseller in Copenhagen.

    The Book opens with the last days of Napoleon. As Napoleon enters The great Pyramid of Giza, he is given an oracle that deeply troubles him. In St Helena. Louis Etienne Saint-Dennis is his personal valet and confident. Saint Dennis inherits 400 books from Napoleon after his death--one of which is The Merovignian Kingdoms 450-471 AD.

    Present time, Sam Collins, a CIA rookie agent enters Cotton Malone's bookstore and requests him to come aid his old and dear friend, Henrik Thorvaldsen.

    As Sam and Cotton arrive to the Thorvaldsen estate, Henry has killed Armando Cabral and his associate. These people were responsible for Thorvaldsen's son, Cai, death in Mexico City because he was in love with a Mexican D. A., Elena Ramírez Rico--who had evidence against Lord Graham Ashby.

    Ashby had lost a lot of money, but just managed to recover Rommel's Gold, a fortune lost in WWII worth about 100 million Euros. Ashby, who belongs to the Club Has had his mistress, Caroline Dodd, decipher the clues as they obtain The Merovignian Kingdoms 450-471 AD. They are going to share it with the Paris Club.

    Elisa Laroque the head of The Paris Club, and has recruiting the richest and most influential men of the 21st century. She is a Corsican, just like Napoleon, and her ancestral family: starting with Pozzo Di Borgio. The Di Borgio's and the Bonaparte's fought each other and the Di Borgio's got the bad end of the deal. Since then, there is a Vendetta to avenge their name and take revenge on Napoleon. It deals with the loot left by Napoleon--which has never been found.

    Thorvaldsen infiltrates the club and tells Elisa Laroque that he wants to join. He had Ashby bugged and says that he is a security leak. Elisa starts doubting Ashby when he keeps the The Merovignian Kingdoms 450-471 AD book from the club.

    Danish billionaire Henrik Thorvaldsen, a friend of Malone's, has become consumed with finding out who masterminded the slaughter outside a Mexico City courthouse two years earlier that killed seven people, including his young diplomat son, Cai. Once he learns that a wealthy British aristocrat, Ashby, was behind the outrage, Thorvaldsen gets entangled in the Paris Club's conspiracy that involves an elite group of ruthless financial experts planning to destabilize the global economy, a terrorist plot to destroy a European landmark, The Tour Eiffel, with the Paris club inside; and a legendary cache hidden by Napoleon. Malone soon finds himself in a desperate struggle to save not only Thorvaldsen's life but the lives of countless innocents as well.

    An easy and great read and i recommend it to anyone who likes a little bit of history to get a thrill out of his books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Paris just okay.

    This book was okay but lacked the excitement and thrilling aspects of previous Malone series books. I will still read the sixth installment and hope we see more of the previous characters than we did in this book. Where was Vitt?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Who was coming up the stairs?

    Good continuation from the last book.
    Sad tp say goodbye to a favorite character. I wait to see what happens next with our heroes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    You can count of Steve Berry@

    Another exciting Cotton Malone thriller, always moving from location to locations, and getting the job done@@

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Highly recommended - check it out !

    I enjoye all of the Cotton Malone series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    excellent!!!

    Cotton Malone is alive and well! This book was just full of action, another Steve Berry page turner!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    better than....

    charlemagne pursuit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Ok

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OK read

    I felt like this was the weakest of the Cotton Malone series. Slow to start and story line was mired in angst for the first 150 pages. Hate to sound critical but the others in this series have been so full of excitement, fast-paced and interesting. My opinion only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Current day triller with intetesting historical reference.

    Clear demarcation between the good guys and the bad guys. With the bad guys self absorbed in finding and taking treasure rightfully belonging to the people of France. Typical domestic and foreign agency rivalry is kept at minimum to look at the bigger picture to capture an intl terrorist who eventually decides to chase the aforeto lost treasure. Sub plots develop between agents and their counterpart on a personal level, adding more excitement to an already dangerous situtations as agents must check their feelings over the objectives of the mission. Heart warming action and dialogue with cleverly discussed results and one profound end result that will shake readers who follow this series. Good read. Lays ground work for future character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Historical treasure hunt

    Facinating and intriguing treasure hunts and secret society story. Once again in this book there is alot of detail and history - this time of Nepolian. While the story is gribbing, there are parts of the "history and background" that I got somewhat lost in. But overall a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to par for Berry.

    I'm sad to say it, folks, Mr. Berry has let me down. Something about The Paris Vendetta, the fifth book in the Cotton Malone series, did not catch me as his previous books have. I wasn't hooked, I wasn't excited or thrilled or anticipating the next turn of events.

    The Paris Vendetta follows former agent Cotton Malone as he's rudely awoken in the middle of the night by a stranger who says his good friend Henrik sent him. So begins a European cat-and-mouse game between Cotton, Henrik, and a dangerous group of wealthy semi-terrorists called The Paris Club who are searching for the lost riches of the Emperor Napoleon who hid the location in riddles in books before he died. Intriguing? Most definitely. A classic Steve Berry idea? For sure. Executed with his usual swagger and panache? Not this time.

    Too many twists and turns and a convoluted plot map made the novel meander at times, tripping over its own ideas and details. A regular series character was not present, and several references were made to some trip or project Cotton had been working on over the last two weeks, but we're never told what that project was, nor what resulted from it and why it effected Cotton the way it did. If they were making veiled references to the previous book in the series, they were strange and a little less opacity would have been nice. Likewise, Cotton's son is mentioned but completely abandoned later in the book.

    I'm really disappointed in the way The Paris Vendetta fell flat for me. The pulse and energy I've come to associate with his books was lacking. I usually adore Berry's books and I can't say the same about this one. Hard to know what to expect from his next, The Emperor's Tomb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    This is painful to listen to!

    The story is good, but the narrator is awful!! He should not be allowed to narrate anything other than Edgar Allen Poe. During one of the early action scenes, his slow, monotone narration made it so uneventful I almost stopped listening.

    As a parent of a toddler, I enjoy audio books during my commute, so I can honestly say I have listened to enough books of this genre to appreciate a good narrator who adds to the experience or at least doesn't ruin it. This guy is not one such narrator.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Another Steve Berry smash hit!

    Typical of his other Cotton Malone stories, Mr. Berry, captures the mind with his ability to spin a good story line while also keeping factual evidence in line. His writing leads you into wanting more. (Which is good from his perspective as well as ours as his readers!) I listen while driving in my car and often find myself sitting at my destination for several minutes until I can find a 'good' place to turn the car off. Frequently I'm there for longer than anticipated!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    MOST ENJOYABLE READING

    SURE KEEPS YOUR INTEREST AND SURPRISES YOU WITH SOME MOST UNEXPECTED DEVELOPEMENTS. THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THIS AND HIS OTHER BOOKS ALSO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Steve Berry Does it Again!!!

    I have enjoyed the development of Cotton Malone through Steve Berry's series of historic thrillers. He has developed several characters through these books who have helped Cotton Malone through the many historicaly based trials and tribulations he has been forced to face. Malone is supposed to be a retired goverment agent living in Europe as a seller of old books in his own store in Copenhagen, Denmark. New and exciting adventures seem to come his way with each new adventure. Each book in the series builds upon the next. You can read this series from the lastest installment the Paris Vendetta or from any other books in the series in any order. I think which each subsequent adventure they get better and better. I really like at the ned of each book as he interjects what is real and what is not conserning historical details and locations. Many would be surprised as too how much is real in these exciting enjoyable novels.

    I am also a big fan of Dan Brown and his adventures with Proffessor Langdon. If you enjoy the works of Dan Brown you will absolutely enjoy the works of Steve Berry as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16