BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Paris Wife

Average Rating 4
( 904 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(303)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

An enlightening, worthwhile read!

The Paris Wife is the story of Ernest Hemingway's first of four marriages. It is told from Hadley Richardson's point of view. Hadley and Hemingway were married in 1921 and gave birth to his first son, John Hadley Nicanor "Jack" Hemingway in 1923. His nickname was "Bumby...
The Paris Wife is the story of Ernest Hemingway's first of four marriages. It is told from Hadley Richardson's point of view. Hadley and Hemingway were married in 1921 and gave birth to his first son, John Hadley Nicanor "Jack" Hemingway in 1923. His nickname was "Bumby" and Mariel and Margaux Hemingway were his daughters.
This is a wonderful read that gives us a new perspective of Ernest Hemingway's genius and life. This is a characterization of a flawed man through the eyes of his young, shy, pretty first wife. The Nobel Prize winning author appreciated the stability and grounding his wife had given him and later, after three other wives said of her..."I wish I had died before I loved anyone but her. She was the best and truest and loveliest person I have ever known." Those words made me tingle all over.

posted by GEORGIAMOON on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

Just tell us if the book is good!

I'mso tired of people writing a review that tells you the whole story. People we have the overview for that! Furthermore, I do not wish to know your point of view about the story. Just tell us if you think its good or bad! Thank you!

posted by 5774388 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 906 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 46
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    recommended read

    I loved the book and couldn't put it down. I enjoyed reading about Hemingway's first wife and their relationship. HIghly recommended read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Informative, a must read

    This was an interesting and informative read. I knew so little of his first wife and his early years. This was great and once you got into the book you just wanted to keep reading because it was unbelievable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book. As I read it I found myself swept up in the

    I loved this book. As I read it I found myself swept up in the bittersweet years between the unspeakable European wars, hanging out in Paris with the damaged expatriate artists, drowning in booze, romance and despair. It kept me up late two nights in a row. Now I'm ready to re-read "The Sun Also Rises" and "A Moveable Feast".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Painfully good; the kind of story that infuriates you, but in a

    Painfully good; the kind of story that infuriates you, but in a good way. The characters are so complex and emotional, it's hard not be affected by their story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    A whole new perspective of life with Ernest Hemingway

    I loved the idea that I may have gotten a true and educated look at life with Hemingway and his wife. I had heard rumors all my life what he was like. I grew up in Oak Park, Il. where his home was and my grandmother went to High School with him. I totally related to the places they spoke about in Oak Park and Chicago. I felt I was there. I now want to re-read his books! Thanks for writing this really wonderful look at his life and wife!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Couldn't put it down once started.  Going to Paris this year and

    Couldn't put it down once started.  Going to Paris this year and loved the movie Midnight in Paris.  This book complimented what was in the movie and told me so much more.  Excaellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Pretty Entertaining

    Just felt like the end was rushed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is an instant classic. I loved from the beginning to t

    This book is an instant classic. I loved from the beginning to the end. Definitely reccommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    this was a wonderful book, full of rich visualizations.  It help

    this was a wonderful book, full of rich visualizations.  It helps to be familiar with Hemingway's writing, as a frame of reference,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Anyone who loves literature and historical fiction will thorough

    Anyone who loves literature and historical fiction will thoroughly enjoy this book. It's an incredible journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    WOW

    I am not a reader but I cant put this book down its THAT GOOD!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    An interesting read

    Introspective, probably a lot of truth to it. It read like nonfiction and was a good timepiece of Hemingway's life. Good for a book club as there is lots to discuss about the time period and the role of women in society at the time, social mores, etc.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    a page turner...very interesting

    I read this book along with my book club. everyone liked it a lot and we had lots of great discussion about the 1920s and the life of the crazy Americans in Paris.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read

    You have to keep in mind that this is fiction. It's a very insightful take on Ernest Hemingway's first wife. Paula McLain depicted a very down-to-earth, sympathetic character in Hadley Hemingway, who seemed not to quite fit in with The Cafe Society in 1920s Paris. It left me wanting to know more about the literary and artistic greats and their excessive and dramatic lives, reinforced my opinion of Hemingway as a charismatic and rather abrasive, selfish man who could lived and wrote about life in all its ferocity and beauty. I'm surprised Hadley made it as far as she did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Inside view of those decadent ex-pats!

    Very well written, interesting & definitely authentic - a quick read! If you love the whole era and atmosphere the ex-pats built around themselves you'll love this book. But be forewarned - this is the nitty gritty inside view and it's not pretty! I had no - zero - respect for anyone by the middle of the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    Paula McLain does a good job of taking you to 1920s Paris and into the cafes and flats of some of our illustrious and provocative literary figures. Hadley is a bit removed from the action and find myself wanting to follow Ernest and F. Scott to find the tragic beauty they captured of the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Not as good as Loving Frank

    Several reviews compared this book to Loving Frank. Both Frank Loyd Wright and Hemmingway were very talented also sejfish.Both men werewomanizers Ifound Hemmiingway to b morajjy corupt and jazy at timmes.Hadley was annoying because she livedhhher life through Hemminhgway.He took advantage of her weaknes.The most interesring part of the book was when Hadley jost his body of wok.This book was just average.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I have 'sold' it to several friends!

    For me, a book based on a true story is the best. I had the priviledge of living in Spain for a couple of years, and Hemmingway was an icon to
    Spainards; some of the descriptioins were a walk down memory lane for me. I am reccomending it for my reading group.
    New Mexico Avid Reader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Eaclark66

    I really enjoyed this book a lot! The history of that era and all that went on then was exciting and kept me captivated. I couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    A couple of flaws but a great read nonetheless

    I kept turning pages and returning every day for more. I felt at times like a fly on the wall in Hadleys life. The love scenes to me were poorly written and should have been edited or omitted. I recommend this to Papa fans and non fans alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 906 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 46