Customer Reviews for

The Paris Wife

Average Rating 4
( 907 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(304)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

An enlightening, worthwhile read!

The Paris Wife is the story of Ernest Hemingway's first of four marriages. It is told from Hadley Richardson's point of view. Hadley and Hemingway were married in 1921 and gave birth to his first son, John Hadley Nicanor "Jack" Hemingway in 1923. His nickname was "Bumby...
The Paris Wife is the story of Ernest Hemingway's first of four marriages. It is told from Hadley Richardson's point of view. Hadley and Hemingway were married in 1921 and gave birth to his first son, John Hadley Nicanor "Jack" Hemingway in 1923. His nickname was "Bumby" and Mariel and Margaux Hemingway were his daughters.
This is a wonderful read that gives us a new perspective of Ernest Hemingway's genius and life. This is a characterization of a flawed man through the eyes of his young, shy, pretty first wife. The Nobel Prize winning author appreciated the stability and grounding his wife had given him and later, after three other wives said of her..."I wish I had died before I loved anyone but her. She was the best and truest and loveliest person I have ever known." Those words made me tingle all over.

posted by GEORGIAMOON on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Just tell us if the book is good!

I'mso tired of people writing a review that tells you the whole story. People we have the overview for that! Furthermore, I do not wish to know your point of view about the story. Just tell us if you think its good or bad! Thank you!

posted by 5774388 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Just tell us if the book is good!

    I'mso tired of people writing a review that tells you the whole story. People we have the overview for that! Furthermore, I do not wish to know your point of view about the story. Just tell us if you think its good or bad! Thank you!

    19 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Couldnt finish.....

    I love to read, however this book was very dull. I was disappointed and wished i could have finished it. Not what i expected.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Anon

    THIS IS A VERY SUPERFICIAL BOOK. Read Michael Reynold's THe Paris Years, Kert'$ The Hemingway Women, Sokolof's book on Hadley or Diliberto's book on Hadley! ALL OF THEM ARE EXCELLENT!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Boring me to tears

    I don't know if I will be able to finish this. I understand that it's about Hemingway and his first wife, but it is utterly dull. I am listening to the audio version. The narration leaves something to be desired. I don't know if I will finish it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Loved this book.

    An interesting look at his early attempts at writing and the effect on his lifestyle and his choices. I believe THE PARIS WIFE was, in fact, the love of his life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Mindnumbingly boring

    This was chosen by our bookclub. Not one person finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    Quite interesting

    I enjoyed reading about Hemingway and his first wife, how they met and what their relationship was or might have been like. I found myself walking with them through that time in history and found myself experiencing the culture of France/Europe along with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Torture

    No other novel of the thousands I have read has motivated me to write a review more than The Paris Wife. This is a book chosen for my book club and I had high hopes based on the number of five star reviews. This has to be one of the slowest moving and most boring. Full disclosure ... I' m a little more than half way through and
    just can't continue to read this. I don't care about the characters at all. Boring. Guess I'm just not an intellectual. Funny thing though is the meeting to discuss this book has been postponed twice now due to people to finishing it yet. Life is too short and I'm not wasting another minute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Paleo Bluberry Muffins

    This recipe was a joke, right? When you say they are moist you aren't kidding! But duh any recipe that calls for 1 cup of maple syrup,1 stick of butter, 2 cups of apple sauce, 2 eggs and some almond milk would certainly make it moist. The recipe should be renamed Hearty Blueberry Soup!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Not recommended

    Poorly written and very confusing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Forget it

    I thought this book was too much like other Ernest Hemingway books I have read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Ultimately an unrewarding experience!

    I would not recommend this book AT ALL!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    God this was so boring

    Stupidest book ever

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    ??????

    I have not received my book THE PARIS WIFE..It is too late..I wish a refund.. Thank you for your courtesy
    Respectfully Patricia Johnso

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So-so; not recommended but not horrible either

    I didn't really enjoy this book. It was alright but not something I would choose to read again. I found things the characters did to be ridiculous!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3