Customer Reviews for

Paris to the Moon

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

From a Parisian

Being Parisian myself, and in US for 5 years it is a great pleasure to read about my hometown and its way of life, seen through the eyes of an outsider. It is a delight of truths about the city's synergie, about the french culture, and about a foreigner who wants to und...
Being Parisian myself, and in US for 5 years it is a great pleasure to read about my hometown and its way of life, seen through the eyes of an outsider. It is a delight of truths about the city's synergie, about the french culture, and about a foreigner who wants to understand and integrate a new world, but will always be on the edge of it. Believe me, the challenges are incredibly similar whem you are a Parisian living in Boston, or New York!! This book gave me a lesson of humility about my culture and let me know that the same confusions, frustrations and joys are shared by anyone who has the chance to live in another culture.

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nothing to write home about.

Paris to the Moon was only marginally enjoyable for me. Travel memoirs are my favorite genre, French/Parisian travel in particular, so I appreciated the book to that extent. But overall, the writing style and choice of topics left something to be desired. Gopnik writes ...
Paris to the Moon was only marginally enjoyable for me. Travel memoirs are my favorite genre, French/Parisian travel in particular, so I appreciated the book to that extent. But overall, the writing style and choice of topics left something to be desired. Gopnik writes in an irritatingly halting fashion that left me frustrated and wishing that he would just get to the point of his every sentence. Also, as someone who knows a bit of French from high school and college, I was able to understand his occasional use of the language, but I imagine his frequent failure to include translations would prove quite cumbersome for anyone unfamiliar with French. To be perfectly honest, the book was just flat out boring at points...maybe because I'm not all that interested in French soccer or politics. I did enjoy the culinary descriptions and first-hand accounts of European health care. But on a scale of one to ten, I'd give its page-turning factor a three.

posted by Wanderluster on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    From a Parisian

    Being Parisian myself, and in US for 5 years it is a great pleasure to read about my hometown and its way of life, seen through the eyes of an outsider. It is a delight of truths about the city's synergie, about the french culture, and about a foreigner who wants to understand and integrate a new world, but will always be on the edge of it. Believe me, the challenges are incredibly similar whem you are a Parisian living in Boston, or New York!! This book gave me a lesson of humility about my culture and let me know that the same confusions, frustrations and joys are shared by anyone who has the chance to live in another culture.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Understated, witty, reminiscent of Cyril Connolly

    The book certainly has its charms. As does Mr Gopnik. It's fun reading of his dilemmas regarding his kids, because they edge towards being more French as the years go by while they live in Paris, and while Gopnik likes the breadth that gives them, he also realizes they have to go back to the US eventually. It's interesting to watch the balancing act. One image that sticks with me from this book is how if the French had a magazine akin to "The New Yorker," (for whom Gopnik wrtites) they'd have theory-checkers rather than fact-checkers. This is because Gopnik thinks the French see facts as mutable depending on one's point-of-view, so what really matters is the consistency of one's theories. The ironic thing, of course, is that by this measure the George W. Bush Administration was far and away the most French in American history.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    irritatingly self-indulgent

    The author is the kind of traveler who makes other American
    travelers cringe, and in just a few years, he has evidently become
    the kind of self-absorbed New Yorker who is unloved everywhere.
    Instead of embracing the experience of living in a new country,
    he is a rude guest, constantly commenting on his hosts' shortcomings.

    This is an irritatingly self-indulgent story on an old subject,
    done before by many other better writers. There is nothing new
    or original here. I cannot understand the reviews.

    As for the pretense of being a concerned parent wanting
    to get his child away from American culture...PLEASE...if he was
    tortured by his son's obsession with Barney, it's because he
    brought Barney there in his suitcase!

    This family eventually leaves France, commenting that they do
    not "live a full life" there...Not surprising, they live outside,
    and stay outside Parisian life.

    I kept hoping for some real contact with the French, some insight.
    Something other than an experience with a local shop keeper
    or taxi cab driver. But this is someone whose first actions in Paris
    included hooking up American cable in his apartment. He learns
    that you can get a wonderful apartment in Paris...it just takes money
    and connections. He winds up with a beautiful place on the Left Bank...
    a typical expat experience...

    I have met these "journalists" before. They live in Paris, Rome,
    Beiruit, Bejing...yet somehow manage to never leave their comfort
    zone. How very boring.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing to write home about.

    Paris to the Moon was only marginally enjoyable for me. Travel memoirs are my favorite genre, French/Parisian travel in particular, so I appreciated the book to that extent. But overall, the writing style and choice of topics left something to be desired. Gopnik writes in an irritatingly halting fashion that left me frustrated and wishing that he would just get to the point of his every sentence. Also, as someone who knows a bit of French from high school and college, I was able to understand his occasional use of the language, but I imagine his frequent failure to include translations would prove quite cumbersome for anyone unfamiliar with French. To be perfectly honest, the book was just flat out boring at points...maybe because I'm not all that interested in French soccer or politics. I did enjoy the culinary descriptions and first-hand accounts of European health care. But on a scale of one to ten, I'd give its page-turning factor a three.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous

    One of my favorite books of all time. Wonderfully written and blissfully on target, with an excellent understanding of cultural clashes and idiosyncrasies of the Parisian society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    A must read!

    This was a present for my niece. She is a complete Paris buff. She loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    A wonderful book that takes you to the real paris

    I absolutely loved Paris to the Moon! It was an amazing book with an extraordinary dry sense of humor. It didn't glamorize Paris and told Paris as it is romantic but sometimes confusing charming and frustrating. I had some trouble at the beginning when the topic was French politics and I didn't know the people involved so found it difficult to relate to. However once I gone pass that bit the book was thoroughly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Boring!

    As a college student I lived in Paris for a year and have been a frequent visitor to Paris before and after my year of study. I was hoping this book would take me back to my life that I long to return to. At times it does, but most of the time is spent reading about redundant gibberish. It was not worth reading and frequently skimmed through it hoping the writing would improve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    The REAL Paris experience

    I cannot believe how many books there are out there about seemingly well-to-do journalists (Susan Turnbull Almost French) and others such as Gopnik, who either move here (to Paris) with family, meet a RICH French boyfriend, or live here with relatives or friends who have already lived in Paris for many years. I came to Paris on my own accord, found my own place, landed a job on my own and experienced the REAL Paris, not the cliches described in most books. Being alone in a big city gives you real insight, because you cannot come home to your boyfriend/wife/husband or take refuge at a friend's or relative's house. I came here after grad school because I wanted to experience something I had never done before and the only way to really do that is alone, something most of these writers don't seem to have a clue about. Glad to see there are readers out there who obviously can see through the self-indulgent dravel and cliches published about a city that is a huge conglomeration of people that are as complex, rude, funny, friendly and distant as those of any other western metropolitan city. Sorry to burst everyone's bubble, but Paris is really just another very big city with perhaps more museums and history than some other cities. The magic is in the experience and when you bring the family along you can't claim a true Paris experience. And as far as his toddler son being fluent in French, well, I was fluent in 4 languages by the time I was 8. Kids are fast learners, what's the big deal?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Fully Appreciates the Paris Way of Doing Things

    I picked this book up at a Parisian English bookshop. I read it in bits and pieces during my 6-week stay. Any American who has spent any time in Paris will appreciate this true life tale. Using his son's birth & growth as a backdrop for his story, Gopnik weaves a tapestry of his own complex attraction and involvement in Paris life and culture (from joining a gym to becoming embroiled in labor dispute at his favorite restaurant to the French birthing experience). Gopnik highlights the cultural differences and challenges using his son's years-long attempt at merry-go-round ring chasing as a metaphor for his own growth and understanding of that growth. The book is about a love affair of sorts with a city and a people that Gopnik does not always understand or like but that he loves and appreciates for adding dimension - not only to his life ¿ but also to that of his family. Ultimately, Gopnik's decision about whether to remain in Paris revolves completely around his decision to either raise a French child or an American one who speaks fluent French and eats croissants and lox instead of Cheerios. A delightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    Skip to the good parts

    Adam Gopnick moves his wife and infant son to Paris from New York City. He works for the New Yorker so all this is possible. And although the book at times is just hilarious, funny, and insightful, many of the chapters read like they were separate New Yorker articles. There is a wonderful story of his trying to first find a gym to join, and then joining process and then the discovery of how the French use the gym. This little gem may be worth the price of the book alone. But later I found an ¿article¿ on the fashion industry just boring. I found the book to be a very uneven read that I could only recommend to persons going to visit or live in France.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    Some insight buried in the self-indulgence.

    If you find Gopnik's toddler son as relentlessly fascinating as he apparently does, you might like this book. But if you're not an immediate family member, the 'ain't-my-kid-cute' stories will quickly tire you, as may Gopnik's tendency to pull forced French-American comparisons out of every last croissant crumb. While there are some good and pointed insights to be found, much of it comes off as a smug Manhattan boor holding forth, instead of a witty and knowledeable correspondent who learned to live with the French. And as a chronicle of someone who spent a whole five years in Paris, it's oddly insular and remote: one wonders why Gopnik's relations with Parisians never progressed past the most fleeting casual kind (a taxi driver, a waiter) that any one-time tourist could have had. Want a real feeling of being an American living in Paris - read Janet Flanner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2001

    A lethal combination

    The most pretentious and self-aggrandizing essayist in the US takes on Paris. It's like mixing arsenic with hemlock. This is drivel from the first word to the last. Read Janet Flanner instead. THAT is the real McCoy, and this is French hogwash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    Every paragraph its own essay....

    I was simply transported by this beautiful memoir. As a former (American) au pair/student in Paris, I recognize the places, the emotions, the thoughts, the feelings, and the questions which Gopnik writes about. As a subscriber to 'The New Yorker', I recognize that wonderful writing style that is Gopnik's: every paragraph is its own little essay, and not a sentence should be missed. The book is now (sadly) put away on a shelf, but I still envision little Luke saying, 'ça va, Swimmy??'... and understand exactly why he said it. A great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    a very tired subject

    I have lived in Paris for the past ten years. I have lived in every district excluding maybe three, I, along with other American and British friends have worked in restaurants, bars, temp work, and in major corporations. Every neighborhood has a different atmosphere and every work place as well, Mr. Gopnik's book is a very typical New Yorker's view of the world, which is narrow minded. NY is not the center of the world and everything does not need to be compared it it, especially by a man who lived in the same area all five years of his stay and never lived or worked with French people. Sorry, not only is the book boring, with its chapters on a fax machine and fax paper, but the fatherhood thing was common as well and how rude to come install your self and critize a place that never need your opion. Paris is a little hop over the Atlantic, NOT the moon! To relish over the differences without end it maybe interesting for someone undertravelled, but as for the rest of us, it is relly a disappointment and I will try to get a refund at the boutique I purchased it from.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    A Great Read

    If th 'group' in this book does get back together to invest and open their own Balzar II---Count me in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    a personal portrait...

    This is a delightful collection of vignettes of life in Paris. Great insights and very sweet observations about his son - a really charming book. Avoids the usual Europhilia that some American writers adopt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2000

    Once in a blue moon...

    do we come upon a book so thoroughly satisfying. Gopnik writes with an intimacy that makes both his Paris experience and our own vicarious one particular. These stories are often funny and full of charm,and they also reveal an intellect that makes them meaningful as well as memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2