Customer Reviews for

Parlor Games: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What a great trip I just came back from and I didn't even need t

What a great trip I just came back from and I didn't even need to leave my couch.  Grab "Parlor Games" and experience life with May from her humble home in Menominee to many exquisite  hotels throughout the world.  I loved the journey that Ms Biaggio created f...
What a great trip I just came back from and I didn't even need to leave my couch.  Grab "Parlor Games" and experience life with May from her humble home in Menominee to many exquisite  hotels throughout the world.  I loved the journey that Ms Biaggio created for me.  The shenanigans of May will make you laugh out  loud.  I can't wait to share this book with my book-club as it will spark many lively discussions.  Well done Maryka Biaggio!!! BRAVO

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have wondered how they pull it off

You hear sometimes in the news of women who live by their beauty and their wits. This book gives you some idea of how.

posted by joanna98446 on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Parlor Games, written in the first person voice of May Dugas, g


    Parlor Games, written in the first person voice of May Dugas, gives away the game with a neat device in the opening paragraph. May starts by trying to sweet-talk the reader. We know her "inner" character immediately--she's a con-artist. May moves through this book with her eye always on the main-chance; if she's smart enough to survive, why shouldn't she prosper at the same time. May is developed in terms of actions and I can't think of a better way to explore a sociopathic personality. The driving force of May Dugas' life is action/reaction, not inner reflection. She careens from one cliff-hanger to another--sometimes improving her financial or social status along the way.
    May is quick witted, a quick study,has "gumption", and is determined not to live life as a poor person if better odds are within reach. Using her beauty (and the charm she picks up along the way) as a tool upon rich men, she repeatedly improves her odds. But, rich men are not without their own weapons; throughout the book, May is haunted by a Pinkerton detective, hired by rich men. The Pinkerton man often drives the crises in this book, which in turn drive the non-stop action.
    Another interesting characteristic of this book is attention to period detail--architecture, clothing, luxury items, etc. May Dugas, the quick study, picks up on the details she needs to know to move in her preferred circles. She sees the surface details of the life of the rich and absorbs them almost by osmosis--that is her character development.
    As a fan of Patricia Highsmith's Ripley series (and the TV series Dexter), I enjoyed May Dugas' story for the guilty pleasure of rooting for a charming and quick-witted criminal (though May omitted murder from her bag of tricks). What's amazing is that May was real and the major events in Parlor Games did happen. Using the major true events as a framework, the author has invented and fleshed out a convincingly engaging story of the in-between events that get May Dugas from major event A to major event B and so on.
    This is a fast-paced and fun read telling of the roller coaster life of a genuine picaresque "heroine".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    What a great trip I just came back from and I didn't even need t

    What a great trip I just came back from and I didn't even need to leave my couch.  Grab "Parlor Games" and experience life with May from her humble home in Menominee to many exquisite  hotels throughout the world.  I loved the journey that Ms Biaggio created for me.  The shenanigans of May will make you laugh out  loud.  I can't wait to share this book with my book-club as it will spark many lively discussions.  Well done Maryka Biaggio!!! BRAVO

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Rating 4.5 I read this book as part of my monthly book group me

    Rating 4.5

    I read this book as part of my monthly book group meeting. May Dugas was an actual woman pursued for ten years across several continents by the same Pinkerton Detective. Her trial in Chicago is well documented and the detective gave a full account of his pursuit to a Chicago Times journalist in 1940. The detective referred to her as: "The most dangerous woman in the world". Yet she never killed anyone and, as far as we know, never actually stole money from anyone. What she did do was use her seductive powers to bring herself into the orbit of wealthy men and then spent their money rather recklessly for her own gain. She is what we might call today a social climber—albeit a very clever and calculating one.

    The book is written in the first person, interweaving the actual trial with backstory chapters where May describes what “really” happened that got her to that trial. Normally I don’t like this kind of alternating chapters style, but this was well done and I believe a great choice to tackle this material and this particular woman. The trial chapters give the reader a different view of events from what May describes. The reader is immediately pulled in to May’s view of her innocence. One can’t help but admire her initial desire to help her family, and the difficulties of being a woman in a man’s world—where you have little rights to property or other possessions without marriage.

    As with any unreliable narrator, even when I thought I was being conned I still wanted to root for her to be found innocent. Even though I didn’t really trust her, I often found myself asking, if she were a man would she have been on trial at all? May certainly uses her feminine beauty and seductive powers to get what she wanted. I found her to be passionate, totally self-centered, and yet tantalizingly cunning and constant in marching toward her goals. Coming from a poor background in the midst of the gilded age at the turn of the century, May understood all too well that society judged one’s worth by possessions rather than character.

    The writing is solid, the research is amazing, and the way in which May’s character is slowly revealed to the reader makes this a great psychological study of perception and rationalization on both May’s part and the men of that time. The only reason I couldn’t give this book a clear 5 is that I did find myself losing interest a little after the midpoint due to the repetitive nature of her life—seduce someone, buy more things, leave and move onto someone else. She did travel to many places in the world as she climbed to the top rungs of society. I hung in because I was invested in seeing how the trail would turn out and how May would take her just desserts.

    I’m glad I stayed with it to the end because I believe it is true to the actual events as much as possible and, for me, justice was served. Perhaps even May learned something and gave something back to the world. I won’t reveal how she does give back because you must read the book first. Definitely well done and I would definitely read another book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Totally entertaining story

    I love this book....I still have the last 75 pages to read. It is one of those books that although you can't put it down, you don't want to finish it.
    Great character development. A fast paced adventure. You just imagine yourself right in the plot living her adventures. Would love to read more of Maryka Biaggio

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Highly Recommended - a great adventure.

    I enjoyed this book very much. The many adventures May had in her lifetime were ahead of the times. I would have liked to have been her assistant and travel right along.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Fantastic

    A page turner! Kept me interested from page one to finish. A 5 star all the way.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I have wondered how they pull it off

    You hear sometimes in the news of women who live by their beauty and their wits. This book gives you some idea of how.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading Parlor Games.  The main character o

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading Parlor Games.  The main character of May Dugas is lively, interesting  and very well drawn.  The period is accurately described.  The book held my interest from beginning to end. It’s a real page turner.  I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, particularly works with a formidable female protagonist. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Parlor Games is an extremely well-written book by first-time aut

    Parlor Games is an extremely well-written book by first-time author Biaggio. The protagonist really existed which makes the story all the more compelling. Who was the real May Dugas? We'll never really know but this book creates an unforgettable portrait of a singular woman who lived in the late 1800s/early 1900s. Enthusiastically recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    This is a fun story and definitely evocative of the time and set

    This is a fun story and definitely evocative of the time and setting. The main character seems to entrap and trick everyone she interacts with, even the reader at some points. If you like historical fiction about women and being transported to a different time and place through storytelling, you will probably enjoy this book. My one complaint is the ending - it felt like the author simply stopped writing, instead of providing a definitive conclusion to May's story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1