Customer Reviews for

Parrot in the Oven: Mi Vida

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Great book, I recommend it.

    The book I'm reviewing is Parrot in the Oven, by Victor Martinez, published by Joanna Cotler Books. This book is set in a Mexican-American part of a city that is not exactly the greatest place in the world to grow up in. I believe that this is the most important part of the book. The main character Manny grows up here in a house with a father and a brother without jobs, an older sister and a younger sister, and a mother who is still trying to raise Manny right. Manny has to grow up, fast, because he is only fourteen and he has to live in a mean world. In this world, Manny has has all of the problems of an average teenager, he wants to be popular, he wants a girlfriend and all of the other troubles teenagers have. But there's one problem, he is a good kid and growing up in the wrong environment. He has a father who tried to kill his mother, a sister who got pregnant, and kids beating him up. The theme of this book is that no matter what happens, making the right decision is always the best thing to do. This theme is shown throughout the book with Manny being a good kid until he joins a gang to kiss a girl. In this gang, one of the members decides to steal a lady's purse. Manny is stuck in a moral battle for an instant until he decides to make his decision, whether good or bad, you'll have to read to find out.
    A major point in this book is to show how bad the lives are of some people, as shown by the quote, "Dad believed people were like money. You could be a thousand dollar person or a hundred dollar person-even a ten, five, or one dollar person. Below that everyone was just nickels and dimes. To my dad, we were pennies."
    I really liked this book, it showed me how hard the lives of people are and showed me how petty my problems are. People take life for granted and this book showes that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Victor's great writing.

    Well i really love this book. It teaches you about how it was hard back then for Mexican-Americans, and how everything wasn't just right there in their hands. This book is emotional at a point, feeling for the sorrow of others, but it's also something to laugh over and some how a mystery in some parts of the book.

    And the best part i like about the book, is that he kept it real, left no details out. Honestly i recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    For readers who like to read Award Books

    The title of the book did not so interest me like for it being a book that was awarded for which purpose it was bought and read. Based on reading this book by this author, maybe or maybe not in reading another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    Parrot in the Oven by Victor Martinez is a story about a boy nam

    Parrot in the Oven by Victor Martinez is a story about a boy named Manny and how he grows and develops as a person. Manny struggles to get his priorities in order and must define right and wrong in order to ease his pain. Manny is a Mexican-American living in California, In short Manny’s family is in turmoil, his father is a violent active drunk, his mother is a nervous wreck, his brother Bernard is laid back and lazy with little to no motivation, lastly are his sisters Magda and Pedi. The sisters go hand in hand, Magda being the oldest of the siblings and Pedi being the Youngest Magda takes it upon herself to take care of Pedi.
    Manny has to defuse right and wrong situations throughout the book whether it’s joining a gang or decided to defend a helpless girl he likes. Manny must decide whether to grow up and take responsibility or let others do the work he doesn’t think he can do. Manny’s brother being lazy cannot and will not hold a job to support his self-destructive struggling family. With his sister Magda attempting to make ends meet with little success, many sees an opportunity in the neighborhood gang. Manny might be conflicted but he isn’t stupid. He knows if he joins a gang it means he will make a lot of money very quickly through illegal acts but he also knows there’s a high percentage he will be killed. Manny needs guidance when there is none; unfortunately for him he must handle his problems alone.
    Parrot in the Oven was a good book for those with an interest in moral dilemmas and grey area decisions and how some people choose to put other before themselves. This book shows how important family is, this book tells you that before anything else family is number one on a list of priorities.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    A decent book to those interested

    The book I read was ¿Parrot in the Oven¿, by Victor Martinez. Published by Harpercollins Childrens Books in 1996. The book is about a 14 year old Chicano male named Manny living with his poverty stricken, dysfunctional family. He struggles throughout the book to figure out what¿s right and wrong in the world, and to find and make the right choices. Throughout the book, he has to deal with the death of a family member, his sisters pregnancy and miscarriage, his fathers spousal abuse, and local gangs and bullies. He also has to learn to live with his alcoholic father and older siblings. Overall, I liked the book because it was interesting reading about how Manny dealt with all these situations and events as he was growing up. The pacing of the book was overall well done, but there were several parts where the book moved a bit too slowly for me. These sections of the book made it drag on, and made the book quite boring for a while. Fortunately, these sections don¿t last too long, and aren¿t very frequent, so it¿s not as big a problem as it could have been. The book kept my interest very well by how the chapters didn¿t have direct relevance to each other, but were rather a collection of seperate stories. This made the overall pace rather quick, which helped greatly to remove those slow boring parts. I learned about Chicano lifestyle, and saw examples of what growing up in that situation would be like. I would recommend this book to anyone who thinks it sounds interesting, as they would probably enjoy it. If you aren¿t sure if it sounds good or not, I would recommend not reading it, as you probably won¿t enjoy it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    Parrot in the Oven

    Parrot in the Oven, written by Victor Martinez, is a book that is meant to revolutionize the reader's viewing on life. The book is about Manny Hernandez, a teenager from a neighborhood in Fresno, California that is divided into gangs and families supported with welfare that are struggling to survive. Manny's mother is constantly trying to change the family's lifestyle, but there is no hope. Manny's father comes home every night intoxicated from the nearby bar and he does not care about the family as much as Manny's mother. Manny barely connects with his family, and he starts to look for a new role to strive for. I liked this book because it showed a different side to California than what is in the media. For example, the author talks about how life is in the projects and the difference between Manny's neighborhood than his Caucasian teacher's more expensive home in another part of the city. I learned the difficulty of living in this kind of lifestyle and the struggle to get out of it by reading this book. I would recommend it to anyone who likes an easy read and wants to read about the struggles of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Parrot In The Oven review

    Parrot In The Oven Mi Vida is a story about fourteen year old Manny Hernandez living in Fresno California with his poor family. Manny has to deal with many family and social problems. He has a father, without a job a mother who does nothing, a brother who can¿t keep a job very long and a sister who lost a baby, also his grandmother had recently passed away. Manny encounters social problems such as becoming involved in a gang. Also he does not fit in with a lot of his peers at school. Outside of Manny¿s social life he lives in poverty, they struggle to get by. His family is Mexican-American his father is a drunk and his mom pretends that they live a perfect life. Manny looks up to his brother Bernard however he has not set a very high standard for Manny to live up to. Manny also has other siblings that he is not well connected with. Manny goes to school and has few friends. He usually only hangs around with one person, Albert who is his close friend. He gets small work hear and there to earn a few dollars. At one point he becomes initiated into a gang. From his experiences with the gang he learns a lesson that he will not forget. Manny¿s family environment and social life creates a world unlike any other. There is constant action and it never repeats itself. The constant page turning feeling created by the context ensure for a great read. Parrot In The Oven Mi Vida is a great work of Hispanic-English literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    About 'Parrot in the Oven'

    The novel, 'Parrot in the Oven', written by Victor Martinez. It is a coming of age story about a 14-year old boy named Manny Hernandez. Manny has a family of 5 plus himself. His father is an abusive drunk, while his mother tries to pretend everything is alright by cleaning the house constantly. He has an irresponsible older brother who can't seem to keep a job for various reasons and 2 sisters. He has grown up in a poor neighborhood, and a poor school. Manny wants to be noticed and respected by people and the way to do that in his neighborhood, is to join a gang. Manny is not sure whether he wants to do that or not. He is the more responsible or dependable child in the family. Manny's father calls him Perico, meaning parrot. It is usually used when talking about ignorant people, although Manny is not ignorant, but trusts what people are saying too easily. Manny is not presented with opportunity and goes through many struggles, including his father's abusive behavior, his attempt at transferring to a better school, and meeting new friends, better known as a gang. He tries all these things and more, trying to learn whats right and what will earn himself respect within his community. I liked this book because it had tense moments where you aren't quite sure what actually happened, but are intrigued all the same. For example, ¿The sound of the gun going off was like a huge mouth swallowing a noise, and Pedi was eaten by that mouth.¿ Here, it is not entirely clear what had actually happened, and therefore you are forced to read on. ¿Pedi was dead, i knew it. The way she fell back on the floor, she could only be dead.¿ In this quote, you can be certain that Manny had indeed killed his sister, Pedi, when in fact it is a false assumption. ¿I thought i was going to pass out, but then I heard her crying, and when i speeded over to her, her mouth was fluttering.¿ This quote proves that Manny had not killed his sister, but did in fact come very close to doing so. These quotes show the intensity of some moments during this book, and some good reason for why it had intrigued me so much to go on. This book taught me that there are consequences for my actions and that I should not always trust what others say, but trust my own thoughts. I would recommend this book to people that are interested in coming of age stories, or just realistic accounts of one's struggles. I recommend this novel because it gives you an intense reality of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Great story!

    I had to read this book for english class. At first, I was a little bummed, because I read the back part, and it didn't seem to be very interesting. But once I started reading it... I couldn't put it down. LiTERALLY. It's a good book for adolescents, and I'd recommend it for free reading. I loved how it wasn't sugar-coated like many stories, and was really tell it like it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    Okay, but not the best

    Parrot in the Oven was a good book. I had to read it for English class in school. It wasn't a bad book to read for school, but i wouldnt recommend it for free reading. xoxo love always, Kat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Boring and Stupid

    It doesn't have any point, I was very disappointed with the quality of the writing that was used in this book. I had to read it for a class assignment, and it was pure torture. Finally as I reached the end of this book, that I was suprised I even got even that far, it got a little dramatic, then it ended with abslutly no point to the whole thing!!!!! A big waste of time, definently a no read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    Loved It....

    It was a great book...i enjoyed reading it and it has become one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Parrot in the Oven

    A drunken, unemployed father, a submissive mother, and a journey to finding himself in a world still so mysterious to him: this is the life of Manuel Hernandez, a fourteen year old boy in Victor Martinez National Book Award winning novel, 'Parrot in the Oven'. This novel awoke something inside me and enlightens me to the real troubles this young boy experiences on his path on becoming a man. This incredible story takes place in the projects where poverty is not abnormal. Manuel and his family live the established 'accepted' Chicano life in which the macho father controls the subservient wife, who in turn supports her husband blindly. Manuel experiences domestic violence, racism, and is made an outcast among others. These events generates the dramatic and powerful novel into a must read for any. When Manny's father crosses the line by trying to kill his wife, Manuel must decide what path he will take, the path on which his father travels, or his own path that will lead him to become a better man than his father. This novel is perhaps one of the most powerful and heart felt novels I have read. I witnessed, the life of a young adolescent Chicano mature throughout the novel into a more strong, confident, and inspirational character, which motivated me to read more into the novel just to see how this young boy Manuel will overcome all of life's challenges. Parrot in the Oven is the perfect novel for anyone wanting to read something inspiring or for anyone looking for a good novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    Parrot in the Oven: Mi vida

    Parrot in the Oven was reviewed as a luminous, humorous journal of a Mexican-American teens. This novel is divided into eleven short chapters where Victor narrates stories. It is written in a form that can be read by a wide range of ages, but the story is truly genuine. Its emphasis is on the life of Manuel Hernandez and his family struggling with problems such as a racism, poverty, and violence. Fourteen-year-old Manuel, called 'Manny', has an older brother, Bernardo, often referred to as 'Nardo', an older sister, Magda, and a younger sister Pedi. The Hernandez family continuously avoids people such as the Garcia¿s family, who are almost always doing something no good. Manuel¿s father can¿t maintain a job, like his son Bernardo. His father spends the majority of his free time at Rico¿s Pool Hall drinking and getting angry just to return to his home, occasionally resulting in offensive actions and we can see this in chapter 2 ¿Rico¿s Pool Hal.¿ Manuel¿s mother tries so hard to preserve a clean, and socially adequate home, but her constant arguments with her husband, as well as Magda¿s behavior for lack of respect and dependability, manage to maintain her tension level high, and the contemplation of true joy unthinkable. Manuel wants to be valued, but what he in truth wants is to be loved, particularly by a girl like in chapter 9, ¿ Dying of Love¿. In chapter 10 ¿A Test of Courage¿ said, 'Just thinking about telling a girl I liked her clamped the muscles on my chest and made my lungs pull hard to catch a breath.' sooner or later, Manuel gave up the initiative that he would ever be 'nice' to young girls and Manny decides to join a gang to see if he is permitted to kiss a girl. He kisses the girl, but later on Manuel realizes that he doesn¿t really need to belong to a gang to kiss a girl, he can do that whenever he is allowed. From the beginning to the end of the novel, we get to know Nardo as Manny's strong older brother who knows how to have a good time, but he doesn¿t essentially knows how to keep a job. Manny and Nardo are evidently unlike, and Manny rarely points these out. At the end we can see in chapter 11 ¿Going Home¿ that Manuel realized that he had the whole time a real home. He sits in his house, watching his sisters sleep on the sofa and he knows, for the first time, that this is where he is supposed to be, at home not his house but his home with his family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    Good Book

    This book was great.I think kids should read it because it gives more about live and your own life. How we live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2004

    Parrot in the Oven: Mi Vida

    Victor Martinez's Parrot in the Oven: mi vida is a beautifully written coming-of-age novel. Manny Hernandez is lost in the midst of his poverty-stricken, dysfunctional family. His dad is an alcoholic and his mom is busy cleaning and trying to keep her crumbling family together. Manny desperately seeks a role model, but he will have to look outside his family, since his older siblings are also dealing with their own issues and do not offer much to look up to. It is difficult for him to find someone to look up to when he is surrounded by gangs, no-good neighbors, and a teacher, Mrs. Van der Meer, who does not think he is worth the extra effort. Parrot in the Oven is about a Mexican-American boy and the issues he and his family face. However this book will be an inspirational read to all children and teenagers who face issues such as teem pregnancy, alcohol abuse, gangs, poverty, and even sexual curiosity. It teaches them that no matter what their background is they have choices and opportunities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    This book was great....

    Man I think this vato is going through tough times..I am Chicano and I'v been through a situation similar my mother didn't have that much money but now we are progressing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    PARROT IN THE OVEN

    I loved this book. a lot of people say it is especially good to read for mexican - americans and it is, but it is also a great read for anyone. it is so interesting and soo real. READ IT FOR YOURSELF!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Alejandra's Review

    This Book Is So Real. I also, I'm A Mexican-American. There's Lots Of Issues I Never Really Thought About In This Novel. Victor Martinez Gives A Great Insight To What Life Is To Being A Young Mexican-American. Out Of All The Books I've Read This Gots To Be The Best, In My Opinion. I Never Knew 'Nuestra Raza' Could Go Threw These Rough Isssues And It's Good For Me To See That Right Now At My Age It Is Normal To Feel All Mixed Up And Have All These Issues In My Mind. Victor Martinez Novel Is Really Beautiful. It's A Must Read. If You Don't Read It You Have No Idea What Your Missing Out In. Anything That Has To Do 'La Raza' I Must Read. It's So Intersting And True.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    it was amazing how much i was able to relate to this book!

    This book is encredibly interesting...i started reading it one afternoon and finished it the next day...its one of thoes books that you pick up and cant seem to put back down...and it made it even more intersting being that i am a mexican - american....and being that my dad is also an alcoholic...it was just a great book...made me in some way...realize i aint alone! if it was possible i would give this book 10 stars...its a MUST READ!!!-esp if u have mexican blood in u!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2