Customer Reviews for

Partials (Partials Sequence Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

I love dystopian and post apocalyptic stories, especially the on

I love dystopian and post apocalyptic stories, especially the ones with solid science fiction elements included. Partials is heavier on the science than most YA sci-fi books I’ve read recently but don’t let that daunt you. Dan Wells expertly weaves the scien...
I love dystopian and post apocalyptic stories, especially the ones with solid science fiction elements included. Partials is heavier on the science than most YA sci-fi books I’ve read recently but don’t let that daunt you. Dan Wells expertly weaves the science elements with action and romance that creates a fascinating book that had me glued to the pages.

Partials is set in 2076 in the aftermath of a war, a rebellion and a virus that wiped out most of the population. The humans who survived have made a stand on Long Island, barricading themselves against the partials, genetically engineered humanoid soldiers, and against human rebels who oppose the government. Instead of a big, faceless, evil government in most dystopias, this survivor community is run by a small but devious and power hungry group of senators.

Before I start talking about the individual characters, I have to give Dan Wells massive kudos for including a racially diverse group of people in his novel. As a reader who loves to see multi-culturalism in fiction, I am thrilled to tell you that the population of survivors looks a lot like the world’s current population and the story is richer because of it.

Kira is a sixteen-year-old medic-in-training who is super smart and determined. Weary of seeing newborn babies die from the virus and knowing that the government is not close to finding a cure, Kira comes up with a crazy, desperate plan to find a solution before her best friend’s baby is born. Kira is not the kick-butt character you typically see in dystopia but she is brilliant, brave, a quick thinker and has devoted herself completely to finding a cure. It’s her all-in attitude that makes her so awesome.

Kira’s boyfriend, Marcus, is sweet and loves her but they have different priorities. Marcus wants to live a happy, safe life with Kira and let others worry about humanity’s future. Samm is the partial that Kira helps to kidnap and study and while there is no love triangle in this first book, I can see the possibility of some romantic tension in the sequel. Normally I don’t like love triangles but I may be in favor of one in this case.

In the sea of dystopian/post apocalyptic YA novels, Partials stands out from the rest. Awesome world building, exciting action scenes along with betrayals and fantastic plot twists make Partials a great read. I cannot wait for Fragments, the next book in the series, to be released.

posted by Truly_Bookish on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I only read the sample to see how good it was, and hoestly im hlad i didnt buy the whole book. This book just didnt appeal to, a 7th grade girl.

posted by 10087514 on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    I love dystopian and post apocalyptic stories, especially the on

    I love dystopian and post apocalyptic stories, especially the ones with solid science fiction elements included. Partials is heavier on the science than most YA sci-fi books I’ve read recently but don’t let that daunt you. Dan Wells expertly weaves the science elements with action and romance that creates a fascinating book that had me glued to the pages.

    Partials is set in 2076 in the aftermath of a war, a rebellion and a virus that wiped out most of the population. The humans who survived have made a stand on Long Island, barricading themselves against the partials, genetically engineered humanoid soldiers, and against human rebels who oppose the government. Instead of a big, faceless, evil government in most dystopias, this survivor community is run by a small but devious and power hungry group of senators.

    Before I start talking about the individual characters, I have to give Dan Wells massive kudos for including a racially diverse group of people in his novel. As a reader who loves to see multi-culturalism in fiction, I am thrilled to tell you that the population of survivors looks a lot like the world’s current population and the story is richer because of it.

    Kira is a sixteen-year-old medic-in-training who is super smart and determined. Weary of seeing newborn babies die from the virus and knowing that the government is not close to finding a cure, Kira comes up with a crazy, desperate plan to find a solution before her best friend’s baby is born. Kira is not the kick-butt character you typically see in dystopia but she is brilliant, brave, a quick thinker and has devoted herself completely to finding a cure. It’s her all-in attitude that makes her so awesome.

    Kira’s boyfriend, Marcus, is sweet and loves her but they have different priorities. Marcus wants to live a happy, safe life with Kira and let others worry about humanity’s future. Samm is the partial that Kira helps to kidnap and study and while there is no love triangle in this first book, I can see the possibility of some romantic tension in the sequel. Normally I don’t like love triangles but I may be in favor of one in this case.

    In the sea of dystopian/post apocalyptic YA novels, Partials stands out from the rest. Awesome world building, exciting action scenes along with betrayals and fantastic plot twists make Partials a great read. I cannot wait for Fragments, the next book in the series, to be released.

    55 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Amazing author!!!!!!

    This book is up there with some of my favorites
    1. Interesting idea- geneticaly engineered people made to fight for us kill us and the survivors can not find a cure for saving babies
    2. Dynamic characters- main character Kira strong female lead in the book, Marcus funny caring, Samm enemy and friend, Haru opinionated daring, Xochi smart helpful strong, Jayden tough reliable daring
    3. Amazing action- its perfect not too gory but extremely real and exciting
    4. Placement of events- you can never guess whats coming next with easy to follow twists in the plot leaving you on the edge of your seat about Kiras next move
    5. Cover- its interesting, has a part in the book, cool to look at

    Theres more but i dont want a long boring review so youll just have to read the book

    If you enjoyed this book try:
    Hollowland Amanda Hocking
    Eden Keary Taylor
    Arena One Morgan Rice
    Skinned Robin Wasserman
    These books all have strong female lead roles, dystopian futures, Robotic and or genetically changed enemies, action packed scenes

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really liked this book. It was a very entertaining read. hopin

    I really liked this book. It was a very entertaining read. hoping for a sequel

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Well let's just say I cant believe I put this book down! I was a

    Well let's just say I cant believe I put this book down! I was always excited to read this. I'm happy that I finished it! Even though it ended with a cliff hanger... Plus the cover is gorgeous!

    First chapter: The world is destroy by partials 11 years ago. Now they are trying to rebuild but the problem is they can't reproduce. Every time a baby is born, it dies in secs. They have no idea why. Kira is one of the nurses and she hates how baby are dying and no one is doing anything about it except write down information.

    Kira is a independent person. A very strong woman. Even though she's only a teenager. If she says to do something, you will do it! I love everything about her!

    Kira and Marcus: They are cute :) I love the romance between them. I love how they always argue with each other. They seem more real. Kira keeps turning Marcus down.

    I love Samm! I love the relationship between him and Kira. I'm hoping to see more of them in the future! :)

    I definitely love her friends. They are so supportive!

    There's a whole lot of action in this book. I just love it so much! One of my favorite books in 2012. You will definitely love this book! I promise you!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping post-apocalyptic dystopia that will leave you wanting more..

    Partial is the first novel, in a new series by Dan Wells, acclaimed author of I Am Not a Serial Killer. In this YA, post-apocalyptic dystopia the year is 2076. It has been eleven years since the uprising of the Partials; a group of engineered organic beings who released a virus known as RM. This virus wiped out most of humanity and left the few remaining unable to produce living offspring. Wells took me on a fast paced, breathtaking ride and left me wanting more. The world-building in this novel is fantastic, unique, and believable. Wells painted a world that I could see, and his attention to detail had me riveted. The plot is engaging, and not a page was wasted in the development, and movement of this story. I became completely engrossed, and the rest of my world faded away. The remaining humans are living in or around, Long Island, NY. They are frantically trying to find a cure for RM to stop their dwindling numbers. The community is governed by a small senate that passes laws to ensure the continued existence of mankind. One such law is the Hope Act. It states that every female must become pregnant at the age of eighteen. These women give birth over and over again. For eleven years they have studied and tested but no child has survived. This Act caused friction within the community, and some left; becoming a group known as the Voice. Violent outbreaks, and theft have become a source of tension between the two. The Partials haven’t been seen in eleven years, but both sides fear an attack. Protagonist Kira is a sixteen year old medic in training. Wells has created a strong, fearless, and bright heroine. I immediately connected and saw her as a believable leader. Despite her age, Kira is wise beyond her years, and wants to find a cure for RM. Wells gives us a female character who can think for herself regardless of her friends opinions. Kira believes that the cure is connected with the source of the infection, and wants to study a Partial. Despite being forbidden to do so, she, and a team of her friends head out in search of one. The tale that unfolds is stunning, mind-boggling and one of the best I have read. I truly cannot wait to get my hands on book two. I want to thank netGalley and HarperCollins for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Reccomended

    Partials is an exciting book, filled with mystery and action.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    I enjoyed everything about this book. I read a lot and have read

    I enjoyed everything about this book. I read a lot and have read just about every book of this "type" that has come out in the last few years. This is one of the few that had completely unique ideas and refreshing dialogue. I am definitely looking forward to the next installment in this trillogy.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Yay

    This was a refreshingly different book tht i really enjoyed. Something i think anyone who liked the hunger games should read

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Good book

    Its a pretty good book as far as dystopian Young Adult (YA) stories go. I do not usually enjoy YA, as I am an adult and not the target audience.

    Even if you are an adult, this book is worth your time and money to read it on a Nook Tablet. Its pacing is a little odd. Some parts feel rushed while others are painfully over detailed. But its a good story. The characters are semi likeable.

    However, they do act like teenagers in that they are very impulsive, puppy love, generalized confusion, and strong desire to make things right. Even when nothing is logically feasible these teens go for it anyway. Honestly, the group believes that any consequeces or repercussions are going to be easily resolved, exactly like kids today. I am not saying that all teens are reckless, impulsive, strongly distrust authority figures. Some are high functioning, and brilliant. But its not the norm for teens.

    Being a teenager is difficult because during puberty the human brain does a full overhaul. The same kind of changes also happen between birth and age 5. Then things are set, until one grows up and enters the teen years. This time the brain starts rewiring the emotiinal centers of the brain first. This leads to a lot of confusion (emotionally) and "drama" in their outside and inside world. Finally the logic centers are rewired. Thank goodness because in the end you have a young person who is well balanced internally again

    I think that the author either has teens at home or has done a lot of research. I respect that. His characters act just like real teens high on crazy idealism train that drives their actions.

    The most teen-ish idea is the main character's (Kyra's) feelings of immortality. Even while Kyra admits that death is a possibility, she doesn't really believe that she, personally, will die. Obviously, as readers, we know that the main character cannot die-off in the first book. really believe that they can do anything and that the repercussions wont be too severe.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Amazing!

    I could not put this book down. It was fabulous. A great read for the summer if you need a good book. I can't wait to read the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Ok read

    Ok

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Okay

    I only read the sample to see how good it was, and hoestly im hlad i didnt buy the whole book. This book just didnt appeal to, a 7th grade girl.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    4 1/2 Stars. Partials, By Dan Wells has been sitting in my TBR

    4 1/2 Stars. Partials, By Dan Wells has been sitting in my TBR section
    since March. Why did it stay there so long? For one, the synopsis of the
    book didn’t really seem intriguing and...(I hate to admit this “out
    loud”) I have found that I usually prefer female writers when it comes
    to YA books. So, with all my prejudices against this book out in the
    open, I can now officially announce that, I was wrong. I really
    enjoyed Partials. It took me a little longer than normal to get through
    this book. I just had a hard time really getting into the book. Things
    start out slow as Wells introduces us to the characters and sets up the
    storyline. Once all of that is established, things start moving at a
    faster pace. By the last 150+ pages, I didn’t want to put the book down.
    This may sound cliché but this book has it all. You’ve got: • The
    post-apocolyptic world in which tragedy has struck and only a very small
    portion of the population is left alive. • A bad “guy"--actually
    you’ve got two--that is threatening the survival of those remaining. •
    The (potential) hero, 16 y/o Kira who is trying to not only help her
    best friend, but a cure to save the lives of babies...and the human
    race. • There’s drama, as we follow Kira trying to figure out how to
    cure RM • Tension - when we’re left wondering . . . (NO spoilers
    here!!!! I don’t want to ruin the experience for anyone.) • There’s also
    a little touch of romance here and there. There also may (or may not) be
    romance coming from unexpected sources. I really think Wells did a
    great job at brining emotion to this book. You can feel the pain as he
    describes the death of all the babies, and how these young girls -- by
    order of the law -- have to get pregnant as often as possible, only to
    watch their babies die without even having a chance to really hold them.
    He also has a wonderful sense for timing the highs and lows; implanting
    good action scenes throughout the book. By the end, you don’t want it to
    stop because you know -- just like any good series -- you’ll be left
    wondering, “what happens next” in the story. I will definitely be
    reading Fragments when it comes in February, 2013!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Partials

    This is a unique take on the end of the world senerio. While it was not my favorite book the plot was well thought out and a major twist at the end. While the writing did not grab me it was packed with action that kept the book moving. It was pretty long and was very discriptive in science and military lingo. The dialog tended to repeat itself to remind you of important facts, but really were not necessary. In all a good read ill read the second.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    I am late to the game with this series. I have read so many gr

    I am late to the game with this series. I have read so many great reviews I just had to pick it up. I found this was a very interesting dystopian. The idea behind the book is great, and I kept reading because I was so fascinated by it.

    Humans love to try and play God. If we could create super soldiers to save our own. I can see that happening. Especially in the US. How would we treat them after the war was over? That is the question.

    I can not imagine the feeling when you only see numbers dwindling in population and no cure for the virus that kills babies as soon as they are born. I can't imagine a world with out babies and toddlers. I can't imagine being forced to become pregnant at an early in life, and carry the baby only to see it die at birth. It would be a world so hard to have any kind of hope in, and not just give up.

    Kira, our main character, is someone I really enjoyed reading about. She lets herself accept something she has grown to hate, and realizes maybe they need each other. She goes against the grain to fight for what her tells her is right. She will do whatever it takes for her to accomplish the goals she wants to happen. She learns that she is far more capable then she thought possible. I found her to be a brave and likeable character.

    Overall, I really enjoyed this. I have read Fragments (Review will follow soon) already, and can't wait to find out the rest of the story. If you haven't read this one yet. Hop to it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    One of my favorites

    This book had me blown away! I was in awe from dan wells ability to write and explain in detail, science topics and created a plausible end of the world scenario. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and all the characters that helped developed it. By the end of the novel I couldn't think of anything else and immediately had to start Fragments ( the second book). Definitely one of my top favorite books!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Amazing

    Great book! Fragments is equally good if not better. Too bad the wait for book 3 (ruins) is so long!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Great Book!

    The plot will keep you on the edge of your seat.

    I recommend this for anyone 13 and up who loves a dystopian thriller. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Awesome!!

    Strong female character and dystopian world set in the future? Count me in!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Great read

    One of my favs! Couldnt put it down. Cant wait for the next one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10