Customer Reviews for

Parties and Potions (Magic in Manhattan Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    2nd best of the series

    I loved this book but i liked spells and sleeping bags even better

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Tasha for TeensReadToo.com

    Rachel's ready to start off her sophomore year of high school with a bang! Now that she's gotten her powers, and learned to semi-control them, there's nothing holding her back from having the best year ever. Except there is one little hindrance - she has to keep her witch life and her "normal" life separated, and the task is proving to be a lot harder then she thought.

    First there is her Samsorta, which is pretty much a debutante ball for witches. Miri (her sister) and she have to take classes and learn that there are tons more teen witches out there. Rachel soon meets up with Adam, who is cute, funny, and a witch, but there's also Raf - adorable, sweet, and he doesn't know Rachel's secret.

    Then there is Wendalin - Miri's new witch friend who just started high school and doesn't understand why she can't let everyone know that she's a witch. Rachel kind of takes her under her wing and tries to change her into a more "normal" teenager.

    And finally she has to deal with the fact that her dad still doesn't know that she and Miri are witches, and she's terrified to tell him.

    Even though she's a witch and it takes nothing to hop on over to Paris or to change the color of her shirt, Rachel still has many issues that can't be solved with the snap of her fingers.

    This whole series is seriously cute! The books always pick up right where the last left off with nothing missing. That said, though, the story can definitely hold its own, and it would be just as enjoyable to read if no other book in the series had been read. Rachel kind of retells her past adventures throughout the story in a way that sparks your memory if it has been a while since you read the previous books, or will catch you up if you haven't read any of the others.

    One of the best parts of the book for me was the creativity of the plot. In all the types of realistic fantasy books I've read, I've never come across anything with a plot even remotely similar to this series. I feel that in PARTIES & POTIONS, Sarah Mlynowski's creativity is exemplified more then it ever has been before. Having a witch debutante ball and popping to Arizona to attend Samsorta classes at a witch community center! I felt like the book was something out of my wildest dreams! It was truly a blast to read this book.

    The characters were fairly well-developed. There were some times when I got frustrated because Rachel would act the same way in a multitude of different situations. When this happened the book dragged a little, but then it quickly picked up again and was great. I also enjoyed the author's writing style. She made it really easy to see through Rachel's eyes and I felt like I was walking down the hallway with her or zapping off to Paris and standing on top of the Eiffel tower.

    Overall, I really enjoyed the book and think it was a great addition to a fun series. It's a great story for all, that provides a great adventure and some fun magic. I absolutely can't wait for more from Sarah Mlynowski, and urge you all to pick up this book, or at least one of the books in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Also currently reading

    Parties and potions is and amazing book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    Best+one+of+the+series

    I+finished+this+one+yesterday.+I+think+it+was+the+best++one+of++the+series.+READ+IT%21%21%21%21%0A

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    The+book

    I+really+loved+it.+I+just+couldn%27t+put+it+down.+It+is+a+good+series+really+not+liying.+My+favorite+person+was+Miri.+Read+it+and+love+it%21+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rachel Strikes agian.

    This book is amazing! Rachel strikes agian in Parties and potions. I just love the series. In this book Rachel and Miri get in-touch with the witch world. Ive read this book twice and im starting it agian! This is a great book for my age. Being in high-school i love it! Keep those books comeing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    Wonderful and totally interesting!!!!

    This book is so wonderful and it is very accurate. I felt as if I could relate to the main character, Rachel, in this book. It relates to us teenage girls because it pretty much explains how our mood and bodies change throughout our life. Rachel meets this witch that goes to her school but Wendaline uses her powers way too much and they are not supposed to use them in school. Rachel and Miri have a Samsorta together because their mother wouldn't let them have them separate. Whenever they have their Samsorta, they have all of their family and friends with them. Their family is in full support of them and they don't care what other people say about their family.


    Rachel has a boyfriend, Raf, and they are so compassionate and nobody could break them up. Rachel did not want to tell Raf about her "witch secret" but she finally did and he loved her even more. They are such an excellent teenage couple and they are so loveable. When Rachel tells him, he is really shocked and she feels bad because they have been dating for awhile now and she feels bad because she has kept this secret from him for so long. Rachel and her sister, Miri, are taking these Samsorta classes and they are meeting so many new witch friends. Rachel met this really cute guy, Adam, and he thinks that she is available and so he tries to make a move on her.

    I absolutely loved this book!!! I would recommend this book to any teenager and they would absolutely love to read this book. This book is so interesting and once you start it, you won't want to put it down. I was so into this book that my mom yelled at me because it was all I could do to read this book any chance that I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    really great

    i really liked the story. Amazing! and Mylnowski wrote an amazing teenage book that would make anyone laugh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Magical tale

    Rachel loves having the ability of preforming magic. When Miri meets a new friend on Mywitchbook.com, they learn there are teen witches all over the country. Each year, the witching society hosts a magical coming out party which Miri can't wait to attend. Before they come out as witches and join the magical society, they will need to take magic lessons. They sign up for Saturday afternoons. At first, it's cool meeting new people, but then they want to hang out after lessons. Miri loves her new friends and she has her eye on one boy in particular. But she's so shy around him. Soon she's begging her sister to hang out with the other witches. With juggling her boyfriend, school, and her home life Rachel isn't sure that she has time for magical lessons let alone hanging out afterwards. But she can't say no to her sister. Soon she's learning more about magic, but she's also attending parties on the Eiffel Tower in Paris, lying to her boyfriend, and sneaking out of her Dad's house. Sooner or later, all this lying will have to stop. But are the sisters ready for their secret to be revealed?<BR/><BR/>I'm glad the sisters came back for another book. I do hope that this series continues: it's so magically fun and surprise. I'm always wondering what scrapes Rachel will get into next.<BR/>~ yabooknerd @ http://yabooknerd.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ANOTHER GREAT BOOK!

    I am a fan of Sarah Mylnowski's work and Parties & Potions was my favorite in the Magic in Manhattan series. Parties & Potions plot line was very well-planned and easy to follow. There was more romance and thrills in this book a than the others in the series. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys action, romance, thrills, comedy, and drama. This book had everything in the right amounts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous Book

    I read the excerpt of the first chapter online and it was amazing. I think the reason that I and many others like these books so much is that everyone wants to have magical powers. They would make life so much easier! If you have a project due tomorrow, just snap your fingers and it's done! Rachel is also very easy to relate to, with the same goals that I have, embarrasing moments and boyfriend troubles. I find these series intriging and can not wait to see what Rachel gets into next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    A Great Book!!!!!

    I havent read this one yet but Im sure it will be great(although, when am I ever sure???). I have been waiting for this book to come out for a while but hopefully its been worrth it. To Sarah...well good job on the rest of youre series, both of them in fact i recomend. Please read for i hope/belive it'll be worth it. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best series

    These books are amazing... im 14 and i still like them ALOT!<BR/>I cant wait til this one comes out...until then GO READ THE OTHER ONES =D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    amazing books!!!

    I recommend this seires to all teens! It is amazing and it deals with real life situations. This book will probably be as good as the rest of them were!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Cool

    This is one of my favorite book i read it like 2 times




    Good book or bad book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Love matthattan"

    I actually live in matthatan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!!!!

    Loved it i felt so into it!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    K

    Worst book ive ever read (and i like ever thing)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    You guys are so rude!

    I have not yet read this book, and I was looking at reviews and you guys totally ruined it for me! If you are going to write a review, then don't spoil ANY shocking or the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    Not my favorite book in the series, but super cute! Rachel is so lucky. Samsortas sound like a lot of fun. It's also so sad that Rachel had to dump Raf just to avoid telling him her secret. I love the end, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6