Customer Reviews for

Party

Average Rating 4.5
( 584 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(467)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Party by Tom Leveen is a worthwhile read

Eleven teenagers, including skaters, a jock, and a girl with a secret, decide to attend an end of the year party. They each have their own reasons ranging from needing to make a friend to getting over being dumped. "Everyone" is expected to attend this party, yet none...
Eleven teenagers, including skaters, a jock, and a girl with a secret, decide to attend an end of the year party. They each have their own reasons ranging from needing to make a friend to getting over being dumped. "Everyone" is expected to attend this party, yet none of them expect to have their lives connect in so many different ways. Each chapter is told from a different character's perspective, giving the reader an opportunity to see the action from all angles.

I decided to read this book after reading a review that compared it to the Academy Award winning movie Crash (and if you haven't seen that movie yet you must!). The first chapter is told from Beckett's perspective, and I was instantly hooked by this character. She's all alone in the world, yet extremely observant, and decides to attend this party because she needs to know she's visible. Her character reminds me of Hannah Baker from Th1rteen R3asons Why only less harsh. As Beckett is deciding whether to show up at the party she sees her old best friend Ashley with another girl Morrigan. We find out why Ashley is her old best friend, what she thinks of Morrigan, and then the chapter switches to Morrigan. This carries on throughout the night until we have the full picture of the events as they play out.

I mostly enjoyed the differing perspectives because it made the story richer than just following one character. The only drawback is that I wanted more from some characters. Beckett's view of the story ends after the first chapter, but we see her story play out as she encounters more characters during the night. A couple characters lack detail that I prefer when reading a story. Tommy, for example, didn't strike me as a worthwhile character besides giving us more insight on how Josh copes with his breakup. I love Azize's character and would have loved it if Tommy's chapter was cut so we could have had more from Azize or even the lovesick, Max.

But, like I said, the different views give us a richer story. Morrigan, for example, is looked at in a variety of ways. Beckett sees Morrigan as her replacement with Ashley. Ryan looks at her as an overly drunk partier, and Josh sees her as the evil girl that dumped him out of nowhere. But then we get to read the chapter from Morrigan's eyes and we know exactly what she's thinking and feeling. We know how deep, hurt and confused she truly is. Of course, Morrigan isn't the only rich character in Party. Tom Leveen has created quite a few rich characters, I only wish we could read even more about them.

Overall, I highly recommend reading Party by Tom Leveen. If you enjoyed Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher or if you enjoy how Ellen Hopkins brings characters together in her books like Impulse or Tricks, then you'll really enjoy this novel. I'm looking forward to talking about this book with my students this coming school year!

posted by YA_Love on August 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

easy read, kind of typical but a good book overall.

The book is an easy read, i read it in 2 days (i'm 13 years old). The characters are kind of typical and stereotypical. The only part i found disappointing that this only occurred over 1 night. It isn't that thrilling because many things are kind of expectant. i loved t...
The book is an easy read, i read it in 2 days (i'm 13 years old). The characters are kind of typical and stereotypical. The only part i found disappointing that this only occurred over 1 night. It isn't that thrilling because many things are kind of expectant. i loved the beginning with Beckett, but then things went kind of downhill.

posted by muffinfarmer on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 584 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    Party by Tom Leveen is a worthwhile read

    Eleven teenagers, including skaters, a jock, and a girl with a secret, decide to attend an end of the year party. They each have their own reasons ranging from needing to make a friend to getting over being dumped. "Everyone" is expected to attend this party, yet none of them expect to have their lives connect in so many different ways. Each chapter is told from a different character's perspective, giving the reader an opportunity to see the action from all angles.

    I decided to read this book after reading a review that compared it to the Academy Award winning movie Crash (and if you haven't seen that movie yet you must!). The first chapter is told from Beckett's perspective, and I was instantly hooked by this character. She's all alone in the world, yet extremely observant, and decides to attend this party because she needs to know she's visible. Her character reminds me of Hannah Baker from Th1rteen R3asons Why only less harsh. As Beckett is deciding whether to show up at the party she sees her old best friend Ashley with another girl Morrigan. We find out why Ashley is her old best friend, what she thinks of Morrigan, and then the chapter switches to Morrigan. This carries on throughout the night until we have the full picture of the events as they play out.

    I mostly enjoyed the differing perspectives because it made the story richer than just following one character. The only drawback is that I wanted more from some characters. Beckett's view of the story ends after the first chapter, but we see her story play out as she encounters more characters during the night. A couple characters lack detail that I prefer when reading a story. Tommy, for example, didn't strike me as a worthwhile character besides giving us more insight on how Josh copes with his breakup. I love Azize's character and would have loved it if Tommy's chapter was cut so we could have had more from Azize or even the lovesick, Max.

    But, like I said, the different views give us a richer story. Morrigan, for example, is looked at in a variety of ways. Beckett sees Morrigan as her replacement with Ashley. Ryan looks at her as an overly drunk partier, and Josh sees her as the evil girl that dumped him out of nowhere. But then we get to read the chapter from Morrigan's eyes and we know exactly what she's thinking and feeling. We know how deep, hurt and confused she truly is. Of course, Morrigan isn't the only rich character in Party. Tom Leveen has created quite a few rich characters, I only wish we could read even more about them.

    Overall, I highly recommend reading Party by Tom Leveen. If you enjoyed Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher or if you enjoy how Ellen Hopkins brings characters together in her books like Impulse or Tricks, then you'll really enjoy this novel. I'm looking forward to talking about this book with my students this coming school year!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    easy read, kind of typical but a good book overall.

    The book is an easy read, i read it in 2 days (i'm 13 years old). The characters are kind of typical and stereotypical. The only part i found disappointing that this only occurred over 1 night. It isn't that thrilling because many things are kind of expectant. i loved the beginning with Beckett, but then things went kind of downhill.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tremendous, emotionally-real and riveting book!

    I just put this book down thirty seconds ago after crying my eyes out--in a good way.

    Leveen does a FANTASTIC job capturing the voices, the stories, the emotions and the turmoils of several different teens attending the same end-of-year party. The story is face-paced, tense, funny at times, very moving throughout, and ultimately uplifting and deeply satisfying.

    What a tremendous first effort by this debut novelist. Leveen is a genuine talent to watch.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Party, a great book

    The book Party, by Tom Leveen, is about how eleven different people view a single party and what were their goals at that party. The eleven different characters all have something in common and they are all bonded together in the story. This book is easy and quick to read, especially if you like stories about teenagers and the problems they are facing. At first the book can be hard to understand, but as the story goes, it gets easier to know what's happening. I would recommend this book for mostly teenagers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    Party Room

    Party Room

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Amethyst

    Drives up in her ferrari

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Jackson

    Walks in

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Piper

    Yeah luv u to

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Kate

    Uhh...ok thanks for the advice

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    ?

    Nodds

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Mckenzie to bryan

    Hey. Srry for ditching you like that. My ineternet waz not working. I feel bad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Trent

    Anyone here who want to talk

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Hey

    Hey you that keeps talking about shrimp, get lost freak!!


    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    Zane

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    Ana

    Knocks on the door and waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2015

    Emma

    I open the door and walk in anxiously, texting. I look up and pull the sleeves of my sweater down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2015

    Adam

    Walks in wearing a t-shirt and jeans. I brush my dirty blond hair out of my head

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2015

    Hey

    Say Party 5x fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    Sappire

    Walks in wearing a short strapless black dress and black high heels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Amazing book that not only teaches the reader that life for a te

    Amazing book that not only teaches the reader that life for a teenager can be as hard of complicated as the one for an adult, but also teaches the teenager, by accident that there are still important things in life, things that they might not see and need to change or discover. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 584 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30