Customer Reviews for

Party

Average Rating 4.5
( 581 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(466)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Party by Tom Leveen is a worthwhile read

Eleven teenagers, including skaters, a jock, and a girl with a secret, decide to attend an end of the year party. They each have their own reasons ranging from needing to make a friend to getting over being dumped. "Everyone" is expected to attend this party, yet none...
Eleven teenagers, including skaters, a jock, and a girl with a secret, decide to attend an end of the year party. They each have their own reasons ranging from needing to make a friend to getting over being dumped. "Everyone" is expected to attend this party, yet none of them expect to have their lives connect in so many different ways. Each chapter is told from a different character's perspective, giving the reader an opportunity to see the action from all angles.

I decided to read this book after reading a review that compared it to the Academy Award winning movie Crash (and if you haven't seen that movie yet you must!). The first chapter is told from Beckett's perspective, and I was instantly hooked by this character. She's all alone in the world, yet extremely observant, and decides to attend this party because she needs to know she's visible. Her character reminds me of Hannah Baker from Th1rteen R3asons Why only less harsh. As Beckett is deciding whether to show up at the party she sees her old best friend Ashley with another girl Morrigan. We find out why Ashley is her old best friend, what she thinks of Morrigan, and then the chapter switches to Morrigan. This carries on throughout the night until we have the full picture of the events as they play out.

I mostly enjoyed the differing perspectives because it made the story richer than just following one character. The only drawback is that I wanted more from some characters. Beckett's view of the story ends after the first chapter, but we see her story play out as she encounters more characters during the night. A couple characters lack detail that I prefer when reading a story. Tommy, for example, didn't strike me as a worthwhile character besides giving us more insight on how Josh copes with his breakup. I love Azize's character and would have loved it if Tommy's chapter was cut so we could have had more from Azize or even the lovesick, Max.

But, like I said, the different views give us a richer story. Morrigan, for example, is looked at in a variety of ways. Beckett sees Morrigan as her replacement with Ashley. Ryan looks at her as an overly drunk partier, and Josh sees her as the evil girl that dumped him out of nowhere. But then we get to read the chapter from Morrigan's eyes and we know exactly what she's thinking and feeling. We know how deep, hurt and confused she truly is. Of course, Morrigan isn't the only rich character in Party. Tom Leveen has created quite a few rich characters, I only wish we could read even more about them.

Overall, I highly recommend reading Party by Tom Leveen. If you enjoyed Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher or if you enjoy how Ellen Hopkins brings characters together in her books like Impulse or Tricks, then you'll really enjoy this novel. I'm looking forward to talking about this book with my students this coming school year!

posted by YA_Love on August 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

easy read, kind of typical but a good book overall.

The book is an easy read, i read it in 2 days (i'm 13 years old). The characters are kind of typical and stereotypical. The only part i found disappointing that this only occurred over 1 night. It isn't that thrilling because many things are kind of expectant. i loved t...
The book is an easy read, i read it in 2 days (i'm 13 years old). The characters are kind of typical and stereotypical. The only part i found disappointing that this only occurred over 1 night. It isn't that thrilling because many things are kind of expectant. i loved the beginning with Beckett, but then things went kind of downhill.

posted by muffinfarmer on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    Party by Tom Leveen is a worthwhile read

    Eleven teenagers, including skaters, a jock, and a girl with a secret, decide to attend an end of the year party. They each have their own reasons ranging from needing to make a friend to getting over being dumped. "Everyone" is expected to attend this party, yet none of them expect to have their lives connect in so many different ways. Each chapter is told from a different character's perspective, giving the reader an opportunity to see the action from all angles.

    I decided to read this book after reading a review that compared it to the Academy Award winning movie Crash (and if you haven't seen that movie yet you must!). The first chapter is told from Beckett's perspective, and I was instantly hooked by this character. She's all alone in the world, yet extremely observant, and decides to attend this party because she needs to know she's visible. Her character reminds me of Hannah Baker from Th1rteen R3asons Why only less harsh. As Beckett is deciding whether to show up at the party she sees her old best friend Ashley with another girl Morrigan. We find out why Ashley is her old best friend, what she thinks of Morrigan, and then the chapter switches to Morrigan. This carries on throughout the night until we have the full picture of the events as they play out.

    I mostly enjoyed the differing perspectives because it made the story richer than just following one character. The only drawback is that I wanted more from some characters. Beckett's view of the story ends after the first chapter, but we see her story play out as she encounters more characters during the night. A couple characters lack detail that I prefer when reading a story. Tommy, for example, didn't strike me as a worthwhile character besides giving us more insight on how Josh copes with his breakup. I love Azize's character and would have loved it if Tommy's chapter was cut so we could have had more from Azize or even the lovesick, Max.

    But, like I said, the different views give us a richer story. Morrigan, for example, is looked at in a variety of ways. Beckett sees Morrigan as her replacement with Ashley. Ryan looks at her as an overly drunk partier, and Josh sees her as the evil girl that dumped him out of nowhere. But then we get to read the chapter from Morrigan's eyes and we know exactly what she's thinking and feeling. We know how deep, hurt and confused she truly is. Of course, Morrigan isn't the only rich character in Party. Tom Leveen has created quite a few rich characters, I only wish we could read even more about them.

    Overall, I highly recommend reading Party by Tom Leveen. If you enjoyed Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher or if you enjoy how Ellen Hopkins brings characters together in her books like Impulse or Tricks, then you'll really enjoy this novel. I'm looking forward to talking about this book with my students this coming school year!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    Tom Leveen's Party is a detailed look at the events of one night

    Tom Leveen's Party is a detailed look at the events of one night, as told through 11 different people's perspectives. This adds complexity and depth to the story. This interesting device lends a cinematic aspect to the story, as I felt more like I was watching a movie of events, rather than reading a book about them. There are several different places and situations in the book that seemed to foreshadow things to come, with many of them not transpiring as expected. This keeps the story from being predictable, despite the same event occurring repeatedly. One of the best things that young adults should take away from this book is to be less egocentric and narrow minded - you don't know what other people are going through, so practice tolerance and kindness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Party is a great read. There are so many integral parts in the s

    Party is a great read. There are so many integral parts in the story as it goes from one perspective to the next that it was very hard to put down. There were times I had to double check the chapter heading to see whose perspective I was reading about, but that only made it better, in my opinion. This book, about 11 teenagers all talking about attending the same party, guides the reader to experience said party through several different sets of eyes. Weird? At first. Intriguing? Definitely!!! I would recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    To paris

    Its TURN DOWN FOR WHAT NOT TURNIT DOWN FOR WHAT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Grace

    Hey guys ad hey sloan what happened with your gf jw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Plague

    Goodbye, Christain. *grabs Ink's wrist and drags her out, not looking back.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Justin

    Hey whts up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Kendal

    Looked around feeling insecure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Its val

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Ughh

    Anyone wanna chat?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Pikachu

    Sits on table eating chips:d

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Wanna go club.bing?

    Then come to the Midnight Club! We have a bar, bedrooms, music, s.ex, s.ex and more s.ex. Information and rules at 1030 res2 while the actual club is at res1. Party tonight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Blizzardfox bio

    Name...Blizzardfox...description...small and pretty white shecat whose fur looks like a blizzard. she has russet eartips paws and tailip. Icyblue eyes...mood...get to know her smart one...history...wouldnt you little stalkers love to know...family...owlstar dragonsnow snowtail and winterkit(deceased). Parents.crystalstorm and freezefur...other...ask her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Ice

    Bye......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Onyx

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Brad

    Smiles in a daring cway*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Ellie

    Are we all just saying hello?? If so then hello.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Ehhh.

    I really dont dig the way they talk... like whatevs or what's the go...


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Cat to mike

    Hey whats up?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3