Customer Reviews for

Party of One: The Loners' Manifesto

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Finally-somebody who gets it!

I found this book at the library on accident one day and it truly changed my life. Navigating the least loner-friendly place on earth-high school-can be hell, and just knowing that there's enough people like me out there to warrant a book about the subject makes me ecst...
I found this book at the library on accident one day and it truly changed my life. Navigating the least loner-friendly place on earth-high school-can be hell, and just knowing that there's enough people like me out there to warrant a book about the subject makes me ecstatic. The chatty sector of the rest of the world should take a cue from Rufus' great book and realize we're not freaks in fact, loners are usually alot more emotionally resilient, independent, and creative than the mob.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

After a while, I couldn't pick it up!

I bought this book after skimming through it because I have some loner tendencies and wanted to read more about what the author had to say. After a few chapters, though, I felt that I was reading the same words over and over. OK, you're a loner and proud of it¿I...
I bought this book after skimming through it because I have some loner tendencies and wanted to read more about what the author had to say. After a few chapters, though, I felt that I was reading the same words over and over. OK, you're a loner and proud of it¿I get it. But while agreeing with some of the premises, such as that it's fine to dine alone or venture out by yourself, I feel that it's not a sin to socialize, either. Do whatever you're in the mood for! I fully understand the dismay at the all-too-common 'loner as sociopath' depiction in society, but the book came across to me as very angry and too much 'us vs. them'. About halfway through, I lost interest and never finished reading it.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    Finally-somebody who gets it!

    I found this book at the library on accident one day and it truly changed my life. Navigating the least loner-friendly place on earth-high school-can be hell, and just knowing that there's enough people like me out there to warrant a book about the subject makes me ecstatic. The chatty sector of the rest of the world should take a cue from Rufus' great book and realize we're not freaks in fact, loners are usually alot more emotionally resilient, independent, and creative than the mob.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    After a while, I couldn't pick it up!

    I bought this book after skimming through it because I have some loner tendencies and wanted to read more about what the author had to say. After a few chapters, though, I felt that I was reading the same words over and over. OK, you're a loner and proud of it¿I get it. But while agreeing with some of the premises, such as that it's fine to dine alone or venture out by yourself, I feel that it's not a sin to socialize, either. Do whatever you're in the mood for! I fully understand the dismay at the all-too-common 'loner as sociopath' depiction in society, but the book came across to me as very angry and too much 'us vs. them'. About halfway through, I lost interest and never finished reading it.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Excelent look into the world of those who opt to be "loners."

    This book validated my life-long aversion to things social, and does a wonderful job of pointing out that those who choose to be solitary (unlike those who have solitude thrust upon them) are indeed valuable, cotributing members of society. Much of the book deals with the stereotypes and judgments made against those who prefer solitude: not teams players, misfits, rebellious, liley to be socially deviant, if not a serial killer! If you are ther sort of person who looks for reasons to avoid the family reunion, the company picnic, and so on, this book will be of great value. I wish every teacher, prof, boss, colleague, and neighbor of mine had been "enlightened" by this book. Knowing that some people get "recharged" in a crowd, and also knowing the same experience drains some of us, leaving us needful of recovery time, is something that non-loners need to be aware of, I believe.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    ...And i thought i was a misfit!!

    Finally, I too can get validation. Tired of feeling like i'm 'weird'... and explaining to friends that i feel great being alone and minding my own business... better than listening to superficial conversations or senseless banter at many social gatherings i have been to. And no, i'm not shy,i have friends, boyfriend(s),social activities. It doesn't mean we are 'hermits'; and can not find love. Although it is hard to find someone that is also like me..a loner! We loners, can now not get togheter in this great book!! Thumbs ups for the author!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    My thoughts on paper!

    I loved this book. I felt as if every instinct and feeling I have/had was poured onto the pages. It pleases me that, as stated in another review, someone does finally get it! Recommended for those loners out there who are fed up with the psycho-serial killer stereotypes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Finally felt validated

    Like the author, I learned early on what to do to fit it and be a part of the crowd. She is so very right that people are born with this temperament to enjoy more time alone that with others. My mother, who had 6 children, said that I was the only one of them who could always entertain myself and didn't need to be with someone else to be happy. Like Rufus, I quickly grow bored with group 'watercooler' type talk and find the hardest part of work is being in an office having to listen to chatter all day long--not the work, but the workplace. I do bristle at the word 'loner' because I would never call myself one. I like people, just in smaller doses than most others. The book also helped me to understand my lack of tolerance toward 'nonloners.' I had always wondered what was wrong with someone who needs to call all the time and be with someone everyday. And now, with this constant talking on cell phones that exists everywhere you go, I wonder what is wrong that grown adults can't stop talking for two minutes! God forbid, they have some time to think quietly. For all of us who don't feel lonely alone but in crowds, maybe we could not get together sometime. This is a great book and should be required reading for all teachers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    A penetrating, insightful, thoroughly enjoyable book

    I'm only halfway done reading this book, but I can tell already it's going to be one of the books I secretly hide away and return to regularly for affirmation and understanding. Ms. Rufus so nails the singular experience of being a loner that she's better than Carl Jung. She lists numerous applications of the specificity of situations that loners face and the odd looks and pitched eyebrows of the nonloners who can't understand why they would prefer to be alone with their imaginations than sitting in an inescapable boat with half-drunk people spouting their opinions on the most mundane subjects imaginable. Or, worst of all, attending the block party to pretend to be interested in the neighbor who talks about 'your double axles,' along with the rest, who all are members of a neighborhood bowling team and whose unexamined lives are not worth listening to. This made me feel great about who I am and who my wife is, and how two loners like us could have such a fabulous relationship and not really need anyone else. This book should be the 'Be Here Now' of every introvert, to be read for comfort during times when nonloners throw parties in the next room that you didn't wish to attend and frequently had to invoke cases of the vapors to get out of. This writer is brilliant. I'm going to look into buying several more of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2014

    Years ago I was walking through B&N and saw this title on th

    Years ago I was walking through B&N and saw this title on their table. After reading the first page I knew I had to buy this book right away! This books sings to my loner soul beautifully!! Such an amazing book. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    highly recommended

    Young loners might appreciate the "validation", by age 60 I've learned to like myself as I am. But I was still pleasantly stunned to see my feelings in the words of the introduction, which I want my best friends to read now.
    The rest of the book seems to meander a bit, rather like separate short essays, so you can choose any single chapter (like technology or sanity) that appeals to you.
    Recommended for friends & family who think there's something "wrong" with you. (I got this book from my mother, the only other real loner I know.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    An original perspective

    As a lifelong loner, I thought I'd long since figured it all out -- but Rufus' book crystallized and clarified Lonerhood for me. With dry humor, wryness, and a great gift for empirical observation, she walks us through what it is like to be apart from the crowd. Beautifully written and soundly researched, Party of One is a masterpiece of a manifesto. Hats off -- well, one lone hat -- to Rufus for exploring territory previously unmapped. The more socially-inclined observer of the species will enjoy it just as much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    Loners!!!!!!!!!!!

    Loners are so misunderstood, and this book depicts just that. I kept screaming yes after each paragraph! It sounds like a story of my life! Non-loners could learn alot from it, namely to just be quiet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    Author is truly not a loner

    While I did enjoy the author's humor regarding lonerism. She claims to be a loner, yet she is married.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1