Customer Reviews for

The Passage (Passage Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 4221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1973)

4 Star

(1094)

3 Star

(565)

2 Star

(335)

1 Star

(254)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Hauntingly conceivable.

I loved The Passage. It was shocking, suspenseful, intriguing, complex, filled with terror, horror, deceit, perseverance, and love.
It begins in the future with the U.S. still at war with terror. The military is secretly attempting to bioengineer the 'perfect' soldier...
I loved The Passage. It was shocking, suspenseful, intriguing, complex, filled with terror, horror, deceit, perseverance, and love.
It begins in the future with the U.S. still at war with terror. The military is secretly attempting to bioengineer the 'perfect' soldier using death row inmates that no one will notice has gone missing. The inmates infected with the bioengineered virus escape and wreak havoc throughout the U.S. Ironically the Gulf of Mexico is referrenced as being so thick with oil that you could walk across it without getting wet. I can't imagine anyone not loving this book. I recommend it to everyone.

posted by Dahna on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

54 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

A good read...if you expect a series and like bulk

In the beginning, I loved this book. Midway...a little less and the end...not so much.
For 640 pages I expect a bit of conclusion, parts of this book felt like a task. It got long winded at times and gave me details that did not add or enhance the story, but seemed m...
In the beginning, I loved this book. Midway...a little less and the end...not so much.
For 640 pages I expect a bit of conclusion, parts of this book felt like a task. It got long winded at times and gave me details that did not add or enhance the story, but seemed more for bulk.

In the beginning the characters are well developed and interesting, the characters become less the later they are introduced. The story implies a mystery that you will be informed of and many of these things are never explained.

I like series reading as well as anyone, but I expect each book to have a point and be a complete story. I do not like it when it feels as though you stretch one book to a possible 12, with no warning and a feeling of incompleteness.

The plot has great potential and lots of creativity, however it was not as well developed as I hoped and thought it would be based on the beginning of the book.

posted by Stonemaiden on July 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4254 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 213
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    WAS EXCITED & COULDN'T WAIT TO START READING THIS BOOK-BECAUSE OF STEPHEN KING COMMENTS...

    I am not finished reading this book, am about half way through it. I have struggled with it since page 246. There are WAY too many details & rambling on parts which are boring. Too many characters introduced in the first chapters of the book to keep up with & some of them are not talked about again for at least the next 100 pages-if ever again-What happened to them ?(maybe I will find out at the end of the book) It is like the Author got tired of writing about them & just stopped writing the chapter. I plan on finishing the book, only because I am commited now that I am half done, but I have been disspointed with it so far.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    Huge disappointment

    The first third of the book was gripping, engrossing. The middle third sagged so badly I put the book down more than once and was reluctant to pick it up again. But I eventually kept reading because the first third had been so good and I hoped there was more to come.

    Well, I finished it. And it's not often that I actually shout at the author when I'm done with a book because I feel so cheated.

    This book cheated in the worst way possible: it promised a resolution that it never delivered. I have never read a novel that was so insistent that life is totally futile. That may be "literary" but it's also a "fail."

    I will remember this author's name simply so that I never again buy a book by him.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    very disappointing

    after hearing that this book was supposed to be so wonderful and entertaining i decided to buy it on my nook. it started off ok but then started to get really boring. it isn't a page turner at all. it took me forever to finish it because i would read a few pages and then put it down to do something else because it just didn't grab my attention. the general plot or premise of the story is great but i think it should have either been shortened or had more action in it. some of the characters i came to love -- like Amy, of course -- but many of the others i didn't get attached to. i wish i could say that i loved it but i can't. i love the idea of the story but not the book itself. :(

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you take only one book on vacation this summer.take this one.

    I've been gushing about this book to everyone I know and the first thing they say is, "I don't like vampire stories." To be honest with you, neither do I. However, the vampires in The Passage are not your typical vampires. They are government created super-soldiers gone wrong. Horribly wrong.

    What IS typical, is the good vs. evil theme. As readers though, do we ever tire of this? No! We love a good battle and there are plenty of battles fought as these "soldiers" run amok and wreak havoc upon the world as we know it.

    Although this book has been compared to Stephen King's, The Stand, and I did find many similarities between the two novels, I felt that The Passage had a completely different feel to it. It's a tad more clinical, a bit more mysterious and has more of a futuristic feel to it.

    The immense size of this novel has intimidated many readers but don't let the length fool you. It's nearly 800 pages but you don't notice the length at all. Some have mentioned the need for a good editor, that perhaps a few pages could have been shaved off of the final product but honestly, I enjoyed the extra detail and found myself completely absorbed in the world Cronin created.

    You may be wondering just how nasty these vamps are. I pictured these creatures as a cross between a human and say.the alien from Aliens. Maybe a tad more bat-like, but definitely something huge and menacing. Yes, there's a bit of gore as these creatures can be a bit brutal when they do their thing but it wasn't anything that kept me up at night.

    If you like epic novels to sink your teeth into (pun intended), then this might be the book for you. If you enjoy the whole good vs. evil thing, then you will like it more. If you like to feel as if you are in another time and place and that place happens to have creatures with wickedly sharp teeth, then you will love it. I know I did.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review - The Passage by Justin Cronin

    In my humble estimation Justin Cronin's "The Passage" qualifies as an Instant Classic. It has all the elements of a great work - brilliantly written characters that are flawed but oh, so very real, a twisting mystery that will keep you immersed in the narrative and engaged by the characters, the promise of a good scare right around the corner, viral vampires, unwitting heroes, and a huge, early following of fans. Do not be swayed by the occasional naysayers who proclaim the book too long or too wordy (whatever that means). It is worthy of your attention and a worthwhile read. The characters are real people, the narrative descriptive, and in some cases bloody, gory, and disturbing. The premise, which is not your average vampire story, is reminiscent of earlier post-apocalyptic literature but with a twist and it has something many of the others do not, a grand epic, fantasy feel to it and not because of its heft but of its engrossing content.

    Sweeping across almost one-hundred years in the post-apocalyptic vampire-infested plains of western America "The Passage" is an engrossing and epic tale which begins when a government experiment creates twelve different strains of vampire-zombies that escape and infect the entire world. However, small pockets of humans have survived and while the "virals" stalk the landscape some communities have managed to survive and even thrive in a world swarming with flesh-eaters. "The Passage" is an end-of-the-world road-trip filled with discovery, mystery, pain, and loss. But buried deep underneath all that is the promise of love, new life, and happiness. It's ours to find.

    A more detailed review can be found here: http://thealternativeone.blogspot.com/

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My first Justin Cronin read

    I loved the book - the middle was a bit slow - but a great read. I just hope there is a sequel to this - there sure could be.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Excellent.

    While the genesis of the vamps may have been approximated in other works. The manner in which they are delivered is new and refreshing. The characters are both well crafted and emotionally believable. Full of twists and turns, the story leads you on a haunting trip across a ravaged American wasteland.I recommend it to anyone who has ever enjoyed fiction. The most common complaint seems to be with the story stepping between characters and points in time. Which feels to me like saying a book is bad 'because' one cannot keep up with it. A lot of people don't like War & Peace because it changed perspective so often, but does that make it bad or challenging? I say challenging, and unlike Tolstoy, who remains challenging throughout. Once this tale hits its stride, it is impossible to stop. I read it cover to cover in under 24 hours. Can't wait for more.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    Fantastic!

    I can't say enough about this book. I was a little skeptical at first to purchase it because I havent read a thriller in quite a while. I'm so glad I did! The story is fantastic and I felt attached to the characters. There is nothing better than loving a story so much that you are thrilled that its a big book. This is a BIG book. I found myself looking at page numbers on my Nook to make sure I still had a ways to go because I loved it so much. When I was down the last 100 pages, I had to put it down for a day because I didnt want it to end. As soon as I finished it I went right to the computer to find out if there is a date for the next one in the trilogy to come out.
    The only problem I had was purchasing it on my Nook. The are A LOT of characters to keep track of. I would have liked to been able to go back at some points to verify who I was reading about or something that was said. It would have been easier in book form. It was a minor problem though and wouldn't stop me from recommending it on the Nook or hardcover. Can't wait until the next one comes out! Read this book....you won't be sorry!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    WOW!!!

    The first thing that comes to mind when I think about this book is WOW! The story The Passage is amazing. To describe it I would have to say it's a very mysterious, thrilling, adventurous, and compelling novel. The story takes you through an amazing journey from a joungle in South America, to the deserts of California, and through Las Vegas to Colorado. The story The Passage is a fiction novel with a great deal of fantasy but at the same time it has a deep sense of reality. if you're reading this review, you probably already know what the story's about so I'm not getting into too much detail. All I can tell you is: READ IT AND SEE FOR YOURSELF. You won't be disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    PURE GENUIS!

    If you are a science fiction fan, this is THE ONE! This is a very long book at 800 pages, but it flows so quickly because the reader will not be able to put it down!
    The time is about 100 years into the future. This is NOT another "vampire book".
    A military weapon attempt, a deeply dangerous experiment, goes horribly wrong and the world as we know it ends. The plot is, basically, that a bioengineered virus killed the majority of the population or caused people to become "virals". The humans that are left live in small, well protected enclaves. A small colony of survivors rescues a girl, Amy, outside their compound. Several of the colonists risk a trek across the dangerous wasteland of several states searching for her origin and hopefully a way to defeat the virals. This is so exciting and it keeps the reader chained to the book!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    All I can say is WOW! This book is amazing. I read the whole thing in 3 days. I was sucked in from the very first chapter! Everyone should read this book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Like reading 2 books in one...

    Overall, good book. Read all 836 pages in 2.5 weeks. Felt like I read 2 books, which wasn't bad. Just at 836 pages, references to 400 pages ago are difficult. Alot of holes, some get filled, some don't. HATE the ending, to many holes left unfilled.

    K

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    Not what I thought...

    I think that I was swept up in the hype of this book. The writing was actually very good and kind of easy to follow. However, the plot was not very original or even that thrilling. I felt that I could guess what was going to happen at certain points. It took me a while to finish because it just could not keep my interest.

    There were a lot of plot holes, references to things that happened 400 pages ago, and parts that just didn't seem believable. In fact, there were a lot of parts that just seem to work out miraculously...especially in the ending. I know that he has to set up for another book, but there is too much left hanging and it just seemed to stop in the middle of the action.

    I felt the book to be long winded, but I'd read the second one. I just think that I will get it from the library rather than buy it this time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Like Trudging Through Molasses

    As most here have noted, this book starts out with promise. However, it turns into molasses at some point and I was soon forcing myself to get through it. The last third of the book I started seriously wondering if the writer got paid by the word. Waaay too much detail about Every. Little. Thing.

    I found the virals pathetic rather than scary. All the woo woo stuff - dreams, voices, Amy's distant stare - were boring. I trudged toward the end hoping to at least get a resolution to over 800 pages of a somewhat interesting plot, only to have it just end. No resolution at all. Now I learn it's part of a trilogy - what a drag. I won't be buying the sequels - I just don't care enough about the people in this book. Yawn.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    this book made me pull my hair out

    the plot itself is awesome and intriguing... but it has no ending!! i read 836 pages in my nook just to be left feeling cheated. it is being said that it is set up for a sequel but this book is long enough to be a trilogy on its own. the only reason i'll read the second one is to find out what happened to the characters but you can bet that i'll be bitter about it the entire time.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I really wanted to read this book, but i guess i just fell in with all the hype...

    Although i am not done with this book, i can honesty say this is not one of my fav books. I begged for the chapters to end ASAP and i had trouble following along at some points. It's perfect for when you're bored or when it's raining outside. I guess i fell in with all the hype. Despite what King said, i was was not captivated by pg 15 and was not reading late into the night by pg 30. I just want to get this book over with.
    Again, i am not done with this book so i can't say this book is horrible. this is just my opinion and the beginning of a book is always boring, but can't someone make a book that actually has an exciting beginning??????

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    badly written juvenile drek

    Steven King endorsed this junk?! He must be drinking again. The characters are two dimensional and there are so many holes in the plot that it is laugh out loud funny at times. For atmosphere Cronin has his characters exclaim 'Flyers!' every few paragraphs. This passes for putting us into the world he has created. The beginning of the book is merely stupid. The government bad guy keeps people from noticing the ruanaway agent and the young girl by killing everyone handy. Yeah, no one will notice that. And the monsters are kept away at night with floodlights. Apparently none of these brilliant, supernaturally strong monsters can throw a rock. Really. The ending is just plain awful, which makes sense since the book is just plain awful. Save your time and money and spend it on something worthwhile. The hype for this book is an amazing example of a publisher successfully selling drek by humping the book instead of actually editing it and pushing the author to produce something worthwhile.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    Not as good as expected

    It did take me a while to read through this book. As has been stated in several previous reviews, I thought the first half exceeded the second. Toward the end I kept stuggling to just get it read. I wanted a satisfactory conclusion and understand now (2 sequels) why that wasn't provided. I definitely got my money's worth but doubt I will invest in the sequels...although there are still those little nagging questions in my mind that I would like answered.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Not that great

    It seemed like it split into almost two different books. The first half really good. And then the second half boring...it just goes off on a different idea in second half

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    WORST ENDING EVER

    I enjoyed reading this book but the ending is disapointing. I realize that there is more to come but I was so upset about that ending I doubt I'm going to read the upcoming sequels.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4254 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 213