BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Passage (Passage Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 4229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1977)

4 Star

(1096)

3 Star

(564)

2 Star

(336)

1 Star

(256)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Hauntingly conceivable.

I loved The Passage. It was shocking, suspenseful, intriguing, complex, filled with terror, horror, deceit, perseverance, and love.
It begins in the future with the U.S. still at war with terror. The military is secretly attempting to bioengineer the 'perfect' soldier...
I loved The Passage. It was shocking, suspenseful, intriguing, complex, filled with terror, horror, deceit, perseverance, and love.
It begins in the future with the U.S. still at war with terror. The military is secretly attempting to bioengineer the 'perfect' soldier using death row inmates that no one will notice has gone missing. The inmates infected with the bioengineered virus escape and wreak havoc throughout the U.S. Ironically the Gulf of Mexico is referrenced as being so thick with oil that you could walk across it without getting wet. I can't imagine anyone not loving this book. I recommend it to everyone.

posted by Dahna on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

54 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

A good read...if you expect a series and like bulk

In the beginning, I loved this book. Midway...a little less and the end...not so much.
For 640 pages I expect a bit of conclusion, parts of this book felt like a task. It got long winded at times and gave me details that did not add or enhance the story, but seemed m...
In the beginning, I loved this book. Midway...a little less and the end...not so much.
For 640 pages I expect a bit of conclusion, parts of this book felt like a task. It got long winded at times and gave me details that did not add or enhance the story, but seemed more for bulk.

In the beginning the characters are well developed and interesting, the characters become less the later they are introduced. The story implies a mystery that you will be informed of and many of these things are never explained.

I like series reading as well as anyone, but I expect each book to have a point and be a complete story. I do not like it when it feels as though you stretch one book to a possible 12, with no warning and a feeling of incompleteness.

The plot has great potential and lots of creativity, however it was not as well developed as I hoped and thought it would be based on the beginning of the book.

posted by Stonemaiden on July 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Big Dissappointment

    This book was difficult to get into. I am on page 300 and I have read 6 books by the time I started this one. I am trynig very hard to move on but once you get interested in the characters i.e. Amy then they switch characters all over and SO SLOW AMG to slow.

    23 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't fall for the Hype!

    I actually created an account to warn people from buying this book! I was about to buy another book when I overheard a rave review on "The Passage" and I thought I would give it a try. The author starts off well and then it is as if someone else picks up the story and turns it into a bad Hollywood chase scene. There are huge plot gaps,not to mention the main character being a mild afterthought. I finsihed only because of the time I had invested in it.

    13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    WAS EXCITED & COULDN'T WAIT TO START READING THIS BOOK-BECAUSE OF STEPHEN KING COMMENTS...

    I am not finished reading this book, am about half way through it. I have struggled with it since page 246. There are WAY too many details & rambling on parts which are boring. Too many characters introduced in the first chapters of the book to keep up with & some of them are not talked about again for at least the next 100 pages-if ever again-What happened to them ?(maybe I will find out at the end of the book) It is like the Author got tired of writing about them & just stopped writing the chapter. I plan on finishing the book, only because I am commited now that I am half done, but I have been disspointed with it so far.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    Huge disappointment

    The first third of the book was gripping, engrossing. The middle third sagged so badly I put the book down more than once and was reluctant to pick it up again. But I eventually kept reading because the first third had been so good and I hoped there was more to come.

    Well, I finished it. And it's not often that I actually shout at the author when I'm done with a book because I feel so cheated.

    This book cheated in the worst way possible: it promised a resolution that it never delivered. I have never read a novel that was so insistent that life is totally futile. That may be "literary" but it's also a "fail."

    I will remember this author's name simply so that I never again buy a book by him.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    badly written juvenile drek

    Steven King endorsed this junk?! He must be drinking again. The characters are two dimensional and there are so many holes in the plot that it is laugh out loud funny at times. For atmosphere Cronin has his characters exclaim 'Flyers!' every few paragraphs. This passes for putting us into the world he has created. The beginning of the book is merely stupid. The government bad guy keeps people from noticing the ruanaway agent and the young girl by killing everyone handy. Yeah, no one will notice that. And the monsters are kept away at night with floodlights. Apparently none of these brilliant, supernaturally strong monsters can throw a rock. Really. The ending is just plain awful, which makes sense since the book is just plain awful. Save your time and money and spend it on something worthwhile. The hype for this book is an amazing example of a publisher successfully selling drek by humping the book instead of actually editing it and pushing the author to produce something worthwhile.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    Looooonnnnnggggg..., boring, typical plot about evil government scientists

    We have all seen the same plot where evil government scientists create viruses that kill most of mankind. It has been done before and better than this. The monsters that result and just too much. This book just rambles on and on and on and on to an ending that is..... huh?

    Definitely a snooze. Pass on this one.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Tedious!

    This is yet another in a growing line of books I can no longer tolerate. Like Stephen King, like Nelson Demille (to a lesser extent), Justin Cronin mostly dwells in the minutia of his characters lives and thinking processes to a mind numbing degree.

    I managed to skip my way through the first 300 or so pages of this book before I put it down for good. By skip I mean often skipping 5 or more pages of drivel at a time until the next bit of worthwhile plot appeared. And now, given an apparently unsatisfying ending to boot, I'm relieved I didn't waste any more time on it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    Finished Reading & Don't Know Why I bothered

    The only reason I completed the book is because I don't like not finishing a book. Too long and just ridiculous. Don't bother getting this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow. Desperately, horribly slow.

    If nothing truly significant or interesting has happened in the first 100 pages, I'm usually done reading. However, I kept going because this book has so much buzz and hype surrounding it, and I kept hoping it would get better.

    Finally, I started skipping ahead. The Big, Important Thing that drives the plot doesn't happen until nearly two hundred pages in. That's ridiculous, and frankly it's sloppy writing and worse editing. Surely some of the 700+ pages could have been cut or at least re-arranged to load the action closer to the beginning and make it less of a slog. Before that, the best part of it was the first 10 pages, which I read as a sample ebook. The rest of it did not live up to those pages.

    As for the story itself, it reads like a sad rehash of Firestarter and The Stand, except that it takes longer for anything to happen and by the time it does it's harder to care about the characters. I'd recommend skipping this entirely and buying one or both of those books, actually.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    Very disappointed...

    There was a great deal of hype surrounding the release of this book. I saw the author, Justin Cronin, on GMA (Good Morning America) the day the book was released. This book was called "the read of the summer," so I was pretty sure it would be an amazing book. I have to admit.."the read of the summer" was, in fact, true as it would take the average reader the entire summer to finish reading it or an entire summer to get over the disappointment of this book!!
    The book skipped around too much, was entirely too long and the ending was terrible. I wasted many hours reading this book that I will never get back! I have to admit that I have never written a book review before, but I feel compelled to share my thoughts on this book because it was just that bad.
    I downloaded the free sample prior to purchasing it...I was completely dooped! The first few chapters were captivating, but it went downhill after that...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Awful...just an awful disjointed mess.

    Will you like this book? That depends...if you really liked say the second season of the walking dead (where a bunch of people sat around and talked and there was only the occasional appearance of a zombie) and you like the whole vampire fiction genre, then yes you'll probably like this book because the "vampires" hardly ever take on any plotshaping role after part one and there's a whole lot of people that you don't care about anyway that sit around and talk. Cronin can't even tell if he is writing a vampire book or not (the characters most often refer to "virals" or "smokes" while only a minor plot group goes as far as to call them "dracs") and the only two interesting characters (wolgast and carter) are ** SPOILER ALERT killed off in the first 300 pages before the book just jumps ahead 100 years in time with no explanation which is not only jarring to the reader but you're then left with a bunch of characters that you wish would die, only to find out hardly any of them ever do. Ever. Nothing scary ever happens either; Cronin almost goes out of his way to assure this (one scene where a viral enters a nursery is the closest thing the book ever gets to horror/terror and even here Cronin wimps out and not a single child is harmed). Its as if he had a halfway decent father/daughter story that he didn't know how to resolve and a formulaic plague/post-apocalypse story a la The Stand that he didn't know how to pull off and just decided to loosely tie the two together with a vampire plot (while tossing in more elements of The Stand, walking dead, the bad parts of LOST, a little Watership Down, and whatever other plot elements he had laying around that have all been done before by better writers) and hopeit would all come together. It doesn't and it's boring and its easily 600 pages too long. I would suspect that some of the glowing reviews here are due to the refusal by some to admit at 800+ pages they have wasted their time. Even the title makes no sense....there was only 1 reference directly to it near the end of the book and even that was anti climatic (when a book this long can't convey a central theme in its title its a sure sign of a lack of focus. Anyway I wanted to like this book in the beginning but after part 1 it seemed to me that the writer did not respect the reader anymore. If you enjoyed this book then i am happy for you and hope you would be encouraged to read more by other writers because there are far far better books ot there than this. Thanks for reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Will Never Read This Author Again

    I am only deeply sorry for the wasted hours I cannot retrieve. This is the only book I have read by this author, and it will be the last. If you want to pointlessly dump hours of your valuable time and wind up disgusted, be sure to read this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Boring . . .

    Like others mentioned, it starts out OK but soon degrades into silliness. It seems that events and coincidences occur for no other reason than to make the storyline even more fantastic than it is. I really had to plod through half the book, just to finish it. I kept waiting for it to get better but it never did. It just went on and on and on . . . Don't bother.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    Ugh!!! Torture to Read

    I heard on a news show this was going to be the read of the summer. The newsman said, "people will be talking about this book for some time to come". I've never believed in burning books until now.
    The first part of the book keeps you interested, wondering how the author is going to tie in the three different events/people together. The middle of the book is painful to read and boring. I wanted to put it down and forget about it so many times, but 400 pages into an 800+ page book, I already had too much invested in it. The last third of the book got to be more interesting, you could involve yourself with the characters and their plight; but the end barely left you wandering and wanting more.
    It was not "the read of the summer".

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I thought that this was going to be a great book, especially since Stephen King recommended it (and I love Stephen King novels). I was so disappointed. The first part was good and by page 300 it just got too confusing. The rest of the book had way too many characters that are so hard to keep straight. I hated the fact that you can't really get a sense of time. I like at least having a ball park figure of the year or century. I couldn't even finish it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    poor character development

    I gave this book as few stars as possible. First, there was too much character development on minor characters. These stories were often dull. Second, there was not enough character development of major characters. The antagonist is this story had almost zero character development. For the major protagonist characters most of their stories were...just...dull. All the stories were sad which I suspect was an attempt to give the reader a feel for how the evil that plagued the earth worked. However, without some sense of upbeat hard charging characters all that remained was pitiful heroes.

    Finally, this book didn't end. There will be most certainly a second book and most likely several more. SSSSOOOOO I have the honor and privilege of waiting ??? years to find out how the main characters defeat evil. Simply put...not worth it to me.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    I CAN'T BELIEVE I READ THE WHOLE THING!!!

    This book was awful. Don't believe the hype. The writing was sophmoric, the story goes on and on and on jumping from one situation to the next with very little continuity.....going from dull to BORING. I am mad at myself for not stopping after about the first 200 pages...thinking it might just get interesting. It didn't. I started skipping paragraphs, then pages to finally get to the end. Do not read this book no matter how good the plot sounds. Cronin doesn't deliver on any level. I am glad I didn't pay money to read it....got it from the library. If you want to read a good book in this genre...get Stephen King's The Stand. That book takes you on a wild and wonderful ride.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stopped reading after about 200 pages...

    There is just too many characters and none seem to tie into together. I pushed myself to read up to page 200. I just couldn't push myself to read anymore. I just couldn't get into it. This is just my opinion...

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    The ending was horrible

    If I had known after reading this huge story to the end that the ending would be so bad I wouldn't have bought it. Why can't you get your money back for a story that you didn't like?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just awful!!

    This has to be one of the worst books I have ever listened to. The narrator was awful and the writing is like reading someones high school project. Very poorly written to put it mildly. I didn't care about any of the characters or the story for that matter. Don't waste your money.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13