Customer Reviews for

Passing for Thin

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    A good view from the inside

    I really enjoyed this book for many reasons. Mostly I enjoyed that she gives you a up close view of her weight loss journey. She writes with insight and humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Not quite what I expected

    I admire Ms. kuffel's incredible achievement in losing so much weight, but I wanted to hear more of the day to day struggle when she first began the program. The book jumped ahead to the first weight loss of 18 lbs without telling of those long and lonely days at the beginning of her journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Funny and honest

    Passing for Thin reminded me a little of Anne Lamont's Operating Instructions. I loved both books. Passing for Thin is both hilarious and cutting. The author holds nothing back as she details, first, what it's like to be an active food addict, and then, what it's like to do battle with those demons and win. You root for her the whole way through and yet you are SURE that she'll come out ahead. It's inspiring. If you have your own weight loss still ahead of you, buy the book. My own weight issues aren't exactly like hers. And I don't have the same amount to lose. But it's not really about the numbers -- she never even states *exactly* what it was she was eating (or not eating) during the period of her weight loss. So it's not a diet book. But it is a book that testifies that life-long harmful habits can be addressed and when you do so, the victory impacts far more than just the small area you thought it would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Terrific book

    I would recommend this book to anyone who feels they are alone in the struggle to lose weight. Frances Kuffel is a gifted author and her book is the most enjoyable I've read in a very long time. I couldn't put it down! The author lets you feel like you know her - can see inside her - and you want for her everything she feels she doesn't deserve. Very inspirational, insightful...just a wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    RECOMMENDED

    I believe this book to be one of the most descriptive books I will ever read in regard to dealing with compulsive overeating. Frances is honest about how it is when you weigh more than is healthy and how easy it is to have a obsession with food. I salute her for writing this book. It is inspiring,funny and sad. Thank you, Frances, for saying what I wish I even knew I wanted to say!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Give Me A Break!!!

    After reading an excerpt from Oprah's magazine, I rushed to the store to purchase this book. I now understand why people choose to use excerpts to show off their book. Sometimes that's all there is. I really thought I would get some insight into her thoughts, feeling during this time. Blah, blah, blah, blah. I congratulate her on losing the weight, but she definitely doesn't know how to tell the story. Hope it wasn't that boring losing the weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    Incredible candor of self

    Frances is honest, sometimes brutally so. She is a normal middle aged woman with normal desires and goals. Once Frances emerges as an attractive woman, she faces these goals and desires as humble realties. A super book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Writing deserves five stars !!

    I read a portion of her story in Oprah's magazine.It was excellent!!Can't wait to read her entire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Awesome book!

    This is an awesome book! What an inspiration Frances is to all of us who are working on the project of passing for thin, one day at a time. Frances, you've come a long, long way, great job! I hope you find the love and happiness you seek and richly deserve! You have a wicked sense of humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    I want a Cinderella Ending

    I'm so hungry to read the rest of Kuffel's book. Did she lose the weight without surgery? If yes, then I look forward to reading about true self discovery (vs. stomach stapling anecdotes), old fashioned hard work and the pain and courage that comes from looking and finding the answers within ouselves. I want Kuffell to find everything she longs for. I KNOW that her book will be a huge success. Now, I dare ask the politically incorrect question...Has Prince Charming showed up yet? She certainly deserves a prince in her life. What a wonderful 'icing on the cake' that would be!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1