Customer Reviews for

Passing Through Paradise

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great read with lots of emotion

    Great story and hard to put down . . . . Susan Wiggs never disappoints!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Fabulous Read!

    Another Susan Wigg's book that will not disappoint. Great blend of mystery and romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Great book

    A great book. I enjoy all of Susan's books. Can't wait till the next one...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Highly recommend. Great author.

    Really enjoy Susan Wiggs books and this one is special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Pokemon rp in the fourth result!

    BLEURRRG!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Great story, really loved the characters. I had already read it in print and enjoyed it so much I wanted it for my Nook.

    I only wish the transfer to e-book format had been done more carefully! The text is littered with hyphens where they don't belong, enough to be a bit distracting. There were even a few instances of the pages not turning in order. Still loved the book, but...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    I love a book that keeps drawing me back to it and makes be thin

    I love a book that keeps drawing me back to it and makes be think about it when I'm away. This one totally did that for me. Passing Through Paradise is not part of a series, which I appreciate once in awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Great book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Susan wiggs does it again

    Hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    I loved the pace of this story

    Recommend this author, she writes a page-turner with a little romace, too. I am glad that I recently found her for my NOOK COLOR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Amazing story

    One of my all time favorite books ever is Table for Five written by Susan Wiggs. Just Breathe - was a gift to read What is so tremendous about her writing is that the characters are always complex and have lived through difficult situations yet have come out stronger for them. If I could write like anyone - it would be this woman, her modern romances are simply great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this book. I didn't think I was going to like this one as much as some of her other books, but I couldn't put it down. Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Great from start to finish

    I found this book enjoyable and you could feel the pain that she was going through. I felt that her husband left her with a hard road to go down, I was just glad she found some support.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    Another Great Book By Susan

    This book is amazing!!! The characters are so easy to fall in love with! You can almost step onto the page and be there with the characters. Another wonderful story by Susan!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    A very good book

    I just finished this book. I put it down long enough to take my kids to the park out of guilt since I spent most of the day with my nose buried in it. I found this book to be full of romance, sadness, despair, hope, and suspense and I totally fell in love with the hero, Mike Malloy. I recommend this book as a very good escape read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    One great book-one of the best I have ever read

    A friend told me this was a good book, but I think it is the best one I have ever read. This author is just the greatest. I have read so many of her wonderful books. This was interesting, and just held my interest thru the whole thing. Susan Wiggs has become one of my favorites. She knows how to tell a story and her characters are just wonderful. You have missed a lot if you don't read this book.It is a must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    engaging romantic suspense

    Many of the residents of Paradise, Rhode Island observed the intense argument between Sandra and Victor Winslow. When their car crashed through a safety railing into the nearby Sound, Sandra survived, but Victor apparently died though his body was never found. Ruled an accident, most locals encouraged by the media branded Sandra as the Black Widow of Blue Moon Beach. Even her friends believe she got away with the murder of their favorite son, a state legislator. <P>Two years later, Sandra remains the town pariah. She decides to sell her family home, but knows the historical house needs costly renovation. Victor¿s friend Mike Malloy needs the money badly after getting killed during a divorce. Though he believes Sandra murdered his pal and he does not really want the job, he accepts the work for the fee he will earn. As he becomes acquainted with Sandra, he realizes that she could never have killed her husband. As he falls in love with her, he wants to prove her innocence not for his own need, but for hers. <P> PASSING THROUGH PARADISE is an engaging romantic suspense that never stops entertaining readers. The story line takes off once Mike makes up his mind to prove to the world what is heart knows. Sandra is innocent. Though Sandra should have filed a liable suit against an obnoxious reporter and a final twist leaves a key character seem disjointed, the lead couple makes the tale succeed. Known for her fabulous historicals, Susan Wiggs scores with this superb thriller that hooks the audience from beginning to end. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2002

    Great Read

    This one is not to be missed. Wonderful characters, romance, mystery and local New England color. I am a huge fan of contempory romance writers Sandra Brown, Linda Howard, Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Elizabeth Lowell. This book is right up there with anything they have written. I'm not familiar with Susan Wiggs but I plan to search out more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    More than Just Romance

    Well-known for her historical romances, author Susan Wiggs once again delves into the contemporary venue in this moving read complete with healing hearts and and simmering mystery. <br><br> Widow Sandra Winslow moves into the old beach home along the coast of Rhode Island. The home, given to her by her grandfather, is all that she has left after the death of her husband, Victor Winslow. By all accounts, Victor was the consummate politician and perfect husband and son. Only Sandra knows what happened on the bridge that fateful February when the car she was driving careened off the bridge and landed in the frigid water below. Though Victor¿s body was never found, Sandra survived and was exonerated at the inquest. But the townspeople and media feel otherwise as the author credibly exhibits their disdain, making it believable and not overdone. <br><br> Feeling the pressure to start anew, Sandra enlist the aid of ¿handyman¿ Mike Malloy to restore the beach home so that she can sell it and move on. But she wasn¿t bargaining on her attraction to Mike, at first in an elemental way she hasn¿t felt before. There is more than just physical desire, though, as Ms. Wiggs develops their attraction in such a way that they reinforce the empty spaces in each other¿s lives. <br><br> Their emotional baggage seems almost insurmountable, with Mike¿s difficulties as a single divorced dad, and Sandra¿s conflicting feelings concerning her apparently happy marriage. In a compelling parallel to Sandra¿s own parents, who are considering divorce, Mike and Sandra must learn to work through each others differences to achieve a relationship worth saving. Complex characters, a hunky hero, and a constant undercurrent of mystery, lend creativity to this novel that is so much more than a formulaic romance. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2