Customer Reviews for

Passion (Lauren Kate's Fallen Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1810 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1093)

4 Star

(365)

3 Star

(193)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(84)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that you will enjoy.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    Passion Lauren Kate

    Disapointing! Other two were full of Passion, this one was like a run-on sentence. Lacked Passion. The 4th could be promising, so I will remain hopeful! Explanation why Luce incinerated 1st boyfriend?

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Meh...

    Well i loved the first two books in the series but when i started reading this one i was kinda let down. It was the same thing over and over again. I mean come on already Luce just get over yourself! You know what type of hell he went through already so quit the complaining and move on with your life. Wow i just screamed at a fictional character but that's what i was thinking when i read this book. To me it wasn't worth the wait and the read but the first two books were so good i have to finish the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was disappointed.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the first two books. This book was such a disappointment. The plot is that Luce travels through many of her past lives to try and find something that will help her understand what happened and figure out how she can break the curse. Daniel is always one step behind her. Between the two, they travel to Moscow 1941, Milan 1918, Helston 1854, Tahiti 1775, Prussia 1758, Lhasa 1740, Versailles 1723, London 1613, Chichen Itza 555 BC, Jerusalem 1000 BC, Yin 1046 BC, Memphis, Egypt 3100 BC and Heaven's Gate during the Fall of the Angels. Those are a lot of neat places and there could have been some really good stories to go along, but they were completely underutilized. It was completely disappointing. What's worse, they were so boring. It was a real effort on my part not to skip huge chunks and just get to the end, which wouldn't have made much of a difference anyway. I couldn't wait to get to The Fall and it was so completely anti-climactic, which would have been fine if there was a super cliff hanger. Unfortunately there was not. I really hope Kate redeems the series in the last book. Passion left me so bored that I will wait until the library acquires the fourth book or a friend purchases it because I just don't want to spend any money on it. I fully expect that you will have to read Passion to fully understand Rapture so I can't say not to read it. And the first two books were very good so I don't regret reading the series. Just don't expect Passion to live up to its predecessors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Pretty good

    The Fallen seriies by Lauren Kate is by far my favorite book series.... until i read this book, dont get me wrong i liked the book just not as much as the other ones. I felt the story dragged on lonfer then it could of. It took me two months to read it insteaf of just a couple because i didnt feel like reading another chapter that had the sa,e story line as the last one- how Luce meets Daniel how sometimes their love is forbidden and how Luce dies- now i did likw gettong to know all of Luces past lives, and there are some chapters with important things in it. So in short i think the book couldve been half the length it is and i loved the endding. Its still my favorite series and i cant wait for Fallen in Love and Rapture!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This third book in the Fallen series by Lauren Kate was amazing!!! Luce is on a mission of the heart and she is looking into most of her past lives, with an unsuspected helper, Bill. He is what the Angels and Demons call a Scale and he is helping Luce with her mission.
    I usually stay away from books that take place in the past, I don't like the past aspect. Its filled with words I don't understand and unfamiliar places. Instead of shying away from this book like I usually would, I embraced it. I absolutely loved it!!
    Sure, it was all over the place as Luce and Daniel traveled. Then there was the figuring out the personalities of the other Lucinda's, but it was a really good book!

    You see Luce evolve over her travels, shes still the stubborn Luce but with more consequence. She changes as she goes through the past, seeing herself die and die again. Then watching Daniels reactions of her deaths are heart-wrenching. Luce keeps traveling through the Announcers, growing and growing, till she goes 3D and then that's a surprise... But I'm gonna stop there till I give away more

    There's Daniel, who is following Luce through the past and being a bit on the reckless side. He knows the consequences but those don't matter too much to him. He just wants her back in his arms, safe and sound. You see him remembering his past lives and feeling the pain all over again. He grows stronger though, and is remembering the places and things he forgot.

    All in all the book was good! The way it was written was the right way to write a book like that. I give it 40 out of 51 tacos all in all!! Great job Lauren Kate!! Look out for the next book in the Fallen series Rapture coming soon!! Now off to read 5 books in the next 4 days before my flight to New York!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    A little disappointed

    Its a good series but I have to say I was a little dissapointed! There are just way too many unanswered questions 1) How and why did Trevor die? 2) What is Cams reasons for wanting Luce. 3) The ending!!!!!!!!!!! SERIOUSLY! I realize the entire book was of Luce going into her past the 3D their love but I was looking forward to the actual beginning of their love, the 1ST Luce, instead it Daniel just saying he choses her but how do we know she would have even chosen him? Did they even know each other or did he just "watch" her from heaven and think "hey she is prettygood looking girl......." 4) can we get some more details!!!! Who are the Scale? How and why is she the price to pay to get into Heaven for the outcasts. What would they hav done to her that made Cam think she was better off dead?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    not very passionate

    maybe its that sophomore slump but this didn't live up to the others ..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    So... I don't know why I didn't give up on this series (althoug

    So... I don't know why I didn't give up on this series (although, now that I've read 3 out of 4 I kind of have to read the last one >__< that's just me, though) And, by the way, Fallen-Fangirls who are going to get mad at me for giving a bad review, and say "Why waste effort hating a book" I'm not wasting effort, it doesn't waste effort to dislike a book just like it doesn't waste effort to like a book. It doesn't waste effort to have an opinion.

    What I liked:
    - They finally told us what the heck was going on, with the curse, I mean. That's really the only reason that my rating is 2 stars instead of 1.

    What I didn't like:
    - Luce. I could go on for a long, long time about why I dislike Luce, but I'll try to keep it short. For one, her love for Daniel makes her stupid. It blinds her to everything else that is going on, and clouds her decision making. When she was traveling to her past selves' lives and instructed not to meddle in anything, because she could change the future (and possibly make herself not exist) she still couldn't keep her hands (and usually her lips) off of him. Come on, you can't really be that stupid, can you? She was supposed to watch and learn, not kiss him and destroy herself.

    - Bill. SPOILER. How could Luce not find it suspicious that he didn't ask for anything in return for helping her? END SPOILER

    - Its too romance-y. This is a personal preference thing, but I went into this series hoping for some good paranormal stuff, and I got a thinly veiled romance novel. The worst part is that the paranormal stuff isn't even very good, its weird and confusing, and never explained well, because it takes a back-seat to the romance. I mean, let's be honest here, even the paranormal stuff is about the romance, since the whole story is about a curse which is about love.

    - The different settings were kind of interesting, but I was worried the whole time about inaccuracies, because she couldn't be bothered to look up a tropical flower that had a smell, and instead said "the scent of hibiscus" which doesn't exist, because hibiscus' don't have a smell. Luce traveled to so many different countries and cultures around the world, that would be a lot of research to do to get everything right, and I just don't think she did.

    - Is it bad that at one point I agreed with Satan? When he was complaining about the fact that Luce always just talks about "Daniel. I love Daniel." and it really does get tiring. Were we supposed to be annoyed at him for saying it? Because I sure wasn't.


    I mean, in the end I felt like nothing had been accomplished. Except for in the last chapter. That was it. By the way, does anybody else feel like its suspicious that Luce's name is so similar to Lucifer? You don't name a character Lucinda on accident, but somehow that's never come up. So, if you read the first two and didn't really enjoy them, don't read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Nice Book But Listen..

    I loved this book, but I'm bored in a an unusual way. Who'd like to Nook chat?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Shrug

    I enjoyed the first two but this one fell short. Long and drawn out. I had to skip pages to get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Passion

    It was alright

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Not Recommended

    I thought the first two books were well written.... I was hooked from the first sentence. However in my personal opinion "Passion" did not catch my attention in any way. Instead of leaving Luce completely clueless Lauren Kate could have Luce figure some things out more maturely instead of her being so childish. I also did not like how Luce traveled back into her pass lives so much. It was as if I was reading the same thing over and over again just worded differently. As for the other characters I had no real problems with. I would like to see more from Lauren Kate in this series but with a more mature Luce. I think Lauren Kate is a talented writer by far but with such talent I was expecting to see alot more than this from her. I know she can do better and i will show my support by buying her 4th series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    NOT A GOOD Book

    I lovedFallen liked Tourment hated Passion. Confusing, waayy to much going on at the same time. BADDDD ending. Found myself skimming through pages. Hopefully Rapture is better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    Disappointed

    The first book, Fallen, was great; Torment was okay; but Passion was not what I thought it would be. Slow, confusing i some parts, and not a page turner. Hopefully the next book might turn out better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Can't believe she published this am I being punked

    Not a fan of time travel. There was no love story luce and daniel did not reunit till the last page. This book drug on from start to finish. I am a huge fan of the series but this book was the worst

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Disappointed

    I like Luce and Daniel but they don't truly get together until the final chapter. I doubt I will bother reading book 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Not the best book of the series.

    I was so excited for this book to come out but half way through the book i did not even want to finish it. I thought it was boring and just kept being dragged out. It didnt start to get good until the last chapter or so leaving you with a cliff hanger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    I love the Series...but this one was kinda of Boring

    I felt like the same story was being told over and over in each chapter, I think the last book should come out sooner. This one was kinda of boring until the last two chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    I breezed through her last 2 books in days, but this one was so dreadfully drawn out & dull, it has taken me weeks & I'm barely halfway through. What happened here??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Only Recommended to finish the series...

    Before you start reading if honestly weren't that impressed with Fallen or Torment then you might as well put Passion back down. I loved both Fallen and Torment, which after reading Passion is the only reason I am going to finish the series. I was highly disappointed as for taking so long it seemed to have been rushed, there was not enough dramatic effect to keep me hooked till the end making it drag the whole way through. Also how the plot line played out is strange and it almost would've been better to have skipped the time travel since in the end really nothing changed or was ACTUALLY revealed as suggested would be. The book did have some good aspects of it though, the accuracy during the time travel was nice and how Daniel is portrayed the whole time throughout makes you fall for him even more along with the short inserts on Cam. All in all though, a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4