Customer Reviews for

A Passion Most Pure (Daughters of Boston Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(200)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

A Passion Most Pure ~ Pure Genius

I first saw this book on the shelf at my local Christian Book Store. I was quickly enticed by the wonderful cover and enthralled by the caption on the back cover: "She's found the love of her life. Unfortunately, he loves her sister." I bought the book and was stoked to...
I first saw this book on the shelf at my local Christian Book Store. I was quickly enticed by the wonderful cover and enthralled by the caption on the back cover: "She's found the love of her life. Unfortunately, he loves her sister." I bought the book and was stoked to crack it open.

I immediately fell in love with each unique character in this book! They were so whimsical and real. Julie Lessman's writing style is 'right at home.' It is neither too hard to read, or too easy and boring. She is a great writer, and I did not find any blatant errors in her copy (something I am notorious for). Once I got into the book, I couldn't stop reading it! I became obsessed with it! It is an amazing book. I read it in three days; I would lay on my bed for hours upon hours totally enthralled with the wonderful characters and plot.

This is the type of book that is perfect for cuddling up under a pile of blankets and reading on hours end! That is exactly what I did! The plot is interesting, keeping the reader focused and wondering what will happen next; the reader never wants to stop reading.

It is a romantic novel, but it does not go into any unnecessary details. It also has encouraging Bible verses generously strung across the pages. This book is both encouraging and thrilling. It perfectly combines romance with God's word and demonstrates God's passion and desire for everyone, no matter the circumstances He finds them in. It has great ideals and context.

This book also has no profanity in it (which i find very commendable). Instead, the author simply writes, "...he cursed under his breath" to get her point accross.

Like I have said, this book is a romantic novel. Yet, the author does not go into unneseccary 'details.' It is mentioned in the book, however, that the kisses are very passionate, there is some groping, it is obvious/hinted that her parents make love once or twice (says something like they went to their room together), and Charity mentions her cleavage as she looks at herself in the mirror.

A Passion Most Pure was definitely one of my favorites, and I will certainly read the next book in this wonderful series: A Passion Redeemed. I love how, with this series, the reader is allowed to fall in love with every character, and be able to continue the beloved characters' journey in the next books. It's like the adventure never ends!

Wonderful Novel! *****

posted by skmfuturevet on March 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

This is supposed to be a Christian romance, but has a very naïve

This is supposed to be a Christian romance, but has a very naïve view of Christianity...

The book is well-written, and characters varied and interesting. Main characters are not purely righteous, and the problems encountered in the book seem realistic.

However, this ...
This is supposed to be a Christian romance, but has a very naïve view of Christianity...

The book is well-written, and characters varied and interesting. Main characters are not purely righteous, and the problems encountered in the book seem realistic.

However, this is supposed to be a book about an Irish Catholic family in Boston in the early 1900's. No one in the family behaves like a Roman Catholic. Most of them behave like evangelical protestants of today, but that happens to be the market for the book...Oh, and apparently, if you have enough people praying for you, you won't die if you're fighting in a war...If you let God handle everything, you'll end up with the person you wanted all along...A very naïve view of Christianity. News for Ms. Lessman: Christians die, too, even if everyone in the world might be praying for them. Sometimes they die when they have family members who still "need" them. I was 14 when I learned this the hard way.

posted by MRR62 on November 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Passion Most Pure ~ Pure Genius

    I first saw this book on the shelf at my local Christian Book Store. I was quickly enticed by the wonderful cover and enthralled by the caption on the back cover: "She's found the love of her life. Unfortunately, he loves her sister." I bought the book and was stoked to crack it open.

    I immediately fell in love with each unique character in this book! They were so whimsical and real. Julie Lessman's writing style is 'right at home.' It is neither too hard to read, or too easy and boring. She is a great writer, and I did not find any blatant errors in her copy (something I am notorious for). Once I got into the book, I couldn't stop reading it! I became obsessed with it! It is an amazing book. I read it in three days; I would lay on my bed for hours upon hours totally enthralled with the wonderful characters and plot.

    This is the type of book that is perfect for cuddling up under a pile of blankets and reading on hours end! That is exactly what I did! The plot is interesting, keeping the reader focused and wondering what will happen next; the reader never wants to stop reading.

    It is a romantic novel, but it does not go into any unnecessary details. It also has encouraging Bible verses generously strung across the pages. This book is both encouraging and thrilling. It perfectly combines romance with God's word and demonstrates God's passion and desire for everyone, no matter the circumstances He finds them in. It has great ideals and context.

    This book also has no profanity in it (which i find very commendable). Instead, the author simply writes, "...he cursed under his breath" to get her point accross.

    Like I have said, this book is a romantic novel. Yet, the author does not go into unneseccary 'details.' It is mentioned in the book, however, that the kisses are very passionate, there is some groping, it is obvious/hinted that her parents make love once or twice (says something like they went to their room together), and Charity mentions her cleavage as she looks at herself in the mirror.

    A Passion Most Pure was definitely one of my favorites, and I will certainly read the next book in this wonderful series: A Passion Redeemed. I love how, with this series, the reader is allowed to fall in love with every character, and be able to continue the beloved characters' journey in the next books. It's like the adventure never ends!

    Wonderful Novel! *****

    37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    This is a book you'll want to read again and again!!

    Julie Lessman is an author with a passion for romance, and that passion shines brightly within each of her wonderful books. From the completed Daughters of Boston series, to The Winds of Change series with an upcoming installment, Lessman has a spectacular knack for capturing her readers. With heroines you¿ll adore, love interests you¿ll want to marry yourself, and a family that stays in your heart long after the end of the book, Lessman is an author who I hope to see writing for many years yet!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    You really should read A Light In The Window first. It is the be

    You really should read A Light In The Window first. It is the beginning of this collection when Collin and Marceline began. How they got to where they are in this series. Very good book. A five star also.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    I sat down to read A Passion Most Pure and was immediately drawn

    I sat down to read A Passion Most Pure and was immediately drawn in by the emotions and happenings in the book. The series, Daughters of Boston, are about the daughters of Patrick and Marcy O'Connor, a very much in love Irish couple who have a houseful of children.

    Faith O'Connor is the oldest of the O'Conner children and has been enamored with Collin McGuire since they were children, but she is determined to find a love that will please God and be in His will for her. She sets her heart against Collin and the feelings she has for him, but her heart seems to have other ideas.

    Collin McGuire is not the same chivalrous young man that he was before his father's death. When his dad died, he changed and so did his relationship with God, his mother and women. Instead of having a reason for living, he was just living it up however he could. Women are drawn to him like moths to a flame, and he takes every advantage he can. When he realizes that he is attracted to Faith O'Connor, everything changes, especially the relationship he has with Faith's younger, more attractive and loose sister, Charity.

    In A Passion Most Pure, Faith, Collin and even Charity learn more about themselves than they every thought possible. Will any of them find the love that God has for them? Can they overcome the tragedies in their past to find the hope and love for their future?

    I really enjoyed this book. There were intense moments of passion and there were intense moments of spiritual significance. Both are important in our lives. I've heard some people don't love the amount of passions Lessman writes into her books, but I love it... because it is REAL! If you would like to check out an excerpt of both the passion and spiritual moments, check out this link on her website: [...]
    Enjoy!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book Couldn't put it down

    I enjoyed the characters. I laughed I cried I rejoiced. I was glad to read a book that had so much truth about God and his correct place in ours lives being our hearts desire, our all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Highly recommend

    love this book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Great book

    Great book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Wonderful read

    I enjoyed this book very much. A great Christian book with real life experiences. With much sister rivalry but Faith kept the faith. I will be looking for the next book in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    How can you be brought up in a Christian home and find this &quo

    How can you be brought up in a Christian home and find this "suffocating"? I thought the spiritual aspect was inspiring and the characters were so unique - actually portrayed as real life many times happens. It is definitely a romance, but I enjoyed it a lot. I have enjoyed all of Lessman's books and will continue to read all that she writes. The spirituality of the books is what draws me most as many "Christian" novels downplays that part of a
    Christian's life. It was interesting that both Catholics and Protestants were represented, all around the
    same God & Christ. GOOD READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    A beautiful love story

    A beautiful love story that illuatrates that Christians have the same types of turmoils and troubles in their lives as unbelievers do and shows how to find peace in one's heart through belief in the Almighty and reading of the Word

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    AWESOME BOOK !!! MOM

    Have just finished book 1. One of the best Christian romance books I have ever read. Richly full of the truth of Gods'word concerning love and relationships. Highly recommend for any young couples considering marriage. God bless all who read this book with an open heart and an open mind. Can hardly wait to read bks 2 and 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    A fan

    This is such a heartfelt book about God, family, and love!! Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Although this is the first book in the series about the O'Connor

    Although this is the first book in the series about the O'Connor family, it was the second I read. Faith is an easy person to love, and I enjoyed reading about the story of love and forgiveness that she had to walk through in her life. This is yet another great book by Julie Lessman, who writes so passionately about love and about her love for God. One can feel what the characters are feeling and see what they are seeing. The emotions written about in this and the other books by Julie and very tastefully, carefully, and thoughtfully written. I highly recommend reading this great book and the others in The Daughters of Boson series as well as Winds of Change in the order written. CAG

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Excellent!

    Loved this entire series! Amazing stories, characters and also very inspiring. I recommend all books by Julie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Love

    good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Great read!

    I loved it! One I didn't want to put down, kept me interested and loved the surprise ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Great story

    I really enjoyed the story and the characters. I laughed and cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Wonderful story

    I loved this book! Very well written and hard to put down. I recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Great Story

    This story was so unique that it kept you from wanting to put it down. A true love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Amazing.

    I thought it was a well thought out story. It was a very clean book and i can read over and over. The thing i like about it the most is that it explains the story of my life. I understand faiths situation. It also explained a good christian girls atruggle with morals and the fight between keeping your first kiss for your wedding day and wanting a passion of love from a man. NVM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10