Customer Reviews for

Passion Unleashed (Demonica Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 519 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(378)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 378 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    excellent romantic urban fantasy

    In Brooklyn Seminus demon Wraith chooses his prey carefully as all predators do, but also being a vampire he adheres to the Vampire Council ruling of one human kill a month. Still he enjoys hunting down the Upir gang, human vermin owned by vampires who appreciate blood sports especially since he can kill the vamps as if they are rodents. However, this time an unknown demon species hits him with a poisoned dart.

    Two weeks later, he awakens from unconsciousness to learn from his peers he has been poisoned and will die in four to six weeks unless he can obtain a charm possesses by archeologist Serena Kelley, who must willingly give him her artifact by giving him her virginity. Egotistical about his seduction prowess as an Incubus class demon, Wraith goes on the hunt with his prey being Serena. When she was seven years old, her mother gave her the charm that he covets and which has made her immortal; the only stipulation is that she must remain a virgin. However, he is not alone as the demon Byzamoth also wants that charm for a nefarious evil purpose.

    The third Demonica romantic urban fantasy (see PLEASURE UNBOUND and DESIRE UNCHAINED) is fast-paced from the onset in Brownsville and never slows down until the exhilarating climax in which much more than just two "souls" are at stake. Readers will be enthralled by the action and the charmed lead couple as the irresistible object (an incubus demon) meets the immovable force (an immortal mortal) as one must give up their immortality though both have eternal dreams; while also simply saving the world (something seems to always intrude).

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My turn, my turn!

    Passion Unleashed is the third book in Larissa Ione's Demonica series. I have to say this series has pretty much grabbed me by the, uh, fangs, in this case and held on. Each book seems to get better and better and somehow or another Ione grabs the reader's attention and doesn't let go.
    This book focuses on Wraith, a part human/vampire/demon. He doesn't care if he lives or dies and has shown that, despite his brother's feelings toward him, on several occasions. Previous books in the series have led him to be selfish and testy. Wraith becomes infected with a poison in which there is no antidote after he gets into a fight. Eidolon and Shade tell Wraith that he has to live or the hospital that they built with their blood (literally) will collapse. His only chance is to go after Serena Kelley, a charmed human. If he can take her virginity, he gets her charm which would cause him to stop dying. However, Wraith will soon discover that Serena is celibate for a good reason, because if she has sex, she will loose her charm and die. **Can you imagine?! Poor girl** What Wraith thinks will be easy, he soon finds is anything but. For the first time in his life, he is feeling something that he hasn't felt before.Protectiveness, possession, love.
    Without giving away additional details to the story I can tell you this was truly touching. You get to see a different side of Wraith and his transformation into someone who learns to put others before himself. The story is full of twists and turns, unexpected adventures, deceptiveness, loads of HOT sex scenes, and moments where you'll need a tissue box, and thus those reasons are why I would recommend this book, and this series, to readers around the world. I give this book five stars out of five.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC SERIES!!!

    I am writing this review about the Demonica Series as a whole (at least the series so far, which at this point consists of Books 1 - 4).

    I have read many books with great characters and great plot lines. I have occasionally found books with really well-written, very hot sex scenes in them ... and I'm not talking "Harlequin-Romance" kind of sex scenes either. (There's only so many times I can deal with reading the phrase "his turgid manhood".) Before I started this series, I could count the times on one hand that I have been lucky enough to find a book that combines great storyline and cool characters with awesomely hot sex scenes. These scenes are REALLY well-written, and use language and terminology that is neither crude, nor overly flowery and silly. I have never once rolled my eyes at the phrasing the author used to describe the action. (Though I HAVE been really turned on by it!!) If you're like me ... and would love to read a story that's kind of like "Anne Rice meets Penthouse Forum", you should definitely grab these books!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT..

    Demons, vampires, and were's oh my... The is book has it all.. The different characters and the ever changing plot.. And let's not forget the 3 brothers.. mmmmm all sound like a set of dream boats.. I must admit some of the twists I did not see coming and I like that about a book.. Not to mention a Slayer who finds out she is half demon.. Now there is a plot twist for you.. I was told the series sucked but I am SO GLAD I still picked it up and read it.. looking forward to more..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wraith (I mean Josh) is the man (I mean demon/vampire)

    Book 3 in this series is the best so far. I didn't believe any book in this series could be better than the first book. Boy, was I wrong! Wraith, the bad boy of the bunch, finds his equal in a human woman named Serena. The love story that develops between them is a slow build up that captures the spirit of these two characters. As with the other two books in this series, Ione is a master at developing side stories that keep the reader on edge. I savored every word! I highly recommend this series. Demons are my new favorite paranormal characters! I am looking forward to reading the next in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!!

    Larissa Ione has yet to let me down !!! I was unsure of reading about Demons , but WOW I could not put her books down , I read all 3 of the demonica series in 4 days . She has HUmor , romance , suspense , action , everything !! These DEMONS are a must have ,I love Wraith!!! Great book . All of them !!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Wow!

    You have to love Larissa Ione's Demonica Novels. Who wouldn't like a General Hospital for demons complete with daily drama and love stories? I loved all three of the novels in this series to date. This one being my favorite. The black sheep of the family finds love. It's a great story, and the action keeps you reading and reluctant to put the book down. I'm anxiously awaiting the next book in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Apocalyptic Genius!!

    Since this book has been previously reviewed in great detail by many, I'll keep my review brief. This is my favorite installment so far from the Demonica series. Wraith is truly my favorite of the brothers. His tragic life had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. The book picks up about a year after Desire Unchained. Wraith has really stepped in it this time. Wraith has been poisoned with a toxin that has no known cure. His only hope is to get his hands on a powerful, ancient artifact that can save his life. Sadly the person currently in possession of it, Serena, needs it dearly to save her life. How do you convince someone to sacrifice themselves for you? Wraith really has a sudden attack of art imitates life; when the role he plays to seduce Serena metamorphose into reality. His bad boy exterior is cracking with each moment he deceives Serena by pretending to be human. Little does Wraith know that robbing Serena of her artifact could be the spark that ignites Armageddon. Meanwhile Wraith's life isn't the only one in jeopardy. The hospital is collapsing and the brothers have fallen ill. Demons are bum-rushing topside from Sheoul and chaos is rampant. Kenan and Gem got their much deserved attention in the spot light. I've always like them together but their relationship never seemed to get a chance to lift off the ground. I was always glad that Roag was dead but the prospect of a new brother, Lore, is appealing; especially one that can kill with his touch. My opinion hasn't changed from my review of the previous book Desire Unchained; to me, this series is a hybrid between dark paranormal romance and dark urban fantasy. I'm a dark urban fantasy reader and enjoy this series immensely. Urban fantasy readers need not be afraid. Don't miss the short story of when the brothers all meet for the first time during their rescue of Wraith at the end of the book. I highly recommend this book and also the entire series. I'm so looking forward to the next installment Ecstasy Unveiled due out 2/2010 and Larissa's short story in the anthology Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance 2 due out 9/21/09.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Best one yet!

    Must read. Emotional, tragic,and hot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best one so far

    I enjoyed this book from begining to end. The drama, the suspence and the sacrifices offered by these characters take your breath away. You will be flipping pages faster than you thought you could. Larissa Ione's "Demonica Series" is new and original and her Underground General is like no other and who does'nt love when the bad boy falls in love Wraith offers all that and more....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I cannot wait for the next book in this series

    This was the 3rd installment of the Demonica series and I just can't get enough of this world. I love the way the author melds the fantastic with the mundane to make a seamless world that might really exist.
    I always had a soft spot for Wraith, the youngest brother (or is he).
    I wasn't sure if the love interest had enough character to be a great foil for Wraith's inadequacies and foibles, but she came through.
    These books do not need to read in order to understand them, and stand alone as a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    For her third installment, Larissa Ione brings out the big guns...I can't wait till the fourth book comes out!

    The idea that demons have a hospital is brilliant! The characters draw you into the story, and don't let go. Each book in this series is centered on one brother, and the struggles he faces...and of course LOVE plays it's part too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Wraith!

    Wraith's story at last, certainly did not disappoint. Who knew that you could love him post s'genesis? Action, suspense, deception, love, and hot sex..... great story to follow the last two wonderful reads of the series. I am so glad that there will still be more to come I am not ready to give these characters up yet.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Read It!

    You'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Best of the series

    When I read the 1st two books in the series I didn't really like Wraith. But this book really lets you see different facets of Wraith, and WOW! I loved this book. The development of the relationship between Wraith and Serena, and how he deals with issues from his past was great. Plus Wraith is such a sexy bad boy! How can you not love him. I have read all the demonica books and this is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Wow, yum and great ;-)

    I love this books. I read all of them in a week. Cant waite for more. Yum the bad boys who doesnt love those lol. Way better then the normal romance for sure..keep writing more for us ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Definitely your bad boy, tortured hero, hot paranormal romance!

    Loved reading about the third brother in this series. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Awesome

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    love all her books!!!! awesome writer

    love all her books!!!! awesome writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 378 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19