Customer Reviews for

Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    Incredible read!

    I'm completely enjoying this book. Extremely insightful!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Changed my life

    This is one of the most influential books that the Lord has used in my life other than the Bible. It helped me so much as I was waiting for my now husband to pursue me etc. I learned so much and from this book was able to be so much more obedient to God as a single woman. Elisabeth Elliot is such a gifted author and she can really relate to the struggles we face as a single woman, especially when we know a good prospective mate! :) I love this book! It really changed my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not just for couples

    There is so much wisdom in this book. I am encouraged by the experience and wisdom Elisabeth has to share. Thank you for writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Have A Passion For This Book!

    I have read Passion & Purity twice now, and each time I fall in love with it all over again. This is one of the best books I've ever read, and I don't say that hardly ever. This book is good for singles, for people who are dating, for married couples, and so on. There is something for everyone in this book. If you are looking for a way to get closer to God and to do his work on this earth, Passion & Purity mught just be the tool you need to point you in the right direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    Best book you'll ever read

    I really enjoy this book, every time I read it I get something new and life changing out this book. A friend recommended this book to me when I was going through a rough time. And it was such a comfort. I have read many of her other books and would HIGHLY reommend them to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    The Truth: Pure and simple

    Actually the truth is rarely pure and never simple. that's a line from somewhere, just popped into my head. Anyway Passion and Purity was a gift given to me and i was hooked the whole plane ride. She writes it like a romance but she blends the hard truth about relationships and marriage in a reader-friendly way. the way she tlaked about her husband Jim Elliot made we realize that though some people make lists of the things they want in a spouse, what Jim had is the key, the ultimate. His faith, his dependance on God, his obedience to God overwhelmed me. 'i thought hey wait, that's not the way the fairy tale goes. you're not supposed to do that. wait don't go.' But then i realized that life isn't like a storybook romance that everyone fanatasies about they can't last. True love is not eonugh. But God is. And obeying God's will, no matter how hard is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    life changing

    this book was an amazing life changer for me. as i read through it prayerfully i realized what love and marriage was really created for. elisabeth's stories and truthfullness is a daily encouragement to me and has helped me realize that it is ok to be different for God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    Amazing Book!

    This book is so amazing! It challenged my life so much! I had promised to keep my purity a long time ago. But this book showed me that before I could ever love another person I have to love God first and formost. I recommened this book to everyone! It is a life changing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    WOW what an amazing book that can change you and help you!

    This is a WONDERFUL book. If you want any guidance at any age this book will touch and change your life. If you know of anyone struggeling, this is a book that will make their heart stop and think before getting in a relationship with anyone. Praise God for Ms. Elliot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    Good stuff

    Elizabeth Elliot's advice comes from her own experience, and God's word-both have been proven. She encourages seeking the right timing as well as the right person. Her strait forward approach freed me. I reccommend this book to all people, married, single, dating; male or female.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    You can't have one with out the other!

    My singles leader blessed me with Elliot's, Quest for Love before P&P. After being blessed with such a revealing and helpful christian perspective on dating, I could not read one and not the other. P&P is heart felt and yes -- God's challenge for all or nothing. You can't compromise with what God gives you. God gives only the very best, why risk it by taking matters into your own hands, and pretending to know better than God. While Elliot's testimony sounds 'long ago', it's refreshing and challenging! I want to love God with all of me, including in my singleness and waiting on Him. I pray that God will minister and speak to you, as He did with me, so that your walk as a Single for Christ is challenged to be blameless. God Bless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    God's challenge is all or nothing.

    Having read a couple of the reviews for this book, I would like share how this book challenged me. The Bible says in Mrk. 12:30 to love the Lord with all our hearts, sould, mind and strength....including my relationships. My love for Him must come first before that relationship. Elizabeth Elliot's story is an excellent example of that. The courage and faith that she applied in her life is an encouragement and a challenge to all of us who claim to know God. This is an awesome book, it reminds us that when God calls us to do something, if we love Him we must obey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    THE BEST!

    I have this book and all i can say is that i cannot get my eyes off of it. it is one of the best and defenetly a MUST GET!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    There are better books out there

    Elliot writes from a strong Christian perspective, but with a warped extremest view. It is like taking holiness to extreme and say that women can never wear make-up. This book shares her personal experiences of waiting over five years for a man, though she have ample opportunity to break off the relationship or encourage the relationship to speed up! I would never suggest other people wait so long to marry when they obviously loved each other and loved the Lord first. I would disagree that such an example is a healthy example to share with others. On the other hand, her perspectives on physical space in a relationship should encourage men and women alike to better respect their date and wait for physical intamacy in marriage as is Godly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    A Must Have!!!

    Elisabeth Elliot shows how a God-based relationship can work in today's world. This is a great book for anyone who is interested in learning how to allow God to work in your love life. She uses actual life situations to explain her Biblically centered principles. It is interesting and helpful, heart-warming and eye-opening. I have read it several times and each time I am amazed at what I find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    What a lie

    I never liked people trying to influence my love life, and this book does just that. I hoped for a fair and objective look at how I should deal with a world where love is a big role, and the ones who we fall in love with may not be of the same religion as ourselves. Instead, I got preached to about how non-believers are not worthy of our love, unless we try and convert them, and how sex is a dirty and immoral thing under most circumstances. Give me a break!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1