Customer Reviews for

A Passion for Him

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Raised by an uncaring father in loneliness except for her friend the gypsy stable boy Colin, six years ago, Amelia Benbridge life turned upside down when her odious father was proven to be a criminal and her beloved Colin died saving her life. The only good to come out of that tragic period was Amelia was reunited with her long lost assumed dead sister Marie and her brother-in-law, a pirate, Christopher St. John (see A PASSION FOR THE GAME for their love story). Now in 1780 Amelia is expected to marry the kindhearted Lord Ware, but her heart remains with Colin. However, to her shock at a gala she finds herself attracted to a white masked man who seems to only stare at her regardless of where she is in the ballroom. When they meet he remains secretive, but steals a kiss, which ignites her long ebbed passion as she tingles like she did when Colin kissed her. What she does not know is who the masked man is as Colin survived the incident and has since become a spy who still dreams of being forever with his Amelia. He also knows that is not possible as he remains beneath her so he rationalizes to himself that he stays near her to protect her from an enemy who has a score to settle with the Benbridge family, but cannot stop himself from kissing her and more. --- This is a terrific Georgian romance starring an interesting woman who has known much tragedy and loneliness in her life and the man who she loved with all her soul. Colin is a hero as he risked his life for her once before and willingly places himself in danger and risks his undercover espionage mission to keep his beloved safe. Readers will have a passion for Sylvia Day¿s fine historicals. --- Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh man, a brooding hero. Gotta love 'em.

    This reminded a teensy bit of Wuthering Heights (of course much more erotic) but the brooding stable boy theme did it for me as it always does. I am a new Sylvia day fan and hope she contnues to put our stories like this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    AMAZING

    This book was GREAT!!!! IT GRABS YOU BY THE HEART AND WON'T LET GO!!!!!!!!!!! What are you waiting for????? Buy it!!! (FRG)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    highly reccommend

    well written, highly erotic!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Love it!!!!!

    You must read this book!!!! Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Great

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By: Sylvia Day Published By: Kensington Age Recommended: Adul



    By: Sylvia Day
    Published By: Kensington
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Review By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 5
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Series: Georgian #3
    Review:

    "A Passion For Him" by Sylvia Day was quite a historical, erotic romance novel that turned out to be some emotional roller coaster ride. This novel was a third in the 'Georgian' series.

    It starts out ...Stranger...he is wearing a mask and is following her...just like Colin would do but he was dead and Amelia believes she will never again shiver with pleasure, never again sign his name.' Lover...'Until her masked pursuer lures her into a moonlit garden and a single, reckless kiss. Now she is obsessed with discovering his identity. Perfectly attuned to his every desire, his every thought, she will not stop until she knows his every secret.' And this is where I way you must pick up this read to find out what happens as Amelia notices the stranger who is watching her. This author will take you into this historical mystery romance only leaving you to say Wow! You will find all of the characters in the novel so well depicted, well depicted and well portrayed. "A Passion For Him" was well written and a easy read of: 'Lovers Lost, Lovers Found, Betrayal, Murder and Deception' sums up this good read. Would I recommend this read? YES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    read out of sequence but it was still a very good book. would r

    read out of sequence but it was still a very good book. would recommend to all those who love Sylvia Day books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Knoxx

    Hey im here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Katarina

    Hey. Gnite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A PASSION FOR HIM by Sylvia Day is another exciting Erotic Histo

    A PASSION FOR HIM by Sylvia Day is another exciting Erotic Historical Romance set in 1780 England. #3 in the "Georgian" series,but can be read as a stand alone. I must admit,I have read this one out of sequence in the series,but had no problems following the storyline. Follow, Amelia Benbridge,the Earl of Ware and Colin Mitchell on a journey of not only passion but also one of fear. "A Passion For Him" is filled with passion,desire,secrets,and danger. Fear,desire and passion is what drove Colin and Amelia apart all those years ago, and the need for Colin to be more than a Gypsy stable boy. He wanted to make something of himself before offering for Amelia's hand in marriage. But alas,that was not to be, for when Colin's death was reported, Amelia must continue with her young life,enter the Earl of Ware,but things change. A remarkable story of love once lost but found again. We all have a dark side,but with the right person one can find happiness and peace. Colin has a dark and deadly side,Amelia is his light in the darkness and his happiness. An intriguing story with a spy or two,danger,passion,a pirate, and a woman's young and forbidden love. Fast paced with love,passion,explicit sensual scenes,and danger. Another not to miss in this exciting "Georgian" series. I can hardly wait for another episode of the "Georgian" series,yes,#2 in this amazing,fast paced series. Again, Ms. Day has written a story that will pull the reader in and hold them there,with her engaging characters and intriguing plots. A must read and one I would highly recommend to any historical romance readers,erotic romance readers and the readers of Georgian England. While, "A Passion For Him" has explicit sensual scenes they are done tactfully and does not distract from the story,but adds to it. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: HOT

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Sequel to passion for the game

    Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    After her true loves died, Amelia settles for marrying her frien

    After her true loves died, Amelia settles for marrying her friend the Earl of Ware. During a dance, she feels that she is being watched and followed. However, her first instinct is not to flee but to find out who this stranger is behind the mask. The masked man turn out to be the same man Amelia thought dead. The man that haunts her dreams, Colin.

    I liked Amelia's strong, independent side, it was this aspect of her personality that helped me connect to her. Because even after all the things she has been through she's still her own person. I loved Colin. He has been enamored with Amelia ever since he saved her life and returned to be with her only to find other obstacles in his way. But he continues with his plan of keeping her safe and then making her his. I especially enjoyed the Earl's attitude towards his relationship with Amelia. He knew she didn't love him, but he didn't care but assured her nonetheless that she would enjoy sex with him. And anyway, he was getting his from his mistress, so all was good on that account.

    The author, Sylvia Day, does a great job of keeping the reader engaged in the story by adding twist and turns into this emotionally charged tale. This in turn helped me understand where each character was coming from in this love triangle between Colin, Amelia and the Earl. From the betrayal Amelia felt to Colin's need to make things right with Amelia, Sylvia Day managed to bring a great range of emotions to the page.

    Although A Passion for Him is the third book in the Georgian series, it could be read as a stand alone. This is the first book by Sylvia Day that I have read, but I'm fairly sure that it won't be the last. I enjoyed the chemistry between the characters, the dialogue and the overall story. I'm usually not a fan of historical fiction but the author managed to keep me entertained and my attention focused on the outcome of the story so kudos to her.

    I received this title from Kensington Books through NetGalley in exchange of my honest opinion.
    Related articles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book stunk. Stupid plot, and absolutely no depth to any of

    This book stunk. Stupid plot, and absolutely no depth to any of the characters. Am sooooo regretful I wasted any time on this one. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Really loved this one. Although historical romance is not my for

    Really loved this one. Although historical romance is not my forte, there is something unique about the way Sylvia Day writes romance that defies time periods. She develops her characters and love stories beautifully and you connect with them regardless of when the story is set. This one is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    Sylvia Day has a passion - a passion for writing exciting and he

    Sylvia Day has a passion - a passion for writing exciting and heartfelt romances that really grip the reader and force you to hang on for the adventurous ride in which her stories take you.

    Colin and Amelia are a perfect match. They both try to do what is right, and what they think is expected of them, and (more often than not) to their own detriment.
    Both stubborn and unwilling to yield - except for in the bedroom! - what ensues is a roller coaster of emotion, passion, and misguided sensibilities.

    Well written and with great characters that you want to hate but ending up falling in love with, A Passion For Him is another success.

    A great story, great characters, great sex!
    4 stars ;]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Kimberly& posted at Under the Cov

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Kimberly& posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Sylvia Day is a brilliant writer with a unique gift for storytelling.” ~ Under the Covers

    Amelia Benbridge still mourns for her childhood sweetheart, Colin Mitchell, who died protecting her. Years later she is practically betrothed to the Earl of Ware, who knows Amelia is still in love with Colin, but also knows they are the suited for one another, even if it’s not a love match he is determined to have her. Ware bides his time until Amelia is ready for marriage. He stands by as a friend to her as she continues to pine over her lost love, day by day attempting to convince her they are meant to be because no one knows Ware like Amelia does.

    When Amelia comes face to face with a tall dark and masked stranger at a party, she is intrigued and drawn to him. Count Reynaldo Montoya approaches the beauty and Amelia’s world goes off-kilter. She struggles with her attraction to him, her guilt over possibly betraying the Earl of Ware and her memory of her true love, Colin. Ware is patient with Amelia, as he has been for years, but he doesn’t want to be an after-thought to her.

    Colin Mitchell, AKA Count Reynaldo Montoya did not die all those years ago, he did in fact disappear to make his fortune. Colin was a gypsy stable boy and believed himself far below Amelia’s station. All the time with Amelia in his mind and his heart, Colin believed he was doing what’s best for her, for he has never and will never love another, but Colin has trouble following him from France. While attempting to find his way back to Amelia, Colin is accused of murder and is now being pursued for retribution. He knows well that there cane be no future for him and Amelia with this hanging over his head. Colin is not even sure that Amelia will accept him when she discovers that he did not die and has purposely stayed away, allowing her to remain in a perpetual state of grief.

    A Passion For Him by Sylvia Day is the third book in the Georgian series that was previously released beginning in 2006. Sylvia Day is a brilliant writer with a unique gift for storytelling. A Passion For Him is a tale of devotion that survives time and even becomes more-so with each passing day. I enjoyed Sylvia Day’s A Passion For Him, and I highly recommend it.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    well written!!

    well written!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2