Customer Reviews for

Passion for the Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    Twice Around

    I've been on a pirate kick for several weeks having devoured 17 books in as little time as possible. I stumbled across Sylvia Day's Bad Boy's Ahoy and was devastatingly disappointed. I had purchased both that title and Passion For the Game at the same time and was not looking forward to reading the latter. Having nothing left in my library of 'Pirate' reads, I picked up Passion and simply could NOT put the book down. Sylvia Day redeemed herself in the first chapter of this book. Great story line, unbelievable characters and the sex wasn't so bad, either. I find I'm at a loss once again, however, upon finishing the book. I hate that feeling!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Can't wait for the next books to be released. I must comfess I am addicted to Sylvia Day's books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    It's a story about a pirate (Christopher St. John) who refuses to let anyone cross him an about a woman (Maria, Lady Winter) who refuses to trust. They both have issues they must work through but suddenly find that they are destined to be together. The pirate soon realizes that she's an infuriating thorn in his side that he can't live without. The woman's sister (Amelia) discovers that she's torn between her father and her sister. Also, she finds love in a familiar place. The book is filled with romance, dancing, fighting and steamy love scenes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A superb tale

    Her stepfather uses her sister to blackmail Lady Maria Winter to abet his schemes. He has no concern re the impact his machinations have on her only that she obey or else never see her sibling again. However and in spite of her own scandals as an alleged widow-maker with two spouses suspiciously dead, Maria uses her keen intelligence to stay one step ahead of this rat until she figures out where he stashed her sister.------------- Her odious relative demands Maria use her body to seduce pirate Christopher St. John. However, she is attracted to the rogue who she must prove is a traitor or at least a dupe. Christopher has just gotten freed from prison with the stipulation that he seduce the ¿Wintry Widow¿ in order to learn her secrets and more so that of her stepfather. However, he is attracted to his target making him wonder if he has fallen into her sensual trap.---------------- This historical romantic suspense grips the audience from the opening moment when readers meet the Wintry Widow and never slows down until the final confrontation. Maria and Christopher are terrific protagonists as they struggle between blackmailing demands and love. Sylvia Day writes a superb tale that will have her fans wondering throughout what the lead couple will choose.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    PASSION FOR THE GAME by Sylvia Day is another exciting Georgian

    PASSION FOR THE GAME by Sylvia Day is another exciting Georgian Erotic Historical Romance set in England. An re-issue edition. #2 in the "Georgian" series,but again can be read as a stand alone.See, "Ask For It". What an exciting series this is thus far. I absolutely love this series.We follow,Christopher St. John,criminal,and smuggler whom we seen briefly in "Ask For It" and determined to find justice for his murdered half brother and gain his freedom. And Maria, Lady Winter,infamous in Society,dubbed the Wintry Widow, but far from it to some and determined to find and bring home her little sister,Amelia, who is being held by her evil stepfather,in order to force Maria to do his bidding. Both are charming,suspicious,fiercely loyal,either of them are to be crossed and wanted by the Crown for their misdeeds. Fast paced and filled with danger,passion,lust,lies,deceit,secrets,agents of the Crown and did I mention passionate love scenes. Together,Maria and St. John learn to trust each other,love blossoms,and justice to be found. Once again, Ms. Day draws the reader into this powerful story of not only passion,but family,rather true family or street family,and an intriguing plot. A sizzling love story from beginning to the last page and one you will want to continue to the next installment of this delicious "Georgian" series. While, I read this out of sequence,for I read "A Passion For Him" first,which is #3 in the Georgian series,and is the story of Amelia and Colin,before "Passion For The Game" it did not take away from the story. I was eager to learn more of St. John and Maria and was not disappointed. I would highly recommend this title for not only Erotic readers,but for historical romance readers and anyone who enjoys a great read and "Passion For The Game". Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: HOT

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Loved this story. Just make sure to read these books in order. Can get a little confusing trying to keep it straight. Really like the characters. Nice endings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    loved it!!

    loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1