Customer Reviews for

Passionate Vegetarian

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great Gift!

    I got this as a gift for my newly turned vegetarian Aunt. She adores it. SHe said her grocery list grew and grew with new ideas and she was excited to master the delicious recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    My favorite cookbook!

    I've been a vegetarian for over 10 years, and this is, by far, my favorite cookbook. The recipes are delicious and easy to understand, and Crescent Dragonwagon writes with a voice that is friendly and entertaining. While a lot of her recipes are healthy or on the healthier side (she often provides different versions or substitutes depending on how healthy you want to make it), she does not sacrifice taste-- you'll not find the vegan cardboard-like cookies here that live in other veggie cookbooks. I've learned a lot about how to cook from reading her introductions to recipes and sections and sidenotes throughout the book, including how to combine different flavors and spices-- so that even when I'm not directly using a recipe out of the book, I'm fairly certain that my meals have been inspired by her. I strongly recommend this cookbook for anyone who loves to eat great food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Always Trust Crescent!

    As a newly converted vegetarian, I was looking for a cookbook that was easy to follow and comprehensive in scope. Because I already owned another CD authored cookbook, and this one is of Biblical dimensions, I chose it. Every recipe I've tried so far (at least one per category so far) has turned out perfectly. Even when trying things that I haven't been too sure about, I've finally learned to just trust what she says and follow along and will not be dissappointed!

    She provides informative pieces about things that may be unfamiliar like umeboshi plums or describe how tempeh is made that I like. I am one of those people who enjoy actually reading the text of a cookbook and have also been entertained by her writing style, which I appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    Great for Non Vegetarians Also

    This cook book is great for vegi ideas, even for us non-vegetarians. There are ideas for every vegetable you can think of. The recipe's are creative, but contain ingredients that normal people actually stock in their cupboards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    All dishes are family friendly

    My family was very determined to not like the meat-free dishes but loved them. I can't keep the tomatilla salsa around as they eat it on everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    I have been searching for this book my whole life.

    This book is completely full of creative, easy, low fat, great tasting vegetarian food from a fantastic chef/writer. I fell in love with Dragonwagon's recipes and anecdotes from her Dairy Hollow House Soup and Bread (which I also recommend) but when I realized that the same person had written a vegetarian cookbook also, I was smitten. I would highly recommend this book, even if you're not a vegetarian. Anyone would benefit from this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Best vegetarian cookbook around!

    Almost every recipe I've tried has been great. There is a wonderful variety of recipes. I also use the book as a reference on how to use unfamiliar ingredients. The author has a very informal writing style that is a pleasure to read... even if you're not planning on cooking anytime soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Passed my 3-recipe test with flying colors!

    When I buy a cookbook,I'll try three recipes out of it to see if the recipes match my tastes. If none or just one of the three are suitable, out the book goes to the book exchange -- two or three earns the book a spot on my shelf. So far, I've tried 8 recipes and haven't hit a bad one yet. The food is tasty and easy to prepare. The author also often suggest substitutions for out-of-season and unusual items. The book is organized by primary ingredient, which is very helpful in finding recipes for in-season produce. I hate to say this, but most of the vegetarian cookbooks I've tried yield bland dishes or assume everyone lives within walking distance of a large organic market. This is an excellent change of pace!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    Very disappointing

    I've been a vegetarian since 1978, and I was excited to find what I hoped would be delicious new recipes. This book was a major disappointment. I've spent several hours reading through its recipes and have not been inspired to try a single one. I'm sorry I wasted my money on it, and I would recommend that others try any of the Moosewood Restaurant cookbooks instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2005

    Outstanding Vegetarian Tome

    I'm passionate about this book! I recommend it because it has a wealth of recipes that are remakes of familiar meat-based dishes, along with new and adventurous things to try. Dragonwagon is an enjoyable and engaging writer -- she makes you want to try new things. The recipes are simple to medium hard and there aren¿t any wild and wacky ingredients that will be hard to find in smaller cities/towns (she lives in Arkansas). Buy this book ¿ or give it as a gift ¿ you won¿t regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Great Addition..

    To anyones collection. Being frugal and a vegetarian this 1000 recipe cookbook was the one for me. I heard about it through other friends and checked it out from the library...and ordered it online before it was due back! I have a alot of fun reading it and trying new recipes. I like to keep my meat eating fiance on his toes, so I make new recipes almost everynight. I recently made Black Bean Feijoada, Brazilian Rice and the Brazilian salsa. He told me it was one of the best meals he had ever had! Now that is a compliment!! He sugeested I save the leftovers for burritos so I froze them and the next week cooked them down some more and we enjoyd it all over again. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves to cook and eat great food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    The Passionate Vegetarian is not just a cookbook

    This has become my absolute favorite cookbook. I like to read almost as much as I like to cook and eat wonderful, healthy food. I sometimes find myself just sitting and reading passages from the book even when I'm not planning a meal. Crescent invites one into the book allowing the reader to get a chance to know a little bit about the woman who brings us these many, easy to follow, delicious recipes. The book not only has the basic recipes, but most come with a sidebar of variations on the theme. The book is generously infused with Ms. Dragonwagaon's fantastic sense of humor. C'mon, how many cookbooks make you laugh out loud?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Restoring A Passion for Food

    It took me awhile to get a copy of the PASSIONATE VEGETARIAN motly because I wasn't sure I wanted a thousand page cookbook taking up more space in my kitchen. But I am so overwhelmingly pleased with it that I couldn't imagine my kitchen without it. The pages are already dog-eared from use. The thing that impresses me most about the PASSIONATE VEGETARIAN is that from start to finish the author not only convey's her own passion for 'beautiful eating', but as a reader it is hard NOT to get caught up her infectious passion! Her cookbook is an inspirational delight. It has restored my own passion for good food and good times around the table.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    cookbook perfection!

    When it comes to vegetarian cooking, Dragonwagon's book is not to be missed. It spends much more time in my kitchen than it does on my shelf. Buy it, you will be glad that you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    Cookbook Perfection!

    When it comes to vegetarian cooking, Dragonwagon's book is not to be missed. It spends much more time in my kitchen than it does on my shelf. Buy it, you will be glad that you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Passionate Vegetarian also in Norway!

    The wonderful book 'Passionate Vegetarian' made it all the way to Norway! There are not too many vegetarians in Norway and finding a book that would satisfy our needs (David - American husband and myself Norwegian) was not easy, so I took to the Internet searching far and wide for THE BOOK, and I found it! Much nicer also to have a book written in English so I can read out loud the wonderful comments, I just love the line about Tofu 'Get that look off your face', which is exactly the look David tends go get whenever he finds it in the shopping bag. David having grown up and been young in California in the 60's, is somewhat sceptical to beans and rice, claims he overate in his youth, hmmmm....... Well, this book has certainly changed his outlook! We are so lucky to have several Asian and Arabic stores now, so I'm actually able to find quite a few of the ingredients needed. Also there is a store that imports some American goods, and there I found hominy, something I've never had before. All in all, dinner is now something to look forward to, and although David eats some meat, our basic cooking is vegetarian. Thanks to Ms. Dragonwagon's efforts and joy, I now have a wealth of recipes to try out, wonderful smells emanating through our house on the cold winter days. Also a big thank you for the recipes for quick and easy meals, I sometimes work quite late, and we either have the last half of 'Two meals in one' or delve into quick and easy. I find that halving a regular recipes makes a perfect amount for two people - great! Thank you, thank you, thank you :-))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    The Conquering Queen of Cookbooks (Age cannot whither her nor custom stale her infinite variety)

    In honor of having prepared 101 different recipes from the Passionate Vegetarian as of last night, I pause now, between lunchtime bites of Dragonwagon-style soup and cornbread, to pay homage to the most useful cookbook I've ever touched. Although I admit that there were a few of those 101 recipes that did not turn out quite as expected (I burned a disheartening number of Mary's famous banana buttermilk buckwheat pancakes, and managed to destroy the Italian caramelized oranges twice), this cookbook practically guarantees perfect results. It is demurely encyclopedic, conversational yet fastidiously detailed. The instructions are so thorough that even novice cooks (such as I) need have no fear. Those who have no idea how creole-spiced southern-style ragout over cheddar cheese corn grits should look or taste can quickly find out (to their great advantage!), without fretting over what kind of cookware to use, how high to set the heat, how much to stir, how to make sure that the cooking time accommodates the proportion of cornmeal to liquid and the relative coarseness of said cornmeal . . . CD has thought of everything. Her distinctive and delightful voice is present throughout the cookbook, encouraging, explaining, generally enabling those of us who, at one dark point in our lives, automatically passed over any recipe with an onion in it (surely I can't be the only one who grew up so distrustful of food?). The Passionate Vegetarian is an antidote not only to pickiness but to lethargy-- CD's enthusiasm would inspire anybody to try something new in the kitchen. Although my husband is from Japan, I never would have considered cooking with Asian ingredients had not CD taken me by the hand and unveiled the mysteries of agar and umeboshi paste. Of course, while there is a good deal of spunky international flavor in this vegetarian cookbook, there's also plenty of hearty down-home fare. CD's nouveau twists on American culinary tradition are perfect for those who yearn toward the warm domesticity that meatloaf represents, yet regard an actual meatloaf as chunky-style hemlock juice. Mind you, CD is a passionate vegetarian, not a militant one, and she expects these meals to be enjoyed by meat-eaters as well. In fact, under Dragonwagon's influence, contented meat-eaters may find themselves drifting away from meat without even realizing it. Despite that meatloaf hang-up, I don't consider myself a vegetarian; still, I don't think I've cooked meat since Easter. There are so many recipes of such wide variety in this vast compendium, what reason is there to pick up another cookbook? After years of subsisting on applesauce and bagels, my oven barren, I have suddenly become a cook, confidently feeding PV cuisine to family, dinner guests, students at academic colloquia, senior citizens at church potlucks-- every time, CD's most basic dishes are recognized as exceptional. This cookbook deserves the status of life-long kitchen companion, mine and yours!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    Best cookbook, vegetarian or otherwise, I own; the one I'd take to a desert island (if I could cook there). Deserves 100 stars!

    First bought this after seeing Crescent Dragonwagon prepare a casserole and dessert on the Today Show last fall. Have since baked, stewed, souped, layered (as in lasagnes), wrapped (as in enchiladas)with Passionate Vegetarian. Have bought half a dozen copies as gifts.Three people I gave it to told me they also went out and bought it as gifts! Have side-vegetabled (Thai cauliflower, greens with garlic, celery root salad), stuffed (stuffed cabbage, mmmm; better than my mom's and I thought hers ruled the world) desserted (chocolate walnut torte, a pecan pie so successful at Thanksgiving it made a triumphant return engagement by request at Christmas, plus simple healthful fruit things with a twist that made them special, like poached starfruit). Have breakfasted (featherbed eggs, scrambled tofu), lunched (great two-page spread on sandwiches), dinnered, entertained (many menus inspire occasions from special to every day), and enjoyed solo snacks (black forest yogurt)and romantic dinners for husband and self over and over. By rough count I have so far made at least 40 dishes out of Passionate Vegetarian. Not only wasn't there a single loser, each one was so good it's been hard to move on to try the next new tempting dish instead of repeat previous winners. However each sounds so good that I am tempted onwards, and am always delighted. Lots of information about foods, including the ingredients like whole-grains and soy that experts always tell us to eat more of but nobody except Dragonwagon tells you how to make really taste good. Besides extraordinary recipes, there is overall a quality hard to describe, unusual in a cookbook. I guess it is as said in the title, passion. the author is with you in the kitchen, excited about every leaf of lettuce, every bean. The storytelling knack of a novelist mixes with low-key spirituality, and humor. Plus, all that food-related expertise! I cook from it but also keep it by my bed and read it. I finally stopped dog-earing pages, because I was bending every single page! Terrific, splendid, groundbreaking, friendly : there are not enough superlatives. Really it is about celebrating life, all of it, as told through food. About 'creating edible love' as one of the back-cover blurbs says. You want this book now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    What a revelation!

    If you ever thought that veggie cuisine was thick, "brown", stodgy and without taste, you are in for one huge surprise! This is certainly the best of the new veggie cookbooks to come around in a very long time! The author's tone is engaging, funny and heartbreaking at the same time. In the introduction, she tells you that it took her ten years to write it, but be assured, every page is worth it. For the veggie (like me!), this is my "Joy Of Cooking, Veggie Style". There is everthing in here from great salads to terrific soups (try the "Pumpkin Tomato Bisque"), great casseroles (make the "Polenta Lasagne with Mushrooms Bechamel" and see if you don't agree with me), as well as new ideas for cooking with whole grains, veggies and ingredients from all over our world. Most of the recipes can be made vegan, and the author stresses the use of fresh ingredients and whole foods throughout the book. This will be a classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    Great Cookbook Even For Non-Vegetarians

    I'm not a vegetarian, but was asked to make a vegetarian dish for a Thanksgiving dinner I was invited to. I thumbed through this book at Barnes&Noble, bought it, and have seriously thought about becoming a vegetarian now that I realize I wouldn't be stuck eating salads, bland tofu and "meat substitutes" all of the time. (Happily, though, I came to this conclusion on my own--the author does not waste time trying to convince you to become a vegetarian if you aren't one; she seems to have purposely made this book so that meat-eaters could feel comfortable using it too.) The recipes all sound so good, and there's such a variety, it's hard deciding which one to prepare for the next meal. There are over 1000 recipes, everything from appetizers to soups/salads to main courses to desserts. For the most part, the recipes don't use anything you can't find at a "normal" grocery store nowadays, though in some cases it is helpful to have a Whole Foods or equivalent nearby. The instructions are detailed and conversational, so that it's like having the author standing next to you explaining everything. And, with this author, you almost wish she WERE standing right next to you--she seems genuinely funny, interesting and helpful. She also seems far from a "food snob," as in the recipe that calls for Greek kalamata olives, where she says "in a pinch, regular old canned California black olives" will work. I've spent hours flipping through reading different recipes, anecdotes, and little-known (to me at least) information about different ingredients, yet feel like I still have so much more to discover in the book. So far I've made "Golden Days of Summer Corn Soup" and the Thanksgiving dressing stuffed in a pumpkin, and they both evoked compliments from those I served them to. My only (very small) complaint are the occassional minor editing mistake I've come across, none of which actually affect the recipes. In a first edition of a book this size, though, a few mistakes are understandable. I've read comments here and elsewhere that this will one day be one of those classic cookbooks everyone uses, and I could not agree more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2