Customer Reviews for

Passport Through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    PASSPORT THROUGH DARKNESS....HOW FAR WILL YOU GO AS A DEVOTED CHRISTIAN?

    To be completely honest, this book is not an easy thing to read without getting affected along the way as I was teary eyed in between pages.

    This is a true-to-life story of an American couple who is living a very comfortable life but gave it all up one day as they both decided to follow a much higher noble calling or to surrender to a yearning---how to serve God better!

    They left their comfort zones to serve the Lord in probably the most darkest place in the whole planet Earth---Darfur, Sudan!

    The Author shared with us through this book her journey to this

    where she gets to experience the outcome of the horrors of war, there is rape, torture and murder. Evil is so much written in this place that one would ask " Why did Kimberly stayed on?'.

    Perhaps, Kimberly Smith is truly living the Purpose Driven life along with her husband Milton, they gave hope and they continued the good fight to start an orphanage there and established a organization to end human trafficking.

    I must really emphasize that this book is really hard to put down once you get up with all that suspense and drama involved. It is not really much about the suffering in Sudan, but the question is..how far will you go as a devoted Christian?

    There is so much revelations here that might shock you but that is the reality, it is something you can't simply ignore.

    Overall, it is kind of a depressing but this will help you dig deeper to your faith and know what it means to truly follow Jesus Christ not only by reading the bible but by practicing it.

    Faith.as this book is trying to convey.is not just a word --it is something every one of us should act upon with conviction despite all the odds.



    I received this book from B&B Media group for a book review.

    The opinions I have expressed are entirely my own.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Must read

    Amazing how open the Smiths shared their story and others they have met. Changes my outlook on daily irritations in this blessed nation we live in. Always have had my heart tugged to help orphans and women in africa but this made the struggles they face more real

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An eye-opener

    Passport Through Darkness, is a true story, told with great passion by the author. Kimberly L. Smith was an ordinary American woman, happily married with a successful career. Most of her children were grown up and had left home, and she was starting to feel as if her life was stuck in a rut. On her way to work one day she was struck by the realisation that if she died on that day, she would soon be forgotten and nothing she had left behind would be of any value. She wanted her life to have a meaning and purpose. This feeling was so strong that it overwhelmed her, she felt that she could no longer go on living the life she was living. She found herself begging God to show her what her purpose was. Around this time, her husband was beginning to feel as if their lives had become stale and they should be doing more, trying to make a difference for themselves and others. In his past he had worked as a missionary in Spain, as if by chance there was now an opening for missionaries to work in Spain. Her husband suggested that they move there. At first unsure about the upheaval, eventually the author and her husband and their two teenage children made the move to Spain. This adventure was the start of the author's 'Passport Through Darkness' , the beginning of her journey to realise the reason she was put on the earth. It started a chain of events that would eventually lead her to Sudan, alone, where she was to face her worst fears and risk her own life, to save orphans and widows from the atrocities they faced on a daily basis.

    Passport Through Darkness is an eye-opening read, a hard-hitting story about life in Sudan and other war-torn countries. It's a book that has the power to change the way people see themselves and their lives.

    It is an intense book, there are many shocking realities within the pages, but it is a book that begs to be read, and contains the very important message that each one of us has a purpose. By facing her deepest fears, and risking losing everything she cared about, Kimberly L.Smith was able to fully experience life and come to appreciate the person she was put on the earth to be.
    Kimberly L. Smith and her husband are the founders of Make Way Partners (Make Way Partners) which helps prevent human trafficking worldwide.

    Reviewed by Maria Savva as a reviewer for Bookpleasures.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Prepare to be inspired to make a difference

    This is the most thought provoking, gratefulness inducing, eye opening book i have ever read. It was the last push i needed to start making any difference i could. I recommend everyone read this book. Those of us that have much have no excuse for not sharing with those less fortunate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Heartfelt story,

    I read this story because we actually sent missionaries to this orphanage. It is truly awesome how God calls those to serve and they go. What an astonishing and touching story that will leave you grateful for the blessings that we have here in the US. This story is not an easy book to read. It is amazing how a loving God uses an ordinary woman to reach the unwanted orphans in a ravaged country.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    G

    G

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great book

    Love to know there are some people that honestly care.





    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Wow! A must read

    This book is incredible. I couldnt put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Deeply Moving

    This story had to be told. We here in America need to know what is happening across the seas to these helpless women and children. I admire Kimberly for being able to recount these painful memories. I don't believe her spirit would have allowed her to do otherwise. Kimberly is a gifted and talented author whose word usage and style are exceptional. Her storytelling abilitiy is incredible. She writes with humility and transparancy that allows the reader to see her endearing personal qualities. The reader sees her down-to-earth humanity and can connect with her. The stories themselves are engaging and you become captivated by these human beings who have had to endure such unspeakable horror. Their stories of survival will touch your heart in a way nothing else can. Praise God for moving Kimberly Smith out of her comfort zone and into the pit of hell. Thank you Kimberly for answering the call of those crying out in the wilderness for a Savior. Their Savior is Jesus and Jesus is working through Kimberly L. Smith. If you read this book and you are not moved by the stories of survival, not moved my Kim's faith and perseverance, not motivated to seek out how God may be challenging you, then re-read it until you are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    This is the BEST book, esp if you need to lift!A+ THIS IS A MUST READ!!

    This book changed my view on life! I realize now,I have never had a problem, and never will have any problems. The truth shall set you free, and this book is a great example of the truth. Here in the USA we are kept pretty much in the dark and feed pop culture. Although this is not by our default, but we are sheltered from evil in the world. This book sheds light to the real world we live in, and once you have read this, you can no longer go back to the way you used to view the world. This is a MUST read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read! Live the Life God Dreamed of For You!

    I love that last line - Live the life God dreamed of when He first dreamed of you. When you were growing up, how often did you dream about what your life would be like - what you would do - who you would marry - what your kids would be like. I find it amazing that my Creator would dream about me and what he wants for my life. Through this book, Kimberly tells the story of how she came to be living the life she believes God had in mind for her. By the end, she bares her soul for all, things that she even kept from her husband for a time.

    Be sure to keep the kleenexes handy when reading - as you will surely need them. I found myself thinking about the conditions she describes in this book as I went about my day - thanking God for all those things we take for granted, like fresh water, shelter, security. It has definitely made me take a deeper look at how I can best serve God.

    This is a must read book, both to bring awareness to a part of the world where atrocities abound on a daily basis, and to bring awareness to hearts that might not know God's path - or even know God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling story

    Passport Through Darkness" isn't your typical missionary workers story. Instead Kimberly Smith takes the reader on a journey around the world to Sudan and other war torn countries. She shares the atrocities that women and children face in these countries every day.

    Kimberly Smith was your average American woman, working in the corporate world, a wife, mother and a faithful church member, she was living a good life, but she felt as if something was missing, she longed to make her life matter. About that time her husband Milton started suggesting that they do something meaningful, something to make a difference in other peoples lives. One day as Milton browses thru a magazine in a waiting room he finds an article asking for missionaries to serve in Spain, ironically Milton had been a missionary in Spain back in the 80's, so with what I would consider a giant leap of faith, they were accepted by a missionary agency to work in Spain so they sold everything they had starting a new life journey in the missionary field. While in Spain the couple became aware of the plight of human trafficking, causing them to cofound Make Way Partners, which works to prevent human trafficking worldwide.

    I knew a bit of the plight in Sudan before reading this book, but this book brings it front and center, allowing you to see these victims as real people, while it is a hard to read the accounts that are shared in the story, it is a message that needs to be spread.

    Thanks to B&B Media for providing me a copy of this book for review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Courage and Love in the Midst of Violence.

    Passport Through Darkness, told through the eyes of author Kimberly L. Smith, is a powerful book of courage, tenacity and love displayed by Kimberly and Make Way Partners in the desolate, violent world of murder and rape in the land of Sudan. Her and her husband's prayers for caring for the orphans and women of Darfur, through all the atrocities the people had been through and seen, are eventually answered abundantly. How it comes about is in the telling of the story.

    Kimberly's unwavering devotion to God's calling despite the many problems, disasters, and personal attacks show us the power of God in the midst of evil. Many lives were touched and changed through her gracious works. She so endeared herself to the people, that each time she returned they called out for 'Mama Kimberly.' The vision of her work with James Lual Atak will stay with you and speak to your heart with compassion for the hopeless and helpless ones.

    If just one person is willing to surrender their life to God, mighty miracles can be accomplished. Kimberly would love for you, the reader, to be open to God's call on your life, wherever it may lead.

    In reading this book, I realized that Kimberly was probably one of the women working in this area when I saw a program on Darfur some years ago on TV. I was horrified at all the inhumanity then, and again in Kimberly's book. But man's inhumanity to man, however, is not too hard for God to redeem.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    I will never be the same.

    This book has changed me forever. It's really quite astounding to realize that one person can make such a huge difference in the suffering of others. I am so thankful that Kimberly shared her story with us, now I must decide what I'm going to do about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    A Passport for all

    A gripping account of mass murder, terror, torture, enslavement, rape, and famine in Sudan; An unblinking, intimate telling of its horrors; An unvarnished insight into the cultural, historical, religious, economic and geographic/ climatic forces at work; A sobering assessment of probable failures tempered by inevitable triumph; A clarion call to the Body of Christ; An author courageously sharing her own enslavement to self doubt and feelings of worthlessness; A testimonial to God unshackling her; A powerful paradigm for putting the Good News into action. Kimberly L. Smith's Passport Through Darkness is all these things and much more. Its value obvious to those with a heart for the Sudan and the enslaved everywhere, it should be read by the Church, leaders, and seekers everywhere. Ironically less obvious is its greatest gift: Passport Through Darkness shows not only how to set free the victims of war and modern slavery - it grants a passport to each of us, showing us how to escape our innermost torments or doubts and live fully as a freed child of God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Amazing book! A MUST READ!!

    Passport Through Darkness is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It truly pierced my heart-- If you are looking for something deeper than your same old self-help, feel good book---then this is for you! After reading this book-I am so encouraged---for I see how God's plan and desire to use average people is not just for biblical characters--- but this book helped remind me that God has a purpose for little average me. Read it and see what God is doing and desires to do in you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Passport is a beautifully weaved work of art

    Passport through Darkness is a must read! I brought the book on a long flight and couldn't put it down. Kimberly invites us in to her story of pain, suffering, joy, beauty, reconciliation and then challenges us to go on our own deeper journey of finding the adventure God has for my life when I am willing to risk and trust He is at work even in the darkest of times in the world and in my own heart.

    I've followed Kimberly Smith's writing for a long time through her blog and was blown away by the power of her writing in this book. It is not only a powerful story but a beautifully weaved work of art.

    This is a book I will read again and again and again - like spending the day sharing the realness of life with a trusted friend who has walked the path before me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Amazing Story- A must read!

    This book shook up my world! I am already involved in the dark world of anti human trafficking, but this book really opened my eyes, with such detailed description, to the atrocities occurring in other parts of the world. It makes you want to dive in and help her change the world! Kimberly tells the story in such a detailed and vulnerable way, it makes you want to shut the book and never open it again (because what's happening is terrible and very descriptive) but you can't because it's so intriguing and you have to know what else is going to happen. She is a strong, selfless woman, and I'd recommend this book to anyone. I couldn't stop thinking about it for days after I had finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Great true story

    Very intense true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Not bad.

    Not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2