Customer Reviews for

Past Imperfect

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend This Novel by Dowton Abbey Creator

This is a wonderful romp from 1968 to 2008 and back again with Jullian Fellowes, the creator of Downton Abbey. I enjoyed this novel even more than I enjoy Downton. His characters and story are so well-crafted. He has many of the same wit that we see in Downton, with an ...
This is a wonderful romp from 1968 to 2008 and back again with Jullian Fellowes, the creator of Downton Abbey. I enjoyed this novel even more than I enjoy Downton. His characters and story are so well-crafted. He has many of the same wit that we see in Downton, with an updated story line on the last of the debutantes and the men they danced with.

posted by RenitaLovell on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Julian Fellows: Past Imperfect

Excellent love story but tragic, the way life can be somtimes.

posted by 3834321 on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend This Novel by Dowton Abbey Creator

    This is a wonderful romp from 1968 to 2008 and back again with Jullian Fellowes, the creator of Downton Abbey. I enjoyed this novel even more than I enjoy Downton. His characters and story are so well-crafted. He has many of the same wit that we see in Downton, with an updated story line on the last of the debutantes and the men they danced with.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A brilliant achievement in which the author blends a masterful non-violent mystery with a deep understanding of the social changes which swept the last half of the Twentieth Century. Because the author is positioned by birth to know his subject from the inside, the insights he presents about the relations between the British upper classes offer wholly new insights, and with regard to both irony and humor, the work is masterful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If I were wealthy and famous...

    Fellowes is amusing because he is keenly observant, advantageously placed, and both literate and loquacious. He writes of a class of society most of us will never know personally: the rich, the famous, the titled. While we may not aspire to the life these people endure, there is something intrinsically interesting about a life without the more usual set of boring constraints.

    The narrator, very like our author as described above, says plainly at the beginning of Chapter Two; "I've never been a good judge of character. My impressions at first meeting are almost invariably wrong." Why we then place ourselves in this unreliable narrator's hands has everything to do with the ultimate success of the book. We are always a little off-balance and unsure whether we should trust the narrator's observations. We must put our own considerable experience to work deciding the ultimate value of a piece of information. We discover the rich, the famous, and the titled have similar motivations to our own, and constraints almost entirely of their own construction.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Almost perfect

    ****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Good Read

    Slow begining but ended up being a really good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Avoid Withdrawal

    For all of us waiting for the third installment of Downton Abbey, this is a good intermission.
    Julian Fellowes is fun to read with situations and plots like his famous Abbey classic. Looking forward to whatever else he may write.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    If you enjoy Downton Abbey...

    I found this book to be highly entertaining and enlightening. Julian Fellowes is the man behind Downton Abbey. He's good at explaining the English class system, in the form of a fun book. Maybe I especially enjoyed it as the sixties were my time also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Julian Fellows: Past Imperfect

    Excellent love story but tragic, the way life can be somtimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Enjoyable

    This book is fun to read. The characters and scenes and locales are what most of us will never know personally, so it's a fun and informative trip through the English upper class of the late 1960s. I will be sad to finish the last book by Julian Fellowes and wait for him to write more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Romp!

    What a delightful "twisty-turny" romp from high society characters from 40 years ago, to a clever turn of events to the present. There is such empathy for the characters, even the villain. What a great story; I hated for it to end! Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1