Customer Reviews for

The Pastor's Wife

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly Great Read

    I wasn't too sure about this book when I read the overview but it was offered for free so I decided to give it a try. What a pleasant surprise it turned out to be. A wonderful story of forgiveness, second chances and finding the talents that God blessed you with. Highly recommend this.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    forgiveness

    sweet book on marriage relationship and forgiveness

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    good wholesome read

    I would read more from this author

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Good Read

    Touches the heart. Lets us know that we all need to communicate with God and each other.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great book

    Will recommend!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Traditionally in romance, marriage is either the climax of a sto

    Traditionally in romance, marriage is either the climax of a story, or it is left out of the story altogether.




    In this romance, the story begins six years AFTER marriage, when a woman returns to town and meets up with her estranged husband, who she hasn't spoken to in a long time. Naturally, the plot thrusts them together, and how it ends (being a romance story) is pretty predictable. That being said, I really enjoyed HOW Jennifer AlLee gets the story to that ending. It's handled with sensitivity, simplicity, and love, and along the way both characters learn things about themselves, each other, and how God works.




    There's also something very unpredictable that happens AFTER the inevitable reunion. It's something that I definitely didn't see coming, although the author does a wonderful job of foreshadowing it and keeping the reader guessing.




    Having grown up in church myself, a lot of the circumstances and situations described in this story felt very familiar to me, and pleasantly so. Of course, being an American story, many of the Americanisms were glaringly obvious and a little disjarring to me. I'm still not entirely sure what chowder is, and I chuckled at the spelling of aluminum (that's aluminium to you and me!). And my favourite: a baked dish consisting of a sweet filling, and served as a dessert, is a TART. A PIE is served piping hot with gravy or chips (French Fries to the American readers), and most often contains meat, unless you're a vegetarian!




    Still, all these little idiosyncrasies added to the charm of the story, which I think was quite well written and very well told. I would recommend it to anyone in a relationship, or who would like to know more about God. And no, there's no sex in it... although it's alluded to a couple times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great Read

    Had this book for awhile and finally opened and finished it in a day....it was hard to put down great characters !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a clean, delightful story. It puts a different angle on how

    What a clean, delightful story. It puts a different angle on how some view a Pastor's life.
    While recently married, a graduating student of theology received an opportunity to move to
    a small town where an ailing Pastor need an assistant. When barely moved in - and overwhelmed with a welcoming community-, the previous Pastor got worse and soon the full ministry fell on the very young Pastor. Wanting to show his commitment, he poured himself in serving their congregations need.
    Feeling overwhelmed and ignored, the Pastor's wife had a final issue she had to endure alone, because he was unavailable to her, so left and went back to live with her father.
    She had lost her mother to cancer when she was sixteen and when she returned home to her father she discovered his health was failing. She soon ended up running their failing deli business alone.
    She never expected her honeymoon would be traveling to a new state and a small, dull town. She never had any alone time with her husband who put everyone's needs before her own. This is not the life she expected.
    A mutual friend died and she was called to meet with the lawyer to find what the lady had left her for an inheritance. When she approached the elevator, who was there - just as shocked as she- but her husband who she'd not seen since six years ago. A shock was in store for both of them. It is a fun story how they each dealt with their individual situation and tried to make the best of it.
    Could they endure what they were expected to to each receive their sizable inheritance?
    It dragged in a couple of places and a little repetitive but well worth the reader' time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Very good read.

    Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Great read

    Truly a work of inspiration

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Good

    Feel good story of love and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Enjoyed

    I haven't read many christian fiction books on the topic of reconciliation. This was a thought-provoking read. Predictable in some ways, but enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed this story and would love to read another by this auth

    I enjoyed this story and would love to read another by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    good book

    I enjoyed this story. God is with us always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    A cute read...

    I smiled a lot through this book. Two characters you do not imagine in a situation such as theirs, and it hits on some hard truths about the ministry. I think the author added enough humor to lighten the story and you have to love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Great beach read

    Entertaining!! Light summer read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Good story

    Well written story about love, God, forgivness and community.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Good read!

    I enjoyed reading this book....I got it during a free deal on my nook so it is always a great opportunity to try new authors that way. I felt the premise of the book was very good and most of it well written! My only criticisms come near the end of the book.... I feel like the end of the book was rather rushed....it felt like she took her time to set up the story and did a really great job with that, but then the ending seemed faster paced than the rest of the book. Also I felt the personality of the Pastor in the story changed. I felt his actions near the end did not correspond with his attitude and personality throughout the rest of the book. His end reaction made no sense to me as far as the personality that was created during the story line. I also felt like the breast cancer idea was a little random, as well, although I see how she aligned it with what had happened before in the woman's life. So...good story line and as a pastor's wife myself I think it was well done, except the last fourth or so of the book could have, to me, used a little more planning and thought to weave in a bit better with the rest of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Worth the Read

    Good, easy, feel good read. This book put the expectations of a preacher's wife into perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    Good saturday afternoon read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3