Customer Reviews for

The Pastor's Wife

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Must read

    I would recommend this book, it kept me wondering what was going to happen. I loved the book and it had nothing dirty in it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Highly recommend!!! Great read!!!

    A great story of the redemption and mercy of our mistakes. Thank God for 2nd chances!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Donna

    What a breath of fresh air.To read a Christian book that keeps you wanting to get to the end to see how these two people can trust in God and know it will be OK.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can the Pastor's Wife Handle the Pastor's Life?

    I love the romance genre but sometimes feel the heroes and heroines of today's fiction have been dressed in Barbie and Ken clothes and live in Monopoly houses. Romance spiced with multicultural issues, tension, and edgy subjects reaches out from novel pages and grabs me tight. Romance like AlLee's new novel, The Pastor's Wife.

    Maura Sullivan, a California girl waitressing in Da's restaurant, thought she'd found all she ever wanted in pastoral student Nick Shepherd, who rescues her from a bully and in the process steals her heart.

    Nick and Maura say, "I do," and move to Granger, Ohio, and the judgmental eyes of a small-town congregation. When Maura slips and falls in her pastor's wife high-heels, Nick doesn't help her up-in fact, he doesn't even realize she's on the floor. With guilt, hurt, and disappointment sitting in the passenger seat of her car, Maura says good-bye to Granger.without saying goodbye to Nick.

    An eccentric parishioner changes everything when the terms of her will summon Maura back to Granger, Nick, and the mutterings of more than a few local characters. Maura struggles to survive, but God offers her a chance to thrive. Can Maura-and Nick-let go of themselves and others' expectations and let God unite the two in blissful matrimony?

    With wistful yet tightly woven prose, Jennifer Al Lee pulls back the drapes in Christian pastorages and lets us see the aching and very real humans who caretake our souls. You will laugh and cry your way through The Pastor's Wife, an amazing book of romance, social issues, and faith.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    If you're like me, and have a close friend going through a marri

    If you're like me, and have a close friend going through a marriage crisis, this book would be a very nice gift. Isn't it hard to forgive? And when you think that you have reconciled, spats end up bringing the past back to the table. Relationships are hard, especially being a Pastor's wife, and this book really hits home on several important notes, and I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Very good

    Interesting and well written. Sometimes we put people in leadership roles on pedastals, and we forget they are human also, and make mistakes, just like everyone else. This story, is about reconciliation from misunderstandings years old.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Definitely a must read......

    This book will not disappoint. It takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions. What would you do if this situation was yours? I will definitely read more from this author.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Good book!

    How true for pastor's wives. We really do become second sometimes. This is a very heartwarming story of how the pastor and his wife can become alienated without even realizing it. Forgiveness comes in various forms, and this book reminds us how to forgive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Enjoyed it very much.

    Good Christian fiction. Liked how one of the main characters found her gifting after unsuccessfully trying to fulfill other's expectations and how God changes hearts.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Enjoyable

    An easy and enjoyable read. Written by a Christian author. I would read more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    This was a good and relaxing read. Would I read it again maybe but not right now I cant say it was one of my fav. books but it was a great story. all in all cute love story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Absolutely loved it

    I just have to keep reading this book again and again because i love it so much. It is a great story and i strongly recommend it to everyone! Jennifer allee is a great author. I wish that there was a sequel to this book because i want to read more about nick and maura! Happy reading!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    A light and emotional read

    This was a fast read for any frequent reader. The story was enjoyable and completely realistic.

    At times it was a little emotional towards the end but it also had a way of bringing a sad chapter round to a light and funny chapter.

    I recommend this book for any one, but especially for those who are part of a family involved in ministry.

    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great

    Great inspirational read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Great story!

    Great story about what marriage is really about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great Book!

    Great Book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Great book

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Maura and Nick have a lot to eelearn about each other and a lot of forgiveness to give to one another. Maura also has to learn how to deal with the people of the church and the town. Once she does, she realizes life is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!!

    Loved it(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    The Pastors Wife

    This is one of the most inspirational books I have read. I highly recommed this book to anyone that likes good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    ANNA

    An excellently written Christian novel. A good story line that hold your attention as it moves from chapter to chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3