Customer Reviews for

Pastwatch

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    Great Book! Again Orson Scott Card evokes emotion and thought like few authors can.

    I admit it. I have been a fan of Orson Scott Card for a while now but I wasn't prepared for how much I was enthralled in this book. I read it in three days, reading almost non-stop (much to the chagrin of my wife). Orson Scott Card complains to Sid Maeir in the jacket for distracting his time with the great PC game 'Civilization'. I add my complaint to Orson for making me useless for anything else while reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Fascinating read.

    I have purchased this book more often than any other book of any kind. As with any younger male, I like the science fiction genre of time travel, really, who doesn't? Anyway, this is a book that has a bit of everything, history, character growth and just enough technicality to not overwhelm and yet satisfy the tech geeks. Not much more I can say without giving away any of details of the book but if you have ready any of Orson Scott Cards books, this is a good choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Fantastic

    As a historian and a native american I appreciate how fun it was to read through this fantasy novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    AWESOME!

    A MUST READ FOR THOSE WHO ENJOY HISTORICAL FICTION. MICHENER-ESQUE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Check this out!

    I'm not usually a reader of science fiction! My style goes more toward historical fiction. This book combined the two and made it a great read. The question it asked is what might happen if we could go back in history and make a few changes? What would the end result be and would it be worth it? It was the first time in a long time that I read something that was hard for me to put down, kept me guessing until the end, and still haunts me long after I've finished reading. What more could a reader ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Another home run!

    Card once again proves why he's the king of sci-fi. Huzzah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    ¿What if Columbus Didn¿t Go Back to Spain?¿

    If you love science fiction, then Pastwatch is for you. Tagiri works at the Pastwatch Station in Juba. Pastwatch is an international organization who looks at the past. While there, her husband Hassan, their daughter Diko, and Kemal are working to study Christopher Columbus. They are seeing if they can create an entirely different future than theirs where the world is not on the edge of war and famine by stopping this one man. Not even knowing if they can time travel yet to stop him, they continue their research. When Hunahpu joins the project, scientists have finished the time machine, and then Hunahpu, Diko, and Kemal decide to go back to stop Columbus and create a unified Mexican empire. They are leaving everything they love behind to make a better world for everyone else. This book was very excellent. It had a strong theme of what could have happened. Orson Scott Card blends words together like magic to create flowing settings and dynamic characters. He pulls you into the book and doesn¿t let go. There are still some parts that were confusing, though. Pastwatch has some advanced concepts that can be challenging. In a few parts, it is difficult to follow the plot too. If I could, I would read it over and over. It was spellbinding and excellent. Here are some other ¿must knows¿ about Pastwatch. It is, unfortunately, not part of a series, even though a sequel may be coming out soon. This novel is like no other book or television show I have seen or read. It is one of a kind. Science fiction fanatics and history lovers alike will be mesmerized by this book. If you have read and liked any alternative history books, Orson Scott Card books, or science fiction books, you will also like Pastwatch. Card¿s masterpiece is so good you won¿t be able to set it down until you are finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Ender and Alvin fans will like this book

    If you have read the Ender series or the Alvin Maker series this story will seem very familiar. Card combines the futuristic hi-tech, like Ender, with the alternate history of real events, like Alvin, to invent a story about Christopher Columbus and his voyage to the New World. Pastwatch is a good read and an interesting story that brings up some interesting things to ponder. If you are a fan of either Ender or Alvin this story will not be disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2004

    This is for Ender's Game fans

    Full of suspence and magic, this book is is original, breath-taking and fully satifyable to those sci-fi and history lovers out there. I highly recommend this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Entertaining and Thought-Provoking

    Rarely can an author successfully combine a sad but factual history, current societal and global dilemmas, and a bleak, distant future world into a beautiful science fiction novel. Orson Scott Card accomplishes such a task, and this was one of the most entertaining and intellectually stimulating science fiction novels I have come across. `Pastwatch¿ is a great book for history buffs, Sci-Fi readers, and anyone who enjoys pushing the envelope of their imagination. A worthy contender to Card's most famous Sci-Fi novel, 'Ender's Game'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    Unbelievable!!!

    In the beggining, where Card told of Columbus' expierences as a child it can be a bit boring, almost made me stop reading the book. But by the end, you can't help but wonder, what would have happened. The most thought provoking book, and not to mention, great read, I have ever read in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2002

    Thrilling!

    This was a different side of Card from Ender. A different kind of SF, but a very interesting one. Makes you think about things you didn't think about before. Very intriging. Can't put it down intill you're finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2001

    Details are Everything

    The premise is excellent, but the historical details sell the concept. NOT light reading. Made me stop frequently to ponder the consequences of many actions. Only negative point... the ending. Below par in comparison to the rest of the novel. Still, I frequently recommend this title to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    Who were the REAL Christians?

    I'm an Ender fan, but this is different from his Ender Wiggins series. It's a 'what if' and, more importantly, a 'why?' book. It reminds us all that our Euro-centric world was built at the tip of a gun. What if things had happened differently? If Columbus was truly a fulcrum in history, how different would our world be today if we could alter him or his journey? Card does a good job of weaving history and speculation in this book. He makes us look twice at our benevolent ancestors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2001

    Superb

    The best SF I read in a long time. Compelling and engaging as (almost) all of OSC works, but with a strong historical background and a striking premise that makes one's assumptions tremble. One of the rare SF books which deals witl alternate socio-political systems in a consistent way. Highly recommendable for those who like to argue on the effects of the Spahish colonization of America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3