Customer Reviews for

Paterno

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

An Important Read

If you've read about Joe Paterno in the news this year, you must also read this book. The book does not give much time to his years in high school and at Brown, but I suppose there are/will be other books for that. The author addresses the subject and I believe his atte...
If you've read about Joe Paterno in the news this year, you must also read this book. The book does not give much time to his years in high school and at Brown, but I suppose there are/will be other books for that. The author addresses the subject and I believe his attempt to write the truth (as Joe asked) is sincere. The book gives valuable insight into his interactions with his family, his players, his community, his colleagues, the university administration and the media. Overall, I also see it as a commentary on how a human is built up in our society and how quickly that pedestal can come crashing down. I have felt that way a lot recently, but this author was able to capture it in prose.

posted by BeckyBVA on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Following Joe from the time I was little, I couldn't wait to rea

Following Joe from the time I was little, I couldn't wait to read this book. This has put many questions to rest in my mind. I feel he has answered most of them and it is a shame that he didn't get a chance himself to publically say all that was in this great book. T...
Following Joe from the time I was little, I couldn't wait to read this book. This has put many questions to rest in my mind. I feel he has answered most of them and it is a shame that he didn't get a chance himself to publically say all that was in this great book. The book was well rounded from his youth all the way to his death bed. For those who doubt him read Lou Prato's write-up in the Blue-White paper on the Freeh Report!!

posted by sab3 on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    An Important Read

    If you've read about Joe Paterno in the news this year, you must also read this book. The book does not give much time to his years in high school and at Brown, but I suppose there are/will be other books for that. The author addresses the subject and I believe his attempt to write the truth (as Joe asked) is sincere. The book gives valuable insight into his interactions with his family, his players, his community, his colleagues, the university administration and the media. Overall, I also see it as a commentary on how a human is built up in our society and how quickly that pedestal can come crashing down. I have felt that way a lot recently, but this author was able to capture it in prose.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Balanced and fair

    I've just finished reading Poznanski's "Paterno" on my iPad. Whether you love JoePa or find yourself hating him, you owe it to yourself to stop at a bookstore and at least do a quick read of pages 319-321. Those under 500 words, better than anything I've ever read, get to both the heart of the man and the heart of his final days. It's an incredibly good biography in the vein of David McCullough's "Truman." The author had access to JoePa's notes and spent a great deal of time with him and his family, especially since the scandal broke. This is not a sugar-coated tribute; many critical points and controversies throughout Paterno's 61-year career are covered. Many stories - funny, sad, heartwarming, bad - are told, often with, "Joe remembered it this way and [whoever] remembered it this way." I'm ready now to start reading it again, this time in hard copy so that I can highlight passages of interest. I'm going to use a lot of yellow marker.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Great Coaching Story

    To some this book may be too soon for release as the Penn St. hopefuls are still trying to deal with the aftermath of the scandal that shook college football and Penn. St. football. To others it will show what a truly great coach and man Paterno was. Posnanski states that the focus of the book was not to defend Paterno or any others but to highlight his coaching career at State College. He does just that. Written the way only a sportswriter can deliver, Posnanski draws you into each season that Paterno coached and focuses on his commitment to Penn. St., the community and the young men that he inspired to go beyond football and pursue another life other than sports. Highly recommened and I would encourage anyone to give it a read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Following Joe from the time I was little, I couldn't wait to rea

    Following Joe from the time I was little, I couldn't wait to read this book. This has put many questions to rest in my mind. I feel he has answered most of them and it is a shame that he didn't get a chance himself to publically say all that was in this great book. The book was well rounded from his youth all the way to his death bed. For those who doubt him read Lou Prato's write-up in the Blue-White paper on the Freeh Report!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    An Important Book

    When I first heard that this book was being published, I wasn't sure I wanted to read it, but I'm very glad I did. This book gives the whole picture of Paterno's life, not just the bits and pieces that emerged from the coverage of the sex abuse scandal at Penn State. In my humble opinion, the author, Joe Posnanski is very fair in dealing with the scandal that eneded Paterno's career, and the subsquent aftermath. Most surprising was his relationship (or lack of) with assistant coach Jerry Sandusky. I recommend this book for those who want to know about Joe Paterno, good and bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Well...

    Those looking to humanize their hero will love it.
    Those looking for an objective biography will be disapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Beautifully written, balanced, and surprisingly moving. I'm so g

    Beautifully written, balanced, and surprisingly moving. I'm so glad I read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    A must read for anybody who has an opinion of Joe Paterno

    A must read for anybody who has an opinion of Joe Paterno

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Awsome

    I learned a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Great read!

    A very revealing brook on the real personality and contributions of Joe Paterno's, not only to Penn State, but to the many individual lives he touched. Also, a better understanding of the Sandusky matter, especially the time frames involved and how Sandusky fit into the Penn State football structure, before and after his many crimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    This book explains why Paterno did not want to retire- he kew

    This book explains why Paterno did not want to retire- he kew it would be the end of his life. After Bear Bryant died months after retiring,
    Joe figured the same would happen to him, because football consumed all his life.
    But as everyone ages, one cannot be involved as the efficiency of the brain falls. He no longer was involved with all the aspects of the football program like he was years before. Snadusky fooled everyone, so much so, that his Second Mile was looked upon a a great program for troubled children, when it was his "playground". Joe Paterno was cruxcified by the media pressure for Penn State and the NCAA to do something.

    It is a shame the man who helped so many young men, and built an outstanding program, was destroyed by the fact, he worked all his life to make the Paterno name. When the name was disrespected, it caused him to give up living.Someday I hope his name will be restored in the public's eye. But I also know those boys who played for Joepa, know now his name will never be disrepected in their eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Just read this book at the library-certainly Paterno was scapego

    Just read this book at the library-certainly Paterno was scapegoated by Penn State officials who were supposed to take care of a very large problem and failed to act. It is very simple-Sandusky was evil and Paterno's act of not promoting him to head coach was a good call! I do not believe that Paterno knew the depth of this evil-imagine having to ask for the definition of sodomy!! Hopefully one day the Paterno family will forgive this institution for their lack of morality and ethics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    A work that historians can reference

    You cannot underestimate the access the author was given to the coach and his family during the period of time when all rational thinking was thrown out with the baby and the bathwater. If I never read one more review which criticizes the author for offering no answer to the question of what Paterno knew about Sandusky and when, it will be too soon. Unlike the politicized conclusions drawn by the NCAA totalitarians, this unfiltered and unbiased account offers a refreshing contrast -- if only the Freeh report had been half as restrained in “connecting the dots.” This is a work that historians some day can call upon in trying to understand how due process was denied an entire community and why judgment was so rushed that we had to suffer the NCAA bureaucrats who had the audacity to take the holier than thou route. But of course, the book is about much more, and it is necessary to read about the man’s life in such detail to understand how difficult it would be to judge a man simply on the basis of what you hear on the news and read in the papers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Joe was a good coach and all but

    the died andpersololy i think penn state is a bad school because penn state children go to jail alot BUT OOVERAL A GOOD BOOK

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    A Must Read

    Fianlly, an honest portayal of Joe Paterno. Thank You Joe Posnanski.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    no one is perfect, saints were sometimes sinners, history will be his judge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No words..

    This book doesn't answer all questions, but seemed to be fair

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    GOOD READ

    A fair and impartial overview of Joe's life. Personally, I liked Joe Paterno, so this book was a must read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    An adult look at a complex problem

    While this book may not answer all questions, it is a readable and intelligent look into what really went on at Penn State. Vastly different from the knee-jerk reaction we saw on the TV news coverage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A very Fair assessment

    Being a fan of Joe Paterno for many years now, and being a Penn State Alum, I couldn't wait to read this book. In my heart, I know he was a Great man,and a good man at heart and in his soul. We may never know all the details of the Sandusky scandal, but I believe what Joe believed, that the truth will come out and he will be okay.

    I loved the stories from his youth, the stories about different players and his relationships with them.

    All in all, I loved this book. I laughed a lot, smiled at the Joe-isms and got teary when things got rough for him and his family.

    Thanks to Joe Posnanski for aspiring to write a fair and honest book about a man who was human, flawed, and also did GREAT things for others in his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2