Customer Reviews for

The Path of Daggers (Wheel of Time Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(328)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

AS GOOD AS ALL THE OTHERS IN THE SERIES

Having read many of the other reviews on this, the eighth book in the Wheel of Time Series, I fearfully began this book expecting disappointment. I was happily dissuaded! The Path of Daggers is every bit as entertaining and captivating as any of the previous seven vo...
Having read many of the other reviews on this, the eighth book in the Wheel of Time Series, I fearfully began this book expecting disappointment. I was happily dissuaded! The Path of Daggers is every bit as entertaining and captivating as any of the previous seven volumes. There is NO falloff in style, action or any other quality that marked the previous seven installments. Buy this book!

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Going downhill till there is no more hill!

This book showed that the end of every good series happen when the sub plots get more pages than the main plot. Many will notice by now that the book is excruciating to read because the characters are so bland and we know them inside out. The women are the worst I have ...
This book showed that the end of every good series happen when the sub plots get more pages than the main plot. Many will notice by now that the book is excruciating to read because the characters are so bland and we know them inside out. The women are the worst I have ever read in any series and there should be a protest against Jordan for depicting our opposite sex in this manner. Every female character are all power hungry, manipulative, and down right ugly. The women seem to hate any thing that has to do with men and are looking forward to having them as slaves. The men are just as bad because they don¿t care whether they are slaves and are ready to just lay down and die. This book is mainly about Perrin finding the Prophet and the dull, stupid and bland Shaido Aiel trying to regroup and take over the world. Rand wants to go crazy and kill the Seanchan¿wow what a surprise. Has anyone noticed Jordan is a math dropout? He seems to be throwing random numbers out there when it comes to armies. For example the Shaido Aiel send 10,000 Spears of the Dragon to scout the area near Amador and they all die thanks to Seanchan¿I mean that is a lot of people¿.then there are the whole talk of regrouping one clan that has a million or so people left after they have been destroyed twice in two different books and are just barely hanging on. This is a bad thing to have. We need to believe that there can be a reasonable army to have realistic battle¿.ohh and Elayne, Nyaneave, Sevanna are unbreable¿they take stupidity to the next level and they are the characters we are supposed to care about¿it is a joke¿we get it that Nyaneave pulls her braid¿.no need to have paragraph after paragraph about it. I mean they have chapters and chapters just talking or riding. It is just senseless¿what happened to sticking with the plot? Please Jordan¿.kill off half the cast and STOP adding plots and characters¿it is retarded¿this story is so bland and wortless now that I feel like ripping the book and setting the pages on fire¿what a waste of sentences and paragraphs.

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Passes the time

    Currently on book 11 of the series. The best thing to say is that it's a long series and passes time well. Am sick of reading about the different factions (sea folk, seanchan, aes sadeai, wise ones, and "queens") all thinking they are better than the other groups and acting like fools while accusing everyone around them of acting like a fool. The whole series is degrading to men. Virtually every woman in this series, except perhaps Min, should be forced to date Chris Brown.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    The path of daggers

    Declining

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    Path of Laggers

    Well I love the series...or at least I DID. It seems it is getting increasingly tedious with each book, though. OK, PROBLEM ONE is that Jordan just has too many damned secondary and tertiary characters now. I know some are necessary to 'weave the tapestry of the setting', blah blah blah, but it's just ridiculous now. There is no way to keep track of them all unless you dedicate your life to it, and their presence saps valuable 'page time' from our main characters. Weiramon, Sunamon, Ailil, Anaiyella, Tylin, Aram, Massema, the Companions, Faile, and about 3 dozen minor Aes Sedai, Aiel, Kin, and Sea Folk...you are excused, dismissed. You are all BORING and your services are no longer required. The door is over there. No, wait a minute, let me just kill you all now so I don't have to read another 250 pages about HOW you exited. PROBLEM TWO is that I feel there are some things already started which would be really interesting to hear more about, but we don't. Remember Mat? Well, if you remember Michael Dukakis you might. I want more of the 'luck thing', the Finns/Ghenji, the spear, ravens, the foxhead medallion, the Daughter of the Nine Moons, the Horn of Valere, the Shadar Logoth dagger...all good stuff. OK, I think Perrin could be interesting too (he was hardly in this book at all), but I am really sick of him SMELLING everything. I mean that's all he does is smell things and wonder why women are so puzzling. Let's put him on the C Express headed to Yankee Stadium and see if we can make his nose explode. How come Jordon doesn't do more with Alanna's bond with Rand? That should be a major thing, but it's not, it seems almost forgotten. Other cool stuff: Tel'aran'Rhiod, portal stones, ter'angreal, Logain, Grey Men, Darkhounds, Nynaeve's healing powers. And we all know that Moiraine and probably Lanfear will be back, so how about a few hints of that? Make Lan's neck start tingling or something.   PROBLEM THREE is just that Jordan takes way to long to write these books! I know it's not really something that can be rushed, but this book sure should not have taken 2.5 years to write. With 450 characters, several dozen cities, and at least that many subplots to keep track of, it means you totally forget them all by the time the next book comes out, so you are required to go back and reread all the previous books to catch yourself up. I don't know about you, but I don't have the time or patience to reread 4,000 pages before each new book, especially when there are so many other good books out there to be read. Am I going to not read Don Quixote because I need to toil through Lord of Chaos for the fifth time? No. Please, Mr. Jordan, just give us two more focused, action-packed books, wrap it up at an even 10, and then you can go write Conan the Retirer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2000

    Who is Who?

    While I have thoroughly enjoyed the series, I must admit due to the length of time between availabiluty, it has been difficult to recall the roles and motivations behind many characters. The main characters (Rand, Nynaeve, Perrin) are easy to remember, but those with a lesser role are more difficult to recall. Overall it does not comapre with the earlier boks in the series, but it is nonetheless a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    ehhhhh

    The series was great but it started to go downhill. For example, Robert Jordan can't stick to the main plot and characters. Like sometimes you get sent off to a diffrent character and never hear of them again. Plus how much detail can you have i dont care what the characters talk about in during thier spare time just get to the point, I get lost half the time! Still the series was good so i am going to see it through to the end but i dont know how in the world he is going to tie up all of the loose ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    good until the middle...

    i was a huge fan of the Wheel of Time. i would read Robert Jordan's books cover to cover in a few days they were amazing. now, when i happened upon the 8th book in the series, i said something akin to a 'w00t!' and immediately got it and started reading. like all Wheel of Time books, this starts out a little slow. it speeded up somewhat until about the middle of it, where it hit a dead end. this book turned from a joy filled read to an excruciating chore in a matter of 2 chapters. the subplots completely overran the main plot, and the characters do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING for a couple hundred pages. i almost cried when i had to give up reading this series. i ask you, Robert Jordan, where has the series gone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    The cover is a bit deciving

    I bought this book, while I was still reading book 3 and I couldn't wait to get to it. With the exciting ending of book 7 I was a little disappointed. This book contains lots of politics, Rand dosen't show himself unil page 500 when he leads an army against the Seachan. The ending is okey, the only shocking thing is Perrin's part of the ending. Rand's part is a little cofusing and we kinda saw it coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    Interesting...

    I think the series' biggest fault for me is the impression I had of the first book. It's definitely my favorite of the series, and the reason being is because I believe it had more of an exciting adventure theme to it. After about, I think, book three or four the books seem to be overly epic and drawn out. There are so many characters and sub plots that it becomes a chore just to follow along. It definitely doesn't 'flow' like some books. In some of the books, Jordan barely mentions some of the main characters and only focuses on one(group) or two. For me, this can be agonizing because I think that some characters or their missions are overly boring. I would skim through these parts and get the gist for the sake of understanding the main plot. It's been awhile since I've read the first book, but I don't remember these problems occurring. I've always remembered it as a great book that I didn't want to put down. The other books in the series, if nothing more, are well thought out but they definitely do not make me want to read it every second until it's done. This book falls under that category. Sometimes I go days without reading it, but it is necessary in order to read his other books. Besides, I really want to know how everything ends up. Jordan has done well at making me care about what happens to these made up people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    A good book, but it feels incomplete

    All things considered, it's not too bad. The book felt unfinished, though; it lacked the resolution common to the other 7 books. Jordan is great at writing rich, interesting characters, but the level of suspicion is on a par with the Middle East. I would trust a hardened criminal more than these folks trust their friends right now. That said, his descriptions still draw you in, and drag you on throughout the night. He writes in a way that inspires my imagination. Definitely better than a lot of stuff on the shelf right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    Will it ever end?

    I keep reading, but I find that the later books lack the fine crafting of the first volume. In the first book, we actually learned about the characters, watched them grow, and watched the plot unfold. Ever since then, it seems as if Mr. Jorndan has been trying to turn a good trilogy into an never-ending saga. Please! bring back the zip that characterized Wheel of Time, and bring this tale to a conclusion. If Mr. Jordan has more to say, I wish he would start another series. This book was the slowest of the lot, but of course you have to read it if you want to know what happens. It's a good candidate for only reading the last 100 pages, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2000

    Can you say 'filler?'

    I was expecting so much. I had just read the rest and was all pumped up. I thought it was good. My only problem was this: nothing happened. It was just boring. I still lonve the series. I just hope something happens in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    Pick up the pace

    Jordan has a problem. He has written a great series but with so many sub-plots and characters that he has a problem. He can either sum up everything in a book or two and leave us disappointed or he can keep the pace, put in the detail and take five or six more books to finish his story. I hope that he doesn't rush to a conclusion but I would like to see him pick up the pace and go back to the things that made the first 3 or 4 books such a good read. He could easily write a future book about Mat, Perrin, each foresaken, etc. A lot to ask for but he made his own bed. Terry Goodkind is experiencing the same problem in his 'Sword of Truth' series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    Ok--I'm ready for the next one.

    From the very first book of the series I just haven't been able to get enough, I need to know what happens next. I waited as patiently as I possibly could and then was a little disappointed with Path of Daggers. I read it, from page one till the end, and I'm sure i'll do it again, but something was missing. Each of the other books were a complete story in it's self. Path of Daggers was like reading the middle of a book without reading the beginnig and ending. I won't pass any kind of judgement on Jordan for this one,I'll just patiently await the next installment, and use my imagination in the mean time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2000

    And the plot thickens...a lot

    Unlike others I feel that this book advances the plot of the wheel of time series. It was long and in a lot of places it was boaring, but I feel it was needed to advance the plot. This book apeared to be for the avid readers of the wheel of time series. I was expecting there to be more mention of Mat in this book, but apperently those were not the wishes of Mr. Jordan. I look forward to his next book in the hopes that the pace will pick up and Mat will be returned to us

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    A Rose By Any Other Name

    Well...Some people seem to think this book was downright awful. I am not one of them, however I have been waiting for word of Mat for over a twelve-hundred pages. It is understandable that Jordan needs this book to set the stage in detail for the last few to come. If you have ever read the 10 book Mission Earth series by L. Ron Hubbard you would understand where I am coming from. His first six books were quick reads while you had to muddle through seven and eight with their bizzare plot twists. Once you were able to start nine Hubbard sucked you back into the series. He lulled me in with Battlefield Earth and then went to town with the Mission Earth series. So, as with all great long winded authors, Jordan is just trying to deepen our understanding of the myriad characters he has developed. I give this book three stars only because it is a part of the Wheel of Time series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    When will it end??????

    I avoided reading these books for a long time, but friend convinced me to read them. I am glad I did! They are great, it has been a while since I have read a truly good story like this series. I do wish he would finish this series though. I dont know about you but after reading this last one and reciving no answers I was pretty pissed. It's a good guess that the next will be about Mat and the Seanchan especially since he won't let that 'princess of the nine moons' thing rest. And sine Perrin was the 'main' character in one of the books it makes sense that Mat will have a book too. So where will it end? I think he will finish with 10 books but we will see maybe he will finish it up it a very long 9th. And Jordan, you are an excellent writer but if you dont finish this series quickly...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2000

    Book 8 nothing but a prelude

    If you've read earlier WOT books, you know Robert Jordan can write some pretty long Preludes. Well, that's all book 8 is. One long prelude. You can re-title 'The Path of Daggers' to 'Prelude' and add it to book 9 and you'd wouldn't notice the diffrent. (It would just be one big book!) I'm hooked too WOT, so no matter what, I have to see it to the finish. But for the record, I was EXTREMLY disappointed with this book. I think the review that hinted book 8 was written by a ghost writer may have some merret. Say it ain't so, Jordan. Say it ain't so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    The Wheel of Time Slowly Runs Down

    As an avid reader of Sci Fi and Fantasy, it was inevitable that I would read The Wheel of Time series. I find the characters interesting but tediously over-developed. At first, scene descriptions were charmingly Walter Scott, but are now cloying. The last three books could have been written as a single volume. However, kudos must be given to Jordan for the skill with which he juggles an enormous number of subplots and minor characters. In all likelihood I will read the balance of the series, but with significantly less enthusiasm than with earlier volumes. An overall unique read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Long time Reader!

    Hi All! I have to say that I first started this series back in 90 or 91 (?). A wonderful story that takes you to another world for a time. Where you feel a part of the story. I got the chance to meet Robert Jordan in 97 at a book signing, very exciting for me! But I would imagine a long day for him.... Remember, like in all great stories you will have ups and downs, action and planning. We were taken on a roller-coaster ride with the first 6 while the characters developed, and found themselves. Finally, to cement themselves into their rolls with the 7th and 8th (although it would have been nice to see a few plots come to an end!). With some much still up in the air, the 9th book could only be what none of the first 8th could. The best book ever! That is a lot of pressure for a writer to take. I am assuming that is why it has taken two years for this one to come out (I believe it took two years for 8 to come out because RJ took a break from writing Fantasy!?). After nine years or so of reading and rereading the story (each book, except the last, over five times) I do get impatient for the next! For those of you trying to get through the 8th, take your time with it. Because book 9 may be the best you have ever read!!! And will be worth it....(I Hope!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Path of Daggers

    after reading the first seven books I read path of daggers a year ago when it first came out. I was dissappointed because there was no finality in the situation with Rand, nor with the Aes Sedai finding a solution to the wheather problem. I hope the next book comes out this year (2000). I'm still waiting for the pizazz of the first seven

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3