Customer Reviews for

Pathfinder (Pathfinder Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Great story - Definite re-read

Unlike other reviews, I will not provide a synopsis. The story was followed throughout the book. The characters grew, and evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Card's descriptions, and his humor in the dialogue. I had read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow. I can see why the book...
Unlike other reviews, I will not provide a synopsis. The story was followed throughout the book. The characters grew, and evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Card's descriptions, and his humor in the dialogue. I had read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow. I can see why the books are geared toward adolescent readers, but I'm not afraid to admit that this 42 year old enjoys a little fantasy reading. Some of the descriptions may be tough to tackle, but stick with it... the story is worth the time!!! Look forward to the next one in the series.

posted by GeekSpot on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Big let-down

I don't know what Orson Scott Card was thinking. In most of his books, the characters all seem impersonal, like there's no connection. That usually isn't a problem, because he adds other things to make the book interesting. In Pathfinder, it's like Card tries to make it...
I don't know what Orson Scott Card was thinking. In most of his books, the characters all seem impersonal, like there's no connection. That usually isn't a problem, because he adds other things to make the book interesting. In Pathfinder, it's like Card tries to make it unreadable; there are literally entire pages of philisophical dialogue between characters that is completly unnecessary. It's frustrating to read because the plot foundation has (or had) the potential to be an amazing story, but it went wasted because the author tried to make it into something completly different.

posted by 2290895 on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 319 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Anonymus

    I enjoyed the book and recomend it to all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    A Fast Fun Read!

    Orson Scott Card takes a free hand with his concepts in this and it is thought provoking and Fun! Enjoyed it a great deal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Good Book

    I really enjoyed this book. As soon as I saw it on the shelf at the store, I immediately wanted to read it. Good thing I did.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    An amazing read!!!

    This book is quite a read! I loved every bit of it! Card has outdone himself. After reading "Ender's Game" a few years back, I was estatic to hear that Card has written another book. "Pathfinder" is amazing and worth your time! For those who love fantasy, and adventure you will absolutley enjoy this book. Hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    LOVE OSC BUT...

    I buy and read anything Card and no author hits the mark everytime, but its still a disappointment when a trusted favorite finally misses. Maybe if I were 17 again, but I'm not sure that would excuse this dumbed down approach to a convoluted time tripping theme and the uneven story telling - so unlike vintage Card. I have yet to care what happens to anyone in this story and sometimes found myself just hoping they would shut up. Had me longing for Tepper or Simmons, or... thats it! Orsen Scott Card at his best. I'll hang in there, loyal to a fault but I recommend starting somewhere else in Card's catalogue to appreciate his work and his genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Test_On_Staging_IE9

    Test_On_Staging_IE9

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Geat book

    :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    A MUST READ!!!!!!!! :-)

    I got this book for Christmas and i just loved it!!!!! Orson Scott Card is now one of my forever favorite authors ever!!!! I can't wait for the next book, Ruins!!!!!

    -Peace out!!!!
    A faithful leader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Pathfinder

    Very good book.
    You need to focus on it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssoooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reader

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Eh

    Its ok i felt that it was kimda slow i mean you got to this one part and your like OMG thats so awsome! And it just kunda goes sownhill from there

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Greatest book ever

    Ii think that this is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Best,most,awsome book ever!!!!!!!

    I loved this book! It was mysterious and fascinating and very original. The roles the characters play in this boys life prepares him for what is to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    This book enjoyable.

    This is the first book that I have read that has been written by this author.
    I was not at all bored by it. From the first chapter I found that it held my interest. By the time I was into the third chapter I was not willing to put it down. I liked the story so much that I finished it in the middle of the night with my eyes all red and tired.
    It could have had a little more character emotion detail in it but I think it was just fine as it was. After all I don't think It was intended to be a soap-opera. What I really liked about it is the time traveling and the thinking that the characters did resulting from that.
    I also liked the fact that their were not too many characters. It switched between two different groups and made it simple to understand and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    This book is such a page turner. My teacher gave it to me for a book report, and I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Amazing

    I loved this book it was very different and a true syfy adventure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great reading, when is the next one?

    Orson nver fails to deliver, and this is the best since Ender's Game Series, I want the next one now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Read for Intelligent Readers

    The book is a time travel novel, and like any good time travel novel, you're going to have to reread it several times and still find things you didn't get the first time. Following the science of the plot was a little difficult, but the characters and storyline were phenomenal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another well written book by O.S. Card

    The story was an easy enjoyable read for myself and my 12 year old. The book went missing on two occasions; both times my son had borrowed the book to read ahead of me finishing the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 319 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 16