Customer Reviews for

Pathfinder (Pathfinder Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 310 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great story - Definite re-read

Unlike other reviews, I will not provide a synopsis. The story was followed throughout the book. The characters grew, and evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Card's descriptions, and his humor in the dialogue. I had read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow. I can see why the book...
Unlike other reviews, I will not provide a synopsis. The story was followed throughout the book. The characters grew, and evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Card's descriptions, and his humor in the dialogue. I had read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow. I can see why the books are geared toward adolescent readers, but I'm not afraid to admit that this 42 year old enjoys a little fantasy reading. Some of the descriptions may be tough to tackle, but stick with it... the story is worth the time!!! Look forward to the next one in the series.

posted by GeekSpot on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Big let-down

I don't know what Orson Scott Card was thinking. In most of his books, the characters all seem impersonal, like there's no connection. That usually isn't a problem, because he adds other things to make the book interesting. In Pathfinder, it's like Card tries to make it...
I don't know what Orson Scott Card was thinking. In most of his books, the characters all seem impersonal, like there's no connection. That usually isn't a problem, because he adds other things to make the book interesting. In Pathfinder, it's like Card tries to make it unreadable; there are literally entire pages of philisophical dialogue between characters that is completly unnecessary. It's frustrating to read because the plot foundation has (or had) the potential to be an amazing story, but it went wasted because the author tried to make it into something completly different.

posted by 2290895 on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 312 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Great story - Definite re-read

    Unlike other reviews, I will not provide a synopsis. The story was followed throughout the book. The characters grew, and evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Card's descriptions, and his humor in the dialogue. I had read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow. I can see why the books are geared toward adolescent readers, but I'm not afraid to admit that this 42 year old enjoys a little fantasy reading. Some of the descriptions may be tough to tackle, but stick with it... the story is worth the time!!! Look forward to the next one in the series.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Orson Scott Card does not disappoint

    If you like sci-fi, colony stories then you should love this book. It is a lot like Ender's Game and so if you enjoyed that book you should read the Pathfinder.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Don't Miss Out on this great read!!

    Orson Scott Card WAS not one my "Favorite Authors". His books are generally part of my "When There's Nothing Great To Read" list. Let's face it, most of us have our "Favorite Author" list, which takes priority and then there are authors that we enjoy from time to time, but they never quite made to the "Favorite Author" list, so they get relegated to a secondary list of things we'd like to read "When There's Nothing Great To Read". After Pathfinder, Orson Scott Card just got bumped. Pathfinder was a journey worth taking again and again! I've read the story once, loaned the book to my Mother who insisted on reading it THREE times, before she returned it and now I'm reading it again. Card broke a lot of science fiction rules and created his own. He created characters that you wanted to spend time with and a story line that is riveting. This book didn't disappoint in the least bit.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Big let-down

    I don't know what Orson Scott Card was thinking. In most of his books, the characters all seem impersonal, like there's no connection. That usually isn't a problem, because he adds other things to make the book interesting. In Pathfinder, it's like Card tries to make it unreadable; there are literally entire pages of philisophical dialogue between characters that is completly unnecessary. It's frustrating to read because the plot foundation has (or had) the potential to be an amazing story, but it went wasted because the author tried to make it into something completly different.

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    It forces teens to mature too fast and that they are pushed out

    It forces teens to mature too fast and that they are pushed out into trouble by society and do not want that image of society to be in young teens minds

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Anonymous

    This was a very great story. I can see that it is not for everyone but if you like working your brain this is a good book for you. I would say that this is a great summer read BECAUSE it helps the reader think while keeping the reader thoroughly entertained. There are some confusing parts but if you justbstick with it everything is explained.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Ehhh....

    This book sounded like it would be interesting for anyone who loves science fiction. This was not the case. All the characters were poorly developed and generally irritating to read about. The dialoug was annoying and unrealistic. The same thing goes on for many pages just repeating the same thing over and over again. I dont know if this book just wasnt for me but i would not reccommend it to anyone.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    Yes, it's a bit hard to follow than my average type of book, but it's 200% worth it! OSC is such a brilliant writer, and this book is easily one of my new favorites. I can't wait for Ruins!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Really?

    Horrible from the beginning. I only was able to make it through chapter 2.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this looks great!

    i personally love everything orson scott card writes, he is a genoius, now this book looks even more excting, it reminds me about alvin miller, but i can tell it wont be much like it, im sure this book will be an instant hit, i cant wait this it comes out

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I love OSC, but....

    This book is painful to read, and I'm pretty sure I won't be finishing it. I'm about 2/3 of the way through, and the main character is making me nuts. I get the idea that he's trying to do anything to survive, but all the tricksy conversations with hidden undertones and explanations of why are exhausting. Unfortunately, I've experienced this kind of thing with OSC before, where the author seems to be entertaining himself with in-depth details about things I just don't care about. This is not a review of his writing, just a personal opinion based on what I like to read. Take that for what it's worth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Interesting/Different

    Well, I would be lying if I said this was my favorite. Not bad. It was interesting because it had so many different concepts. And I genuinely found the characters interesting. But there were moments were it was like. Come on Card, let me see some Ender kicking Bonzo action. I felt like there was a lot of potential to be really awesome, but too much dialog and not enough action.

    Time travel is always kind of interesting. And he took it to an extreme writing here. Which I haven't seen before. But it took on more of a study of it, an exploration. Rather than creating an eventful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Best books

    This was one of the best books I have ever read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!!

    I just started reading this book(chapter 3) and i already loving it,easy to read and very original for me,i never read science fiction until i got hookup by accident on The Hunger Games series and i love it,so yesterday i was looking for something like that and i did found it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Not my cup of tea

    I really wish that authors who establish a readership base to let their faithful followers know when they are about to depart from the expected course. This book is a prime example of my gripe. It is a poorly written, overly long flight of fantasy with mostly two dimensional characters who go on a quest (so what else is new here? Tolkien and Donaldson did it much better) that takes the reader tediously on a boring journry through hundreds of pages that culminates in one of the weakest and amateurish conclusions. This is the second Orson Scott Card books that have thoroughly disappointed this once enthusiastic fan this year.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    best book iv read in a while

    one word, AWESOME

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Excellent, as should be expected from Scott Card.

    I love the unique twists and style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Recommended

    I don't read a lot of books and my friend got me back into reading by making me read The Cleric Quintet and then into the Drizzt Do Urden books. This made me want to read more books I started with the Hunger Games and went to Barnes and Nobles and I saw this book and thought I'd give it a try, I am glad I did because it is a very interesting book it makes you think a lot but you might get lost in some of the dialogue if you are not familiar with time and space. The story reminded me a lot like Lost as far as the way it made you think and kept bringing more questions than answers. Towards the end most of your questions are answered but not all and that's where you will pick up in the second book called "Ruins"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    H

    Ehhh, not even a decent read. I got through the first few chapters and i was like 'when will this be over?' The whole book doesn't even make sense until like the 20th chapter. Not recomended

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Not the greatest

    While this book had interesting plot lines that made me want to read to the end, the perspective from which it was written was extremely obnoxious. I also didn't enjoy the dialog between the main characters...it was just a lot of brainstorming, talking in circles, and guessing back and forth. And the character's personalities seemed a bit farfetched and one dimensional. And somehow I am hoping that the sequel will be better because I feel that the story still has potential. Another thing...why is the knife on the front cover!? Unless that becomes more important down the road...there was no need for it to be on the front cover!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 312 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16