Customer Reviews for

Pathfinder (Pathfinder Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great story - Definite re-read

Unlike other reviews, I will not provide a synopsis. The story was followed throughout the book. The characters grew, and evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Card's descriptions, and his humor in the dialogue. I had read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow. I can see why the book...
Unlike other reviews, I will not provide a synopsis. The story was followed throughout the book. The characters grew, and evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Card's descriptions, and his humor in the dialogue. I had read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow. I can see why the books are geared toward adolescent readers, but I'm not afraid to admit that this 42 year old enjoys a little fantasy reading. Some of the descriptions may be tough to tackle, but stick with it... the story is worth the time!!! Look forward to the next one in the series.

posted by GeekSpot on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Big let-down

I don't know what Orson Scott Card was thinking. In most of his books, the characters all seem impersonal, like there's no connection. That usually isn't a problem, because he adds other things to make the book interesting. In Pathfinder, it's like Card tries to make it...
I don't know what Orson Scott Card was thinking. In most of his books, the characters all seem impersonal, like there's no connection. That usually isn't a problem, because he adds other things to make the book interesting. In Pathfinder, it's like Card tries to make it unreadable; there are literally entire pages of philisophical dialogue between characters that is completly unnecessary. It's frustrating to read because the plot foundation has (or had) the potential to be an amazing story, but it went wasted because the author tried to make it into something completly different.

posted by 2290895 on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    LET DOWN!!!

    The whole time i kept waiting for the story to actually start. If it takes you 50 pages to get through one scene then you should think about anouther profession.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Looks pretty good!

    This looks pretty good! For a class of mine I have to read "Enders Game" which I really didn't want to read until I got into it! Now I'm hooked. (I might pick this book up without any questions!)

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Mindblowing

    To all who say this book sucks, your to stupid to understand it. Thks is quite a complex book and probably one of my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    It was

    A not so good book. The first couple pages i thought were kind of convinsing and were great. But then the book started to get confusing and i didnt like it. But i kept reading in case the book was going to get better and alot less confusing. But by the about 100th page i couldnt read anymore and had to put the book (nook) down .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    This book was brutally boring. Do not read

    This book was brutally boring. Do not read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Awesomesauce

    Read the whole book and it is a series of twists and turns that slaps you in the face with excitement and thrill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    This is probably one of my favorite books

    Orsen Scott card did well with this book. It has a very good story line, but it took time to get to the point some times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    It is no secret that I enjoy Orson Scott Card's work.  He is a m

    It is no secret that I enjoy Orson Scott Card's work.  He is a masterful story teller, and this book in my opinion is one of his bests. It my mind spin trying to understand and comprehend the time travelling that the characters experience. It is mind boggling, and in a strange manner the rules are set and in the end they make sense, and it is clear that the rules where well thought out and established way before the characters even started to experience. It is interesting to note, that Orson Scott Card took 6 months to write this book, simply because there were so many details to keep track of, I think only fitting for a time travel novel. He did a tremendous job and I left me wanting for more and a little sad when the story ended because I was parting with Rigg.  Unlike, many authors, Orson Scott Card understands the importance of keeping the format the same, and making clean chapter break point of views between characters.  This made what could have been utterly confusing clear to the reader, and is masterfully done.  This book is also family friendly, in that I think kids of all ages would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Makes 12 monkeys seem clear cut

    I love the brain twister this book provided! Seemed as if the writer was jist as confused about causality problems as i was confused trying to read through them great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Not my faverte Not my favorite

    It is a awesome book but it can have tmi at times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great read!

    Love love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Best book

    This is one of the best books from him. Can't wait for second book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    I was surprised this was marketed as a YA book, because it is wr

    I was surprised this was marketed as a YA book, because it is written at
    an adult reading level. The science isn't complicated, and to quote a
    certain Doctor, "timey wimey wibbley wobbley" is always what
    happens when authors delve into time travel. Is the science accurate? I
    couldn't tell. Rigg is a Pathfinder, he sees the paths of everyone who
    has ever traveled anywhere through time and space. After his father
    dies, he sets out with his friend Umbo and find his sister Param. Along
    the way, he, Umbo and Param discover each has an ability to manipulate
    time...and that Rigg's Father may have lied to them all along. Including
    about his being Rigg's father. Similar to the Ender's series, Scott
    Card writes intelligently about children who's intellect and
    circumstances force them into maturity far faster than usual. The action
    never slows and the character development is excellent. Watching Rigg, a
    solitary creature, develop a loyal and unswerving band of friends is
    prickly journey filled with relationship pitfalls, danger, and wry
    humor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Amazing

    Yes

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Exellent

    Really good read but it can be confusing if you dont understand the science but its worth it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Anonymus

    I enjoyed the book and recomend it to all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    A Fast Fun Read!

    Orson Scott Card takes a free hand with his concepts in this and it is thought provoking and Fun! Enjoyed it a great deal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Good Book

    I really enjoyed this book. As soon as I saw it on the shelf at the store, I immediately wanted to read it. Good thing I did.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    An amazing read!!!

    This book is quite a read! I loved every bit of it! Card has outdone himself. After reading "Ender's Game" a few years back, I was estatic to hear that Card has written another book. "Pathfinder" is amazing and worth your time! For those who love fantasy, and adventure you will absolutley enjoy this book. Hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16