Customer Reviews for

Paths of Glory

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Another exceptional Jeffrey Archer

Can't say it's a thriller but once you start it you can't put it down. It's about a man's obsession to climb Mount Everest. At first I thought it was fiction but later found out it was a true story. Have loaned this book to three friends all of whom sat up all night ...
Can't say it's a thriller but once you start it you can't put it down. It's about a man's obsession to climb Mount Everest. At first I thought it was fiction but later found out it was a true story. Have loaned this book to three friends all of whom sat up all night because they couldn't put it down. Jeffrey Archer at his best again!

posted by CC37 on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Different From Archer's Other Works

Jeffrey Archer normally weaves great tales from the mundane in a clever and thrilling way. While this is a decent read - interesting enough to finish the book - it lacks the originality and plot twists that make most of his other books so fast-paced and fascinating.

posted by JFK on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Another exceptional Jeffrey Archer

    Can't say it's a thriller but once you start it you can't put it down. It's about a man's obsession to climb Mount Everest. At first I thought it was fiction but later found out it was a true story. Have loaned this book to three friends all of whom sat up all night because they couldn't put it down. Jeffrey Archer at his best again!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brings Historical Events To Life

    Normally, I much prefer to lose myself in a compelling work of fiction. Since I had read and appreciated some of Archer's other works, I thought I would give this one a chance. I was delighted almost from start to finish.

    The story recounts, in novel fashion, the life of George Mallory and his attempts to "conquor" Mt. Everest. It allows the reader to really get in to the feel of the character and times. And it revisits the mystery of Mallory's final attempt - did he perish mere feet from the summit? Or was he truly the first person to reach the summit, only to perish on the way down? You decide. . .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Wonderful

    Most enjoyable book I've read in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Interesting and different Jeffrey Archer

    The style is of course as classy and fluent to read as always.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Different From Archer's Other Works

    Jeffrey Archer normally weaves great tales from the mundane in a clever and thrilling way. While this is a decent read - interesting enough to finish the book - it lacks the originality and plot twists that make most of his other books so fast-paced and fascinating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed it

    This was a new experience, as I had no prior interest to mountain climbing, and I also had never read any of Archer's work. However, the mystery of whether or not George Mallory made it to the top of Everest was intriguing enough that I picked up the book. It went by rather quick and that is my only minor complaint. I'm glad Archer chose to share this story. While the mystery surrounding George Mallory remains, it is noted in the post of the book that his grandson did get to the top of Everest in 1995.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I found a hard copy of this book at work and it caught my attent

    I found a hard copy of this book at work and it caught my attention. I was a great read! The way Mr. Archer writes was spectacular and refreshing to me. I felt like I was the with George  Mallory climbing Mt Everest.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    This was another excellent book by Jeffrey Archer

    This is an amazing story of one man's obsession with climbing Mt Everest, no matter what the personal loss. As always with Archer's books, you can't stop reading until the end. Wonderful!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Couples are no longer in love

    A book about breakups when you cant handle it anymore especially not with your boyfriend they like treat girls like crap

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Syuhk

    Cjblkkdhggzhy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great Book - Very Touching Love Story

    The Love Story and the history transcends the decades; it was suspensfull, movings and importantly it was accurate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    Awesome read!!!

    Jeffrey Archer's Paths of Glory is an enthralling and captivating tale of the adventures of a man seeking to reach his goals. This book follows the life of George Mallory, one of the men who aspired to be the first person on top of Mt. Everest. The most interesting part is that nobody knows if he ever made it to the top.
    George Mallory worked his whole life trying to achieve this dream, but unfortunately died in his final attempt. Archer does an excellent job of drawing the reader into the life of George Mallory. From his school days, to his wedding, to his final endeavor at Everest, Archer captivates you in Mallory's world.
    Beginning when Mallory was a young boy, he showed a love for adventure that continued to grow as he got older. After conquering every challenge he faced up to that point, he decided to push himself even further and attempt to climb the tallest mountain in the world.
    His desire to climb this mountain was affirmed even more when he saw Everest for the first time: "George was lost for words. He stared up at the highest mountain in the world. Everest's radiant summit dominated the skyline, making the other peaks of the mighty Himalaya look like a kindergarten playground."
    Mallory attempted this challenge in 1924 and never made it home. It is unknown whether he died on the way up to the summit, or if he made it to the top and died during his descent. Sadly, he was survived by his wife and three young children.
    This isn't a biography of Mallory's life, but more a fictionalization. Archer takes the facts collected from different journals and then fills in the gaps of Mallory's history.
    If you are looking for the happy love story ending, "and they all lived happily ever after," this might not be the book for you. Even though the tragic ending is known before the book has even been started, it's still an exciting page-turner. I truly enjoyed reading this book and being able to learn about the time period and what challenges Mallory faced. Did George Mallory make it to the top of Mt. Everest? The real ending is not known, but if you are curious, you will have to read the book and decide for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    A Great Read

    A fictionalized account of the life of George Mallory, among the first men to attempt Mt. Everest. The book takes you from his young life through school and college, the love of his life and, of course, the attempts on Mt. Everest. The book is as true to Mallory's life as the author could get, full of the little details that really make a story interesting. Of special interest at the back of book the author followed up on all persons in the story, giving a brief account of their life. The whole book was fascinating but those tidbits at the end about everyone was the icing on the cake for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Old Fashioned Hero

    I had heard of George Mallory but never read much about him. Archer portrays him as an old school British hero. THe book is well written but I have a few complaints. Mainly, I wish he had given more detail at the end of the book. Did he make up Mallory's lettrs? Were the basic incidents of Mallory's life as written? It also would have been nice to have a list of sources he used to write the book and some reccomended reading about Mallory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Intelligent and hopeful

    This changes everything. It reaches into the hearts and lives of those who experienced it through their own chronicles and letters. It is a story of hope and joy and most of all it is a story of a wife who knows that the true measure of loving a husband is to allow him and encourage him to be himself.

    This story is about realizing that we cannot and should not try to change our true selves.
    Anything is attainable by the human spirit - and Jeffrey Archer has finally set George Mallory's spirit free. He deserves our admiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Nice read, nothing more

    It was an interesting story that bogged down from time to time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a book worth reading

    This book was somewhat different from most of Jeffrey Archer's books, however if you are a a person who likes reading history you will find this interesting. I think that a lot of imagination was put into recreating the personal story of George Mallory. It was so good that I felt as though I because a personal friend of his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Touching and Human

    Classic theme of main against nature, with a very human twist

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Glorious

    No one tells a story like Jeffrey Archer. He is a master and this book is a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Pleasant Surprise

    I really enjoyed this book. I was not a big fan of his, but this book pleasantly surprised me. I could almost picture myself being with the characters as they were climbing. I will try some of his other writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3