Customer Reviews for

Patience

Average Rating 3.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Author posted on website

Patience not coming out this month. She still has 3 chapters to write. www.lisavaldez.com

posted by 247967 on January 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ZERO STARS

I loved Passion's story and was looking forward to Parience's. What a disappointment! The story is unbelievable from the first sex scene. Come on, a Victorian era virgin, bible-quoting, vicar's daughter would not have S&M and fellatio as a first sexual encounter. And...
I loved Passion's story and was looking forward to Parience's. What a disappointment! The story is unbelievable from the first sex scene. Come on, a Victorian era virgin, bible-quoting, vicar's daughter would not have S&M and fellatio as a first sexual encounter. And the sex scenes just deteriorated from there. By the end of the novel i was expecting whips and chains to appear.

Instead of Valdez devoting the entire novel to Patience and Matthew rutting in every manor except vaginal intercourse, Valdez shiould've spent her energies developing the characters, their love, and the plot.

I enjoy romance novels and am willing to stretch the imagination but this novel literally turned my stomach.

Readers don't waste your money!

posted by 8645122 on November 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Well... it took me by surprise

    I was a huge fan of Lisa's first book Passion and I eagerly waited for her newest. I'm not usually surprised by what I read, but wow this time I was. I'm all for fabulous, sexual scenes, but I was turned off by the religious references - that imply it is ok for men to dominate women and women to be submissive...ugh. I used to be able to appreciate people's interest in bondage, etc. but throwing religion into it just reminds me that there are men and women who think it's ok for a man to literally dominate a woman. I didn't feel the characters were equal in their sexually because of that- it felt more like Matt would want to dominate her all the time - not just sexually. I did not feel the connection between the characters like I did in Passion - nor the intenseness. But, I am happy that the book finally came out and I look forward to Lisa's next book - I can't wait to see where that one takes us!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    5 star erotic loves scenes that desperately needed more pages of romance

    Valdez really knows how to push the envelope when it comes to loves scenes in historical romance novels while still managing to write a wonderful story. I admit that, at first, I was shocked by the sexually explicit content of Passion (the prequel to Patience) but it opened up my eyes to other possibilities in the historical romance genre. So you can imagine my excitement when Patience finally came out. Unfortunately I found this book to be not as good as its predecessor IMHO. Here's why-

    I loved the first few loves scenes between Matthew and Patience. You think Passion was smoking? Honey, you ain't seen nothing yet! It was shocking, titilating, and frankly eye opening (do NOT read this book in public! *blushing furiously*)! Seriously this a new flavor to anyone not familiar with submissive sex. Vanilla it ain't. ..... But then came scenes 4, 5 etc. Now that's an overkill. Yeah, there is actually too much sex. I could barely catch my breath! Even if they weren't having sex they were thinking about it. Jeeze, I didn't want to read another line about a red, purple veined thing or waterfalls between someones legs. And if Matthew spanked Patience one more time.....argh! It got to a point when I didn't know if I was reading a romance novel or a how to book on submission and domination. A bit too much information that could have been spent on developing the romantic relationship (you know that part outside of the bedroom?).

    Then there were the cumbers. I won't be eating them for awhile. Can someone explain to me why a *vicars* daughter, who quotes the bible in the book, has experience practicing on cucumbers? and she's not making salad people!!! Isn't she supposed to be this sweet angelic woman with high morals? Oh yeah give her a few big O's and eventually she's using the f-word too. Come on! This is a historical romance. Maybe if she was a courtesan I would buy it but a piously raised girl? Victorian era? Not buying it.

    And finally there was the revenge plot had a lot of potential but sort of fizzled out in the end. A few more pages of explanation would have been nice.

    Aside from those few complaints I think the major flaw in this story is that its not long enough. Either cut out a bunch of love scenes or add another 50 pages. Because by the end of the book I couldn't answer a critical question: Are Matthew and Patience really in love? Or did they just find their perfect bed partner? Yes there was a beautiful ending but I needed more (remember the scene in in Passion when Mark tells Passion he will write her letters?.... I'm getting teary already *sniff*) I wanted that same feeling in Patience too. I don't mind sex early in a book provided that eventually the author spends time revealing the characters true feelings not just their body parts. There were points in the book that gave me hope but sadly not enough. Wish there more, that would have made a huge difference and maybe gone from 3 to 5 stars.

    That being said, I have to admire Valdez for putting out such a explicit book about a somewhat taboo subject. Submission in historical romances? LOL! -try googling that one! It takes guts to put a book like this out into the average romance market. But I have no doubt that most romance readers would enjoy reading this book, even if its only for the shock factor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1