Customer Reviews for

The Patient

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Exciting and Realistic

Great story with lots of action; realistic medical scenes, characters that grab you....an excellent one by this medical thriller author.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Micheal Palmer

Micheal Palmer is one of my favorites,because you never know what to expect ... I did like this one but not as much as I have liked some of his other books...

posted by Cadia on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Micheal Palmer

    Micheal Palmer is one of my favorites,because you never know what to expect ... I did like this one but not as much as I have liked some of his other books...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Great Thunderstorm Read

    Palmer mixes medical terminology with terrorism and suspense, creating the perfect read during a thunderstorm!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2001

    Best Medical Mystery

    I couldn't put this book down.I was an O.R. nurse for 30 years.Very realistic.Don't start reading this book late at night because you will not be able to stop reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2001

    Exciting and Realistic

    Great story with lots of action; realistic medical scenes, characters that grab you....an excellent one by this medical thriller author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    Nail Biting Quality

    As a reader of mysteries, I consider myself a 'connoisseur' on stories in that genre. Just finished a read of The Paient. Wow, it kept me from T.V.; counldn't put the book down until the last page was turned. Got to go get Palmer novels I might have missed. It has every ingredient: suspence, evil incarnate, a plot that keeps one riveted to the last page. Mr. Palmer gives the reader some insight into the field of medicine too. Keep them coming Palmer, your novels put new meaning into the word suspence and make for a delightful escape!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2000

    Great for the Beach

    An excellent example of suspense writing mixed with just enough scientific advancement not to give you a brain tumor. This was truely a page turning delight, I now have to find some of his ealier works and make sure i haven't been missing some other great books. Enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Fasten your seatbelt.

    Another showstopper by Dr. Palmer, The Patient is a master work of conflict and resolution. Just as you think it's okay to relax, the action compels you to fasten your seatbelt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2015

    Good

    One of my favorite by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Excellent!

    I really enjoyed this book. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book truly is one of fewbest books I've ever read. The suspense is amazing. The front cover page doesn't do much justice for this incredible book. Truly, a powerfull book. You wont be dissappointed, recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Mediocre at best

    Interesting now and then but also boring at times. Much to technical. Unlless you are a docter stay away. Fifth Vial a much better book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Good reading

    Fast pace, quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Like watching an episode of ER

    This was my first MP book, and it was very good. However, I was almost halfway through the book before the blurb on the back cover started to play out. I was expecting some kind of suspense. This book really had none of that, at least not what I'm used to in a suspense thriller. That said, it was well written and was a captivating story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    Fantastic

    This is the first Michael Palmer book I read and I will read more in the future. The book got really good towards the middle and then I was unable to put it down. Loved Dr. Copeland's character. I'm in the medical field and this book was very realistic. Thought it would make a great movie also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Another Smash Hit

    Former ER physician Michael Palmer chills you to the bone. This was the first of his thrillers I read and it was so awesome I have since read it about 200 times. I think that he should create another story with Jessie Copeland because she has encouraged me to become a neurosurgeon. After reading this book, I have started writing some medical thrillers of my own. Keep them coming, Michael. Jessie must star once more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2001

    Not a very good book

    I was disappointed in this book. He has written many great books. This is not one of them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    Great Medical Thriller

    The Patient is the best medical thriller I have read this year. Not only is the hero a woman but she's also a neurosurgen. Melloche is an international terrorist with a brain tumor. Dr. Jessie copeland is his only hope. don't miss this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    E.R. Thriller

    This state-of-the art medical thriller is full of E.R. style suspense, starring brilliant young neurosurgeon Jessie Copeland--who's faced with either saving the life of a monstrous killer or triggering a catastrophe in downtown Boston.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    Great audio book

    First audio book I ever bought. I ended up driving quite slow so as I could hear more of this story. Very suspenseful, had a hard time leaving my car. From the first 5 minutes, it is fast paced and very interesting. Not alot of medical terminology like I expected. Easy to follow and very easy to enjoy. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2000

    Michael Palmer Scores Once Again

    Not only have I read all of Palmer's books but they are a must for every mystery reader's own library collection. This is his best yet. Believe it when they tell you not to start reading 'The Patient' around 10pm. You just can't put the book down. It is truly a page burner. And what and ending. Bravo Michael. Will be eargerly awaiting your next medical thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2