Customer Reviews for

Patient Zero (Joe Ledger Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Must read

Joe Ledger is good, really good, usually when he puts someone down, they stay down, but like the story starts "When you have to kill the same terrorist twice in one week there's either something wrong with your world or something wrong with your skills... and there's no...
Joe Ledger is good, really good, usually when he puts someone down, they stay down, but like the story starts "When you have to kill the same terrorist twice in one week there's either something wrong with your world or something wrong with your skills... and there's nothing wrong with Joe Ledger's skills."


In that first paragraph I was "all in". Patient Zero grabbed hold and never let go. Maberry is relentless, he latches on to your greatest fears, shows you people you might know, people you may even love, then shows you the worst things you can imagine, and some you couldn't.



From a literary perspective this book was fascinating, as the story is told both in first person (From the perspective of Joe Ledger) and also in third person when it is necessary to see things from another perspective. I'll be honest, I haven't seen this done much and never this well. There was a moment in the very beginning of the when my mind wanted to shout POV violation, but once i saw what had happened I realized just how well it worked.

This is, bar none, one of the best books I've read in a couple of years, and THE best zombie book I've read. Don't let the whole Zombie thing keep you from reading this. It's not really about the zombies, it's about the people. Jonathan Maberry doesn't create characters, the PEOPLE in this book feel as real as you and me.

posted by JasonDWarden on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Generic, cliché, zombie-action movie

I enjoyed the start of this novel, though it quickly became very cliché. Think Predator, starring the Governator and Ventura and all the macho-posing it contained, replete with one-liners and snappy dialogue. The more I read, the more the protagonist, Joe Ledger, became...
I enjoyed the start of this novel, though it quickly became very cliché. Think Predator, starring the Governator and Ventura and all the macho-posing it contained, replete with one-liners and snappy dialogue. The more I read, the more the protagonist, Joe Ledger, became a caricature of every action-movie star ever invented. Additionally, though it may seem absurd to question plausibility in a novel about the living dead, I was bothered by some of the more absurd plot elements, such as major pharmaceutical companies being fronts for terrorist groups, terrorists individually outsmarting every U.S. intelligence agency in existence, plus their complete ability to encrypt cell phones so they could communicate at will without fear of eavesdroppers, and their ability to produce scientific technology in their remote bases decades ahead of U.S. capabilities. If you aren't bothered by movies with plot holes, but principally want lots of violence, an invincible main character, arterial spray, and zombies, you'll likely enjoy the book as it provides all this and then some. I was asked to suspend my disbelief too many times in this novel and couldn't stop myself from picking it apart as I read. I don't plan to read more by the author.

posted by Genghis_Sean on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Must read

    Joe Ledger is good, really good, usually when he puts someone down, they stay down, but like the story starts "When you have to kill the same terrorist twice in one week there's either something wrong with your world or something wrong with your skills... and there's nothing wrong with Joe Ledger's skills."


    In that first paragraph I was "all in". Patient Zero grabbed hold and never let go. Maberry is relentless, he latches on to your greatest fears, shows you people you might know, people you may even love, then shows you the worst things you can imagine, and some you couldn't.



    From a literary perspective this book was fascinating, as the story is told both in first person (From the perspective of Joe Ledger) and also in third person when it is necessary to see things from another perspective. I'll be honest, I haven't seen this done much and never this well. There was a moment in the very beginning of the when my mind wanted to shout POV violation, but once i saw what had happened I realized just how well it worked.

    This is, bar none, one of the best books I've read in a couple of years, and THE best zombie book I've read. Don't let the whole Zombie thing keep you from reading this. It's not really about the zombies, it's about the people. Jonathan Maberry doesn't create characters, the PEOPLE in this book feel as real as you and me.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Generic, cliché, zombie-action movie

    I enjoyed the start of this novel, though it quickly became very cliché. Think Predator, starring the Governator and Ventura and all the macho-posing it contained, replete with one-liners and snappy dialogue. The more I read, the more the protagonist, Joe Ledger, became a caricature of every action-movie star ever invented. Additionally, though it may seem absurd to question plausibility in a novel about the living dead, I was bothered by some of the more absurd plot elements, such as major pharmaceutical companies being fronts for terrorist groups, terrorists individually outsmarting every U.S. intelligence agency in existence, plus their complete ability to encrypt cell phones so they could communicate at will without fear of eavesdroppers, and their ability to produce scientific technology in their remote bases decades ahead of U.S. capabilities. If you aren't bothered by movies with plot holes, but principally want lots of violence, an invincible main character, arterial spray, and zombies, you'll likely enjoy the book as it provides all this and then some. I was asked to suspend my disbelief too many times in this novel and couldn't stop myself from picking it apart as I read. I don't plan to read more by the author.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Zombie Terrorists!

    I hadn't realized that there were many zombie novels out there. Except for graphic novels and comic books, I was a zombie virgin. I loved the original "Dawn of the Dead" movie from the 80s, but now have found that reading "Patient Zero" has brought out the inner zombie in me. Jonathan Maberry has written a suburb novel that had me captivated by each chapter. The story is set in a post 9/11 world where terrorists create zombies to terrorize America. This gripping and creepy thriller is a must read. Whether it is greed or religious beliefs that motivate the villains, nobody would want zombies roaming the streets of our world.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    '24' Meets 'Resident Evil' with a touch of 'Splinter Cell'

    This book was right up my alley in ever way. Having fell in love with characters like Sam Fisher and Jack Bauer, Joe Ledger was easy understand. And being a huge zombie fan (pre The Walking Dead) I always loved the idea of it being a genetically manipulated virus as oppose to the supernatural. If anything it mixed techno-thriller/espionage with horror; two of my favorite genres. I recommend this especially for any readers who are equal part gamers.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An average Joe living in a not-so-average world

    I think Jonathon Maberry had the right idea when he opens with a quote of Part One:

    A hero is no braver than an ordinary man, but he is braver five minutes longer.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

    I'm not sure if Emerson is die-hard Team Zombie, but in this instance, he certainly captures the essence of Joe Ledger. Furthermore, I don't know if Emerson elaborates, but I am fairly certain that five minutes can definitely change a person. I mean, wouldn't it be safe to say that after these five precious minutes, a hero is no longer an ordinary man? He has seen something different, and that will affect the rest of his life. Ledger has killed a terrorist twice in one week - a terrorist who tried to literally rip his throat off - and that has prepared him to be the nation's #1 zombie slayer.

    What really motivated me to read the book was not the plot (though it was very well done if you like the political suspense/thriller genre), but the character of Joe Ledger. He was very badass and sarcastic and didn't care if you had issues with him. He knew how to survive and how to keep you alive as long as possible (unless you deliberately don't want to stay alive).

    I just found Joe really endearing, even though he definitely would punch me in the gut for saying so. But I understand if no one else shares my opinion. It took a few pages or so before Joe really grew on me and I just had to keep reading to see what nonsense he had to mess with.

    So, there were funny bits throughout, but not much. Which makes sense since I don't think Patient Zero was going for funniest zombie book of the year. Like I mentioned earlier, it came across more of a political thriller. The actual plot was okay. If I was more into the genre, I think I would have been blown away. I think what deterred me was how the story sometimes detoured into the other characters' perspectives. It would have worked, I think, if there was no first-person narration of Joe Ledger. However, going from first-person to third-person of another character just did not work well for me. I did not care what the brains behind the terrorist operation were doing at the moment or their suspicions of being betrayed by each other. Patient Zero did not quite capture my interest beyond Joe's character, sad to say, though I really wished it swept me off my feet like World War Z.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the best book out there right now! It's better than Worl

    This is the best book out there right now! It's better than World war Z, The Remaining, Zombie Fallout, and Z-Day: First Blood! In fact all these put together couldn't add up to the thrill that I got from reading this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    BLAH

    Man after seeing the reviews I feel kind of bad putting mine.. I must say after reading Rot & Ruin and Dusty & Decay by this author I was EXCITIED to read some of his other work.. I started this book with HIGH hopes and was sadly let down.. After about 30 some odd chapters I had to put the book down.. I try very hard to get into it before putting a book down but I just couldnt go on.. It did not hold my attention and I did not have the NEED to read it when I was away from the book and I didnt think about the book when I wasnt reading it .. I am just over all BLAH about it..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brains and Boom-Boom!

    REVIEWS OF UNUSUAL SIZE -


    Re: A zombie book by the new modern master of the undead. Jonathan Maberry has written a few books on zombies now, including a "nonfiction" examination of them, this military style thriller and a young adult novel. He must like the staggering suckers, and he does a great job writing about them.

    Outstanding: Last time I reviewed Patient Zero, about a year ago, I praised it for its lighting pace and the twist on zombies. Re reading it, I also found myself really liking the characters themselves, especially Joe's buddy, Rudy.

    Unacceptable: Not much to dislike here. I'm not big on drawn out descriptions of weapons and military specs, but Maberry adds just enough to keep it legit without feeling bogged down. The first time around, I found myself mildly annoyed with two of the villains, Gault and Toys, and assumed it would be the same this time, but even they were more enjoyable this read through.

    Summary: An entertaining, well-written novel. I do have to say though, it's more of a thriller than a horror novel. Great for the zombie lover that also digs a good shootout, but if you're looking for a creepy book to read in the shadows, try his Pine Deep trilogy instead.

    5/5

    r-o-u-s.blogspot

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Great read must check it out!

    Very well written ! This would make for a great movie! I'm reading it for the second time!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    New twist on the zombie genre

    Loved it. Being from the area in the book (oc md) it really touched home.
    I admire JM going out on limb with the new twist on zombies (new to me anyways).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Not a true Zombie novel..

    well for me the book was ok I mean it just wasnt as advertised..For instence there isnt that much action or really zombies..its ok all in all but just lacked in the zombie department like maybe 300 hundred zoms in the whole book and 200 in one chapter and that is midway in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this story very much. Joe Ledger is a warrior with spe

    I enjoyed this story very much. Joe Ledger is a warrior with special, almost super human skills. He is a strong leader and gets the job done. He isn’t perfect though, which makes the character more believable.

    The story starts quietly with Joe enjoying the beach and the scenery (girls in skimpy bathing suits, lol). Then very quickly escalates in fight after fight of putting down a terrorist attack scheduled for the 4th of July. The bad guys have created a new biological weapon. It is almost fool proof. In the midst of all of this, it comes to light that there is a mole, a traitor, in the new super-secret organization that Joe is now a part of. Will Joe and his team save the day? Read the book to find out.

    I’ve been following Maberry for a while, but this is the first book of his that I’ve read. It won’t be the last. Science, adventure, monsters, with a little humor. Just the right mix for a fabulous read. Pick it up and check for yourself. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    This sucks

    Worst book EVER i hate this book but i loved rot and ruin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Nice.

    Good read. Will be reading more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    I havent read it yet but...

    I havrnt read this book yet but i have read rot and ruin. The book was great( Rot and Ruin)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Lovef it

    Action packed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Awesome read!

    Lots of action, great plot and well written. I thought this would turn into another zombie plauge book but turned out to be much more.

    Highly reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Part CIA thriller, part zombie apocalypse, ¿Patient Zero¿ provid

    Part CIA thriller, part zombie apocalypse, ‘Patient Zero’ provides a great mix of zombie action and spy vs. terrorist entreat to create a unique type of book. There is a lot of action and the story moves well from place to place. The characters are likable and real, not just stone faced killers you sometimes get in these novels, but I wish Joe’s smart mouth continued a bit more throughout the book to bring just that touch of humor. A great read for zombie and thrill seekers alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Overall great book! Action packed and lots of twists, although I

    Overall great book! Action packed and lots of twists, although I found Joe Ledger not to be as bada$$ as people claim him to be. Great storyline and can't wait to read the other Joe Ledger Novels! I was tossed up between giving this book a 5 star and 4 star.....wish there was 4.5 star button.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Wild fun, though a bit preachy

    I could have done without the chapters-long dissertations on the nature of man and the fine line between the near-psychotic good guys and psychotic bad guys. Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed the narrative and kept wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12