BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Patient Zero (Joe Ledger Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Must read

Joe Ledger is good, really good, usually when he puts someone down, they stay down, but like the story starts "When you have to kill the same terrorist twice in one week there's either something wrong with your world or something wrong with your skills... and there's no...
Joe Ledger is good, really good, usually when he puts someone down, they stay down, but like the story starts "When you have to kill the same terrorist twice in one week there's either something wrong with your world or something wrong with your skills... and there's nothing wrong with Joe Ledger's skills."


In that first paragraph I was "all in". Patient Zero grabbed hold and never let go. Maberry is relentless, he latches on to your greatest fears, shows you people you might know, people you may even love, then shows you the worst things you can imagine, and some you couldn't.



From a literary perspective this book was fascinating, as the story is told both in first person (From the perspective of Joe Ledger) and also in third person when it is necessary to see things from another perspective. I'll be honest, I haven't seen this done much and never this well. There was a moment in the very beginning of the when my mind wanted to shout POV violation, but once i saw what had happened I realized just how well it worked.

This is, bar none, one of the best books I've read in a couple of years, and THE best zombie book I've read. Don't let the whole Zombie thing keep you from reading this. It's not really about the zombies, it's about the people. Jonathan Maberry doesn't create characters, the PEOPLE in this book feel as real as you and me.

posted by JasonDWarden on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Generic, cliché, zombie-action movie

I enjoyed the start of this novel, though it quickly became very cliché. Think Predator, starring the Governator and Ventura and all the macho-posing it contained, replete with one-liners and snappy dialogue. The more I read, the more the protagonist, Joe Ledger, became...
I enjoyed the start of this novel, though it quickly became very cliché. Think Predator, starring the Governator and Ventura and all the macho-posing it contained, replete with one-liners and snappy dialogue. The more I read, the more the protagonist, Joe Ledger, became a caricature of every action-movie star ever invented. Additionally, though it may seem absurd to question plausibility in a novel about the living dead, I was bothered by some of the more absurd plot elements, such as major pharmaceutical companies being fronts for terrorist groups, terrorists individually outsmarting every U.S. intelligence agency in existence, plus their complete ability to encrypt cell phones so they could communicate at will without fear of eavesdroppers, and their ability to produce scientific technology in their remote bases decades ahead of U.S. capabilities. If you aren't bothered by movies with plot holes, but principally want lots of violence, an invincible main character, arterial spray, and zombies, you'll likely enjoy the book as it provides all this and then some. I was asked to suspend my disbelief too many times in this novel and couldn't stop myself from picking it apart as I read. I don't plan to read more by the author.

posted by Genghis_Sean on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Must read

    Joe Ledger is good, really good, usually when he puts someone down, they stay down, but like the story starts "When you have to kill the same terrorist twice in one week there's either something wrong with your world or something wrong with your skills... and there's nothing wrong with Joe Ledger's skills."


    In that first paragraph I was "all in". Patient Zero grabbed hold and never let go. Maberry is relentless, he latches on to your greatest fears, shows you people you might know, people you may even love, then shows you the worst things you can imagine, and some you couldn't.



    From a literary perspective this book was fascinating, as the story is told both in first person (From the perspective of Joe Ledger) and also in third person when it is necessary to see things from another perspective. I'll be honest, I haven't seen this done much and never this well. There was a moment in the very beginning of the when my mind wanted to shout POV violation, but once i saw what had happened I realized just how well it worked.

    This is, bar none, one of the best books I've read in a couple of years, and THE best zombie book I've read. Don't let the whole Zombie thing keep you from reading this. It's not really about the zombies, it's about the people. Jonathan Maberry doesn't create characters, the PEOPLE in this book feel as real as you and me.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Zombie Terrorists!

    I hadn't realized that there were many zombie novels out there. Except for graphic novels and comic books, I was a zombie virgin. I loved the original "Dawn of the Dead" movie from the 80s, but now have found that reading "Patient Zero" has brought out the inner zombie in me. Jonathan Maberry has written a suburb novel that had me captivated by each chapter. The story is set in a post 9/11 world where terrorists create zombies to terrorize America. This gripping and creepy thriller is a must read. Whether it is greed or religious beliefs that motivate the villains, nobody would want zombies roaming the streets of our world.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the best book out there right now! It's better than Worl

    This is the best book out there right now! It's better than World war Z, The Remaining, Zombie Fallout, and Z-Day: First Blood! In fact all these put together couldn't add up to the thrill that I got from reading this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brains and Boom-Boom!

    REVIEWS OF UNUSUAL SIZE -


    Re: A zombie book by the new modern master of the undead. Jonathan Maberry has written a few books on zombies now, including a "nonfiction" examination of them, this military style thriller and a young adult novel. He must like the staggering suckers, and he does a great job writing about them.

    Outstanding: Last time I reviewed Patient Zero, about a year ago, I praised it for its lighting pace and the twist on zombies. Re reading it, I also found myself really liking the characters themselves, especially Joe's buddy, Rudy.

    Unacceptable: Not much to dislike here. I'm not big on drawn out descriptions of weapons and military specs, but Maberry adds just enough to keep it legit without feeling bogged down. The first time around, I found myself mildly annoyed with two of the villains, Gault and Toys, and assumed it would be the same this time, but even they were more enjoyable this read through.

    Summary: An entertaining, well-written novel. I do have to say though, it's more of a thriller than a horror novel. Great for the zombie lover that also digs a good shootout, but if you're looking for a creepy book to read in the shadows, try his Pine Deep trilogy instead.

    5/5

    r-o-u-s.blogspot

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this story very much. Joe Ledger is a warrior with spe

    I enjoyed this story very much. Joe Ledger is a warrior with special, almost super human skills. He is a strong leader and gets the job done. He isn’t perfect though, which makes the character more believable.

    The story starts quietly with Joe enjoying the beach and the scenery (girls in skimpy bathing suits, lol). Then very quickly escalates in fight after fight of putting down a terrorist attack scheduled for the 4th of July. The bad guys have created a new biological weapon. It is almost fool proof. In the midst of all of this, it comes to light that there is a mole, a traitor, in the new super-secret organization that Joe is now a part of. Will Joe and his team save the day? Read the book to find out.

    I’ve been following Maberry for a while, but this is the first book of his that I’ve read. It won’t be the last. Science, adventure, monsters, with a little humor. Just the right mix for a fabulous read. Pick it up and check for yourself. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Nice.

    Good read. Will be reading more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    I havent read it yet but...

    I havrnt read this book yet but i have read rot and ruin. The book was great( Rot and Ruin)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Lovef it

    Action packed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Awesome read!

    Lots of action, great plot and well written. I thought this would turn into another zombie plauge book but turned out to be much more.

    Highly reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Part CIA thriller, part zombie apocalypse, ¿Patient Zero¿ provid

    Part CIA thriller, part zombie apocalypse, ‘Patient Zero’ provides a great mix of zombie action and spy vs. terrorist entreat to create a unique type of book. There is a lot of action and the story moves well from place to place. The characters are likable and real, not just stone faced killers you sometimes get in these novels, but I wish Joe’s smart mouth continued a bit more throughout the book to bring just that touch of humor. A great read for zombie and thrill seekers alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Joe rules!

    Patient Zero is one of the best and well explained zombie novels out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great Read

    This is the beginning of a great series so worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    holly cow...

    Wow, i have no words to say other then this is honestly the best book i have read in ten years... i loved every second of it and could not put it down .. just try this one out and you shall not regret it one bit ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Best zombie novel

    I am the biggest zombie fan in the world and this book and author has been my inspiration to wright i have my own zombie novel because of maberry Zomie repellent im working on it now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    fantastic

    what an amazing story and writer! could not put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Patient Zero Joe Ledger Book One By Jonathan Maberry Joe Ledger

    Patient Zero
    Joe Ledger Book One
    By Jonathan Maberry

    Joe Ledger has been sought out for a very interesting mission, to stop the new face of Terror. When he must kill the same terrorist twice in one week he knows there is no way he can turn down his latest assignment. What if there is more to the newest Terrorist threat than just the jihad extremist?

    I am not a huge fan of zombie novels there have only been a couple so far that I actually enjoyed; most seem to be all about zombies taking over and less about an actual storyline. This take on the genre is absolutely fascinating taking into account the struggles America has been facing and twists it into something truly frightening as the war on Terror now has an all new meaning when the dead begin to come back to life after being injected with a new strain of prion disease. Since not much is known about Prion Disease it has seem to have become a favorite for zombie fiction, which is fine by me it adds an all too realistic take on life after death. Not only does Jonathan Maberry create a vivid novel that is sure to leave you with the heebie jeebies but he also incorporates a fascinating storyline between each of the taskforce members. He also creates members in the taskforce that are relatable and from a military spouse point of view absolutely realistic in the way that they interact with each other. I definitely recommend this novel, especially if you are just beginning to feel out the zombie genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Just saying hi

    So hi
    And if yoou have a MovieStarPlanet account then friend me plz im Nina9789

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    And this is crazy so heres my number so call me maybe

    All the other boys try to chase me but heres my number so call me maybe

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Good

    A good and a little different riff on the zombie genre maberry is king of his craft. Not to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    I thought this book was great. It kept me entertained from start

    I thought this book was great. It kept me entertained from start to finish. I really did enjoy this version of traditional zombies with a twist. I will definitely be reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8