Customer Reviews for

The Patriot Witch (Traitor to the Crown Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    A great tale with history tying it together. Proctor Brown is a

    A great tale with history tying it together. Proctor Brown is a likeable character and easy to follow. I sped through the first book and immediately bought the last two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Great new twist

    This was a great book to read for enjoyment. It is an interesting twist on history that combined some adventure, science fiction and romance. I thoroughly enjoyed it and purchased the sequels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    A Good Read

    I had trouble putting this book down. I really got into it and can't wait to read the others in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Revolutionary witches

    This is a fast moving story with an unusual look at the Revolutionary War. I liked it so much, I immediately went to the store and bought the other two books in the series.

    Good book for teens and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    ehh

    i wanted to like this- i think the concept is an intriguing one. it just didn't grab me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    A good, solid historical fantasy.

    This book was a good and entertaining historical fantasy--Finlay imagines a world where magic plays a role in the events of the American Revolution. It's an engaging book, and one that was a lot of fun to read. The pacing in the book is great--there's a lot going on, and a lot of characters who all play a significant part in the story, but he keep the story moving fast enough to keep your attention but slow enough that you can get a handle on all of the information that you need to keep track of.

    Most importantly, the main character of this book is a really likeable guy who finds himself in the middle of an interesting problem. I liked Proctor, I wanted him to figure out what's going on with his magical talents, and I wanted him to get the girl and survive the battles. I'm looking forward to reading the next books in the series to see where Proctor goes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Nice for the history buff who likes science fiction

    It was interesting but I won't be purchasing any more books in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Pretty Bad

    I didn't enjoy The Patriot Witch at all. The author managed to make an interesting concept - the influence of magic on the events of the American Revolution - completely uninteresting. I had to force myself to finish it and promptly sold it to some poor unsuspecting buyer on Amazon.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Surprisingly Spectacular

    After reading the synopsis on the back cover I was expecting the Patriot Witch to be a cheesy and laborious read. To my delight it was the complete opposite. I was instantly drawn into Proctor Brown's character and the imagery created by Finley's writing. Finley has done a fantastic job of combining the history of the American Revolution, the lore or Salem Witchcraft and the Puritan society into a fast moving, well development and twisting thriller.

    Proctor Brown is a hit. He is a deeply religious man who is devoted to his family, his country and his future wife Emily. His ability in witchcraft is revealed early on and passed down through his mother. Brown's encounter with the magic wielding British Major Pitcairn begins a series of events that takes Brown on a journey of discovery. What makes Brown's journey into discovery of his "talent" in witchcraft is his naivety and arrogance. His arrogance is not malicious but instead reflective of an individual raised in a small town with a limited view of the world. Brown's innocence, patriotism and good natured character drew me in immediately and kept my engaged throughout the story.

    While Brown is the main character he is not the only one that provides a deep interest for a reader. Deborah Walcott is a witch that Brown immediately dislikes however their paths continue to cross eventually providing an interesting partnership. Brown's betrothed Emily Rucke, a Tory, provides the constant beckon of hope for Brown and a classic dilemma between his patriotism and his British-based opportunity. The villain known as the widow is ruthless and cunning a delicious introduction to the dark sorcery supporting the British.

    What I enjoyed most about the Patriot Witch was Finley's infusion of history and realism to the story, scenes and characters. The battle scenes were detailed and thorough so that you can smell the gun powder and hear the muskets and cannons. The witchcraft is founded on Biblical verses and links directly with the Puritan/Quaker society. The description of the minutemen pulls the reader into the 1770's lifestyle of farmers from New England. Each character had depth and you can tell that Finely spent time developing a strong backstory.

    I was thrilled with Finely's ability to set-up a typically story line and then diverge into new territories and twists. I highly recommend this book whether you are a history buff, sci/fi reader or just enjoy a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Authentic, Imaginative, and Refreshing

    The worst thing about reviewing books is writing a negative review, so thank goodness The Patriot Witch rocked!

    This is one of those books that glues itself to your fingers. Proctor Brown is a very likable guy who could make a patriot of anyone with his dedication to serving with his countrymen from Lexington to Bunker Hill, all the while risking discovery as a witch. The wonderful attention to detail weaves together with a strong sense of pacing and a sly subtlety on the affects of witchcraft on the war to create a picture of American history in the making that feels both highly authentic and highly imaginative.

    Most of the characters are strongly centered and complex with only one, Cecily, striking me as a bit obvious and flat in her role. Aside from that, the only negative I can come up with for the entire book is that one small aspect of the ending was too fast and as a result suffered in its emotional impact, but the rest more than compensated.

    So seriously, pick this up for a refreshing new look at history with a twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Patriot Witch a welcome different type of novel

    Proctor Brown could easily become one of my favorite Revolutionary war heroes. This is an engaging book that looks at the war from a slightly different perspective. From the attention to the detail of the life of a Minuteman at the start of the war, exploring the possibility of witches helping out both sides in this conflict, makes for a thrilling Fantasy. The world that has been created is easily seen and experienced.

    We learn along with Proctor Brown about the uses and curses of witchcraft during the start of the Revolutionary war. Watch as his eyes are opened to the talent that his mother has tried to hide from him and the true possibilities of what can be accomplished when Proctor sets his mind to it.

    This is a quick moving novel that manages to not only explore Proctor's coming of age with his abilities but also how this effects his relationship with his Family, the girl he loves (who of course supports the British), his friends from his youth, as well as new found friends that help him learn more about witchcraft then he ever would have thought possible.

    From his first encounter with a British officer wearing a Charm to the final battle scene this is a book that keeps you turning the pages and rooting for Proctor to not only save the day but to see what is important and really going on around Boston in 1775.

    I look forward to the other two novels to see where Mr.Finlay takes us in the next two parts. This is a book that I will recommend to my Friends and will sit on the must read again shelf in my den.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must-read fantasy set during the American Revolution

    Let me begin by saying that I was predisposed to like this book. Historical fantasies, especially historical fantasies set in early America, are few and far between, and I've read quite a few of the ones that exist. Some have stayed on my bookshelves, some are perennial reads, and others have fallen by the wayside.

    In fact, I opened the book with a little trepidation, because it's been so long since I've read anything good that I really, really wanted to like this and I knew I'd be horribly disappointed if I didn't. (Okay, it's been almost two years, since Territory by Emma Bull came out, and I've been dry for good historical fantasy since.)

    I wasn't disappointed. I mean, how can you go wrong with the American Revolution, witchcraft, zombies (yes, zombies!), a main character to root for, and a cameo appearance by none other than Paul Revere?

    Without going into too much detail and giving everything away, this is a excellently written and wonderfully researched novel, almost a coming-of-age of sorts, with a backdrop of the beginning of the American Revolutionary War. Proctor Brown is destined to be one of my favorite characters, especially if the other two books (A Spell for the Revolution and The Demon Redcoat, out in May and June 2009, respectively) are as good as the first. I really can't wait to find out what happens next.

    Ten years ago (I think), Stephen King published The Green Mile as a serial novel, and there have been more published since then. This is a serial series, and I hope that publishers take note of this, because as a very impatient reader, I think it's a great idea!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging Revolutionary War historical urban fantasy

    In 1775 Boston Proctor Brown joins the minuteman though he knows the woman he loves is a loyalist, which means her father will reject his courting her. However, Proctor has other issues more pressing as he finds himself possessing the ability to use witchcraft; a trait he was unaware of until recently. He inherited them from his mom, who was hoping to hide him from the skill. Though hesitant to use witchcraft, he hopes his ability will further the rebel cause.-----------

    Thus he is shocked when he realizes both sides of the conflict have practitioners. Proctor learns firsthand what that means when invincible British Officer Major Pitcairn bullies him and others without any retaliation because of a special protective medallion he wears. As Proctor tries to learn how to use his paranormal gift, the hostilities increase and he realizes he is the only one who might prevent Pitcairn from destroying the local Minutemen without anyone knowing he is a user. Then there is the British Master Witch to contend with that as a rookie he has no prayer to uncover the identity of let alone defeat.----------

    This is an engaging Revolutionary War historical urban fantasy that includes witchcraft as part of battles at Lexington and Concord, and Bunker Hill. The story line is crisp from the moment Proctor joins the rebellion and never slows down as he is an interesting character struggling with what his mom hid from him and what his joining the revolt does to his love life. Fans will enjoy the "secret" Revolutionary War fought alongside the more famous conventional war as readers will wonder what else CC Finley will "find" in the archives.-----

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2