Customer Reviews for

A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

Average Rating 3.5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

True to history and the ideals of the American poeple

Larry Schweikart and Michael Allen have written a history of the United States that is tremendously broad in scope, and monumental in its approach in our modern times. It begins with Christopher Columbus and proceeds through to current events, including 9-11 and its af...
Larry Schweikart and Michael Allen have written a history of the United States that is tremendously broad in scope, and monumental in its approach in our modern times. It begins with Christopher Columbus and proceeds through to current events, including 9-11 and its aftermath, the War on Terror and the fights in Afghanistan and Iraq as well as the re-election of George W. Bush.. The work covers over 510 years of history in 825 pages. There are over 70 pages of footnotes at the end of the book, detailing critical historical conditions and facts from each of the twenty-two chapters.

The best introduction to a review of this work that I could give regarding its approach the authors took, is from the mouths of the authors themselves in their own introduction:

'Is America's past a tale of racism, sexism, and bigotry? Is it the story of the conquest and rape of a continent? Is U.S. history the story of white slave owners who perverted the electoral process for their own interests? Did America start with Columbus's killing all the Indians, leap to Jim Crow laws and Rockefeller crushing the workers , then finally save itself with Franklin Roosevelt¿s New Deal? The answers, of course, are no, no, no, and NO.

'One might never know this, however, by looking at almost any mainstream U.S. history textbook. Having taught American history in one form or another for close to sixty years between us, we are aware that, unfortunately, many students are berated with tales of the Founders as self-interested politicians and slave-holders, of the icons of American industry as robber-barons, oppressors, and of every American foreign policy initiative as imperialistic and insensitive. At least Howard Zinn's, A People's History of the United States, honestly represents its Marxist biases in the title!

'What is most amazing and refreshing is that the past usually speaks for itself. The evidence is their for telling the great story of the American past honestly-with flaws, absolutely; with shortcomings, most definitely. But we think that an honest evaluation of the history of the United States must begin and end with the recognition that, compared to any other nation, America's past is a bright and shining light. America was, and is, the city on a hill, the fountain of hope, the beacon of liberty. We utterly reject 'My country right or wrong'- what scholar wouldn't? But in the last thirty years, academics have taken an equally destructive approach, 'My country always wrong!' We reject that too.

'Instead, we remain convinced that if the story of America's past is told fairly, the results cannot be anything but a deepened patriotism, a sense of awe at the obstacles overcome, the passion invested, the blood and tears spilled, and the nation that was built.'

The authors then proceed to do just that, to show that despite the errors, mistakes, and shortcomings along the way, the telling of American history ends up being a story of unequaled faith, character, virtue, and moral clarity. They demonstrate how through the faith and goodness of most of the principle characters involved, as well as the majority of the settlers, colonists, and then citizens, a liberty was allowed to develop that was based on moral constraint and founded in Christian heritage. That liberty then allowed America to become the envy of the world. Not due to arrogance, selfishness or shortsightedness, though there was some of that at times, but due to the intrinsic foundational moral principles that those people based their lives upon which produced and then maintained that freedom and that prosperity.

It is a marvelous work that I cannot recommend highly enough. Every student of American history, every parent wanting their child to understand what truly has made this nation great, every home schooling parent should place this book in their library and make it readily available to their children. Better y

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Tragic

I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or r...
I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or right.

The author writes well - but it is too biased for my tastes.

posted by bluessnob on February 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    True to history and the ideals of the American poeple

    Larry Schweikart and Michael Allen have written a history of the United States that is tremendously broad in scope, and monumental in its approach in our modern times. It begins with Christopher Columbus and proceeds through to current events, including 9-11 and its aftermath, the War on Terror and the fights in Afghanistan and Iraq as well as the re-election of George W. Bush.. The work covers over 510 years of history in 825 pages. There are over 70 pages of footnotes at the end of the book, detailing critical historical conditions and facts from each of the twenty-two chapters. <p> The best introduction to a review of this work that I could give regarding its approach the authors took, is from the mouths of the authors themselves in their own introduction: <p><i> 'Is America's past a tale of racism, sexism, and bigotry? Is it the story of the conquest and rape of a continent? Is U.S. history the story of white slave owners who perverted the electoral process for their own interests? Did America start with Columbus's killing all the Indians, leap to Jim Crow laws and Rockefeller crushing the workers , then finally save itself with Franklin Roosevelt¿s New Deal? The answers, of course, are no, no, no, and NO. <p> 'One might never know this, however, by looking at almost any mainstream U.S. history textbook. Having taught American history in one form or another for close to sixty years between us, we are aware that, unfortunately, many students are berated with tales of the Founders as self-interested politicians and slave-holders, of the icons of American industry as robber-barons, oppressors, and of every American foreign policy initiative as imperialistic and insensitive. At least Howard Zinn's, A People's History of the United States, honestly represents its Marxist biases in the title! <p> 'What is most amazing and refreshing is that the past usually speaks for itself. The evidence is their for telling the great story of the American past honestly-with flaws, absolutely; with shortcomings, most definitely. But we think that an honest evaluation of the history of the United States must begin and end with the recognition that, compared to any other nation, America's past is a bright and shining light. America was, and is, the city on a hill, the fountain of hope, the beacon of liberty. We utterly reject 'My country right or wrong'- what scholar wouldn't? But in the last thirty years, academics have taken an equally destructive approach, 'My country always wrong!' We reject that too. <p> 'Instead, we remain convinced that if the story of America's past is told fairly, the results cannot be anything but a deepened patriotism, a sense of awe at the obstacles overcome, the passion invested, the blood and tears spilled, and the nation that was built.' </i><p> The authors then proceed to do just that, to show that despite the errors, mistakes, and shortcomings along the way, the telling of American history ends up being a story of unequaled faith, character, virtue, and moral clarity. They demonstrate how through the faith and goodness of most of the principle characters involved, as well as the majority of the settlers, colonists, and then citizens, a liberty was allowed to develop that was based on moral constraint and founded in Christian heritage. That liberty then allowed America to become the envy of the world. Not due to arrogance, selfishness or shortsightedness, though there was some of that at times, but due to the intrinsic foundational moral principles that those people based their lives upon which produced and then maintained that freedom and that prosperity. <p> It is a marvelous work that I cannot recommend highly enough. Every student of American history, every parent wanting their child to understand what truly has made this nation great, every home schooling parent should place this book in their library and make it readily available to their children. Better y

    79 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Judge for yourself and I think you will find that this is a provocative and thoughtful look at the American history that is not being taught in our schools.

    I am not sure which I enjoyed more, reading "A Patriot's History of the United States" or reading the reviews of so many obviously left leaning individuals that would have you believe that this book is strictly right wing drivel.

    I hope that most of you are wise enough to realize that facts can be neither left nor right leaning; they are simply facts.

    As a teacher I can categorically state that our children are not being provided a full, unbiased, and balanced, rendition of American history. I found "A Patriot's History of the United States" to be a well written book that presents many of the facts that have, over the years, been deleted from the textbooks. "A Patriot's History of the United States" is exactly the type of book that all Americans need to be reading to supplement the sad, watered down, version of American history that they have been exposed to through the education system.

    Biased? This book is only biased in that it presents historical facts that many wish would never come to light. To prove my point, consider the fact that this book was first released six years ago, in 2004. Why is it that this book has just now become so controversial? The answer is simple. The perceived, right leaning, comedian, Glenn Beck has recommended this book which, in turn, has the left wing in an uproar claiming that the book is biased. It also had the added effect of helping the book to become one of Amazon's #1 best seller so, someone besides me, seems to think the book is worth reading.

    Please judge the book for yourself not for what I, or others write here, In my opinion "A Patriot's History of the United States" is well worth a read, especially considering that it is only $14.99 a copy.

    Semper Fi

    J.M. Snyder
    Teacher & U.S.M.C. Retired

    41 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is one of those hard-hitting history surveys that liberals hate. Not only do both Schweikart and Allen call out Bill Clinton for his poor leadership, but they debunk myths about the American Founding that has become truth in leftist academia. I highly recommend this text to anyone interested in seriously studying American history.

    38 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    Tragic

    I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or right.

    The author writes well - but it is too biased for my tastes.

    36 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    I wish with all of my heart that the information in this book was a true representation of what really happened in American history, but unfortunately it's not. Most of this book is the stuff that they teach in public schools (Indians killed themselves, everyone who came to the new country was a religious zealot). It's a shame that some people can read this book and believe that it's true - when it is so obvious that it is not. I truly hope that no one believes that we are this angelic and wholesome, because any realistic history book will say otherwise.

    27 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    At least a book with a different point of view.

    While I found some problems with it, at least it was refreshing to hear about our history from a different point of view. I strongly believe some due must be paid to those who sacrificed and gave their lives so we could have the freedom we do. I wish the book had dealt more with those "common man" sacrifices but still adds light to a point that has to be made.
    Bottom line: one-sided accounts and school textbooks lead to ignorace. And to other reviewers: it's a free country. You may read whatever you like or not read whatever you don't like.

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Hooray for America!

    The previous reviewer thinks that a perpective from the religious right is inherently wrong. Notice his choice for reading: A People's History of the United States, perceptive from godless Marxists. As an American history teacher, the textbooks from which I teach grieve my spirit. A Patriot's History is a hard to put down book that is reveals the greatness of America. This is your proud heritage. Walk ye in it.

    25 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Jesus is the reason for the United States, God is the reason for our Constitution, the Indians wanted to be killed because they weren't Christians... ...if these sound like truths to you, then this book should appeal to your version of fact. If not, then aviod this hack-job and read a real history book.

    24 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    Finally a Real History Book

    Today our schools have 'history books' that give 30 pages to President Clinton and 1 page to George Washington. They don't give an accurate or fair reading of how our country was founded - they are clearly written with a left-bias. Today our children have no idea who our Founders were, what they stood for and the reasons for the American Revolution. Their taught that its against the Constitution to mention God in historical documents - but fail to bring out that 'seperation of Church and State' is NOT in the Constitution. The education system that uses dozens and dozens of history textbooks don't tell an accurate story of Ronald Reagan or to explain the damage done by the New Deal. Reading this book, will enlighten your mind, give you an education your kids are not getting in our schools - it outlines and details accurately what histry was - not rewritten to support any bias agenda - it tells an accurate tail. I highly recommend tossing out your high school 'history books' and replacing it with 'A Patriot's History of the United States.'

    24 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    The Patriot's History of the United States is a book of pure fancy, masquerading in Nationalism, and trying to appeal to the ignorant. The authors¿ use of religious justification for horrendous crimes, not to mention the blatant lies through misdirection and arbitrary financial explanations, somehow still don¿t eclipse the lapses in proven, factual, history. As a matter of fact, fact is not even relevant. You can tell that this book is propaganda by the people defending it by those who do nothing but personally attack those who disagree with its premise. I can see why this is now a barging book just about everywhere that it¿s being sold.

    23 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    America's enemies hate this book

    Tremendous book. America's enemies won't like it because it illustrates why America is the leader of the free world.

    22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    History re-energized

    It is refreshing to read accounts of the heroic commitments, high ideals, and purpose of mind that the earlier framers of the modern, Western world embodied, which resulted in a most prosperous culture enjoyed by many. This is an excellent read and study on many of the great individuals from man's history.

    22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I'm currently taking an early American History college course and it's textbook runs quite parallel to this. One big difference is this is a straight forward history without an agenda to propagate! Thanks Larry Schweikart, Michael Patrick Allen, and Michael Patrick Allen, Great work

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this book to get another view of the history of the USA

    A Patriots History is a book that will give you another side of the history of the USA. Starting with the 15th century explorers from Europe to after 9/11 this heavily researched book will give you side of history that maybe you did not get in college or high school. It is covering almost 500 years in 850 pages so its history is not exhaustive.

    As I continue reading and absorbing this book I continue to be informed of the actions and the motives behind the people who made this land what it is. The author has worked to support his findings with plenty of endnotes so the reader can come away informed about the history of the USA. Through out the book the author has put in 1 page bios of certain people like Christopher Columbus, Daniel Boone and "Did Roosevelt Have Advance Knowledge About the Pearl Harbor Attack?" to name a few. It does not shrink from talking about some of the most contriversial actions of the USA like slavery and civil rights.

    To the conservative thinker I say this book will give you plenty to think about. To the liberal minded I say try to put your preconcieved notiions aside and read this book. For both the conservative and liberal minded you will find a refreshing view of how great this country is and how great it can be in the future.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    Forum for the haters

    Once again...a forum for the haters. I'll bet a majority of these bad reviews haven't even read the book. And as for "Huh?"....Columbus was NOT the first European to discover America. Any moron knows that!!

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Best American History book I have ever read

    Every School in America should use this book as a standard, Now we get the real story and no cherry trees.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Definate Must Read

    I had bought this book; in hardcover; back in 2004. Enjoyed it greatly. When I saw it on Glenn Beck's tv show and then here on B&N's "10 Best Sellers" I was amazed. Mainly due to the book being out for five years. My copy had been passed around to some friends and family shortly after I finished it. Everybody who read it enjoyed it. It's a long read but worth it. Whether you're a history buff or just curious, I recommend "A Patriot's History."

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    A moment for the ages

    The popularity of books like this one are powerful evidence that America is in a lot of trouble. Our main competitors in the future, India and China, are growing smarter, while we continue to slide downwards. Forget global warming, I'm a lot more worried about our eager embrace of ignorance. Maybe we can swear Sarah Palin in as President the same day this book sells its billionth copy.

    15 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Should've Been a Book Instead of a Comeback

    This book is obviously a comeback to Howard Zinn's version. I saw the title I was thinking 'Meehh this might be different from those other slanted books like 'An Incovenient Book' by Glenn Beck' I read the first sentence and couldn't help but laugh. It was just another pathetic comeback. All this book does is glorify the 'heroes' of history like Grant and Columbus. Ignored the fact of the common peoples struggles during the era of 1492 to present. I know Zinn's views are sometimes extreme but he offers a lot of good material to look at. Sure his book seems negative at points but what Zinn tries to do is look at our past mistakes and learn from it. The Patriot's History of the United States seeks to justify actions of our past mistakes like the Civil War and the Red Scare and seeks to glorify the few shameless capitalists of the time.

    15 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    A Patriot's History of the United States.......A Must READ!

    Another great read that will enlighten those who thought they had a proper education on American History. Another must read by all Americans.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16