Customer Reviews for

A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

Average Rating 3.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

True to history and the ideals of the American poeple

Larry Schweikart and Michael Allen have written a history of the United States that is tremendously broad in scope, and monumental in its approach in our modern times. It begins with Christopher Columbus and proceeds through to current events, including 9-11 and its af...
Larry Schweikart and Michael Allen have written a history of the United States that is tremendously broad in scope, and monumental in its approach in our modern times. It begins with Christopher Columbus and proceeds through to current events, including 9-11 and its aftermath, the War on Terror and the fights in Afghanistan and Iraq as well as the re-election of George W. Bush.. The work covers over 510 years of history in 825 pages. There are over 70 pages of footnotes at the end of the book, detailing critical historical conditions and facts from each of the twenty-two chapters.

The best introduction to a review of this work that I could give regarding its approach the authors took, is from the mouths of the authors themselves in their own introduction:

'Is America's past a tale of racism, sexism, and bigotry? Is it the story of the conquest and rape of a continent? Is U.S. history the story of white slave owners who perverted the electoral process for their own interests? Did America start with Columbus's killing all the Indians, leap to Jim Crow laws and Rockefeller crushing the workers , then finally save itself with Franklin Roosevelt¿s New Deal? The answers, of course, are no, no, no, and NO.

'One might never know this, however, by looking at almost any mainstream U.S. history textbook. Having taught American history in one form or another for close to sixty years between us, we are aware that, unfortunately, many students are berated with tales of the Founders as self-interested politicians and slave-holders, of the icons of American industry as robber-barons, oppressors, and of every American foreign policy initiative as imperialistic and insensitive. At least Howard Zinn's, A People's History of the United States, honestly represents its Marxist biases in the title!

'What is most amazing and refreshing is that the past usually speaks for itself. The evidence is their for telling the great story of the American past honestly-with flaws, absolutely; with shortcomings, most definitely. But we think that an honest evaluation of the history of the United States must begin and end with the recognition that, compared to any other nation, America's past is a bright and shining light. America was, and is, the city on a hill, the fountain of hope, the beacon of liberty. We utterly reject 'My country right or wrong'- what scholar wouldn't? But in the last thirty years, academics have taken an equally destructive approach, 'My country always wrong!' We reject that too.

'Instead, we remain convinced that if the story of America's past is told fairly, the results cannot be anything but a deepened patriotism, a sense of awe at the obstacles overcome, the passion invested, the blood and tears spilled, and the nation that was built.'

The authors then proceed to do just that, to show that despite the errors, mistakes, and shortcomings along the way, the telling of American history ends up being a story of unequaled faith, character, virtue, and moral clarity. They demonstrate how through the faith and goodness of most of the principle characters involved, as well as the majority of the settlers, colonists, and then citizens, a liberty was allowed to develop that was based on moral constraint and founded in Christian heritage. That liberty then allowed America to become the envy of the world. Not due to arrogance, selfishness or shortsightedness, though there was some of that at times, but due to the intrinsic foundational moral principles that those people based their lives upon which produced and then maintained that freedom and that prosperity.

It is a marvelous work that I cannot recommend highly enough. Every student of American history, every parent wanting their child to understand what truly has made this nation great, every home schooling parent should place this book in their library and make it readily available to their children. Better y

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

Tragic

I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or r...
I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or right.

The author writes well - but it is too biased for my tastes.

posted by bluessnob on February 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 318 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A fair outlook on the United States

    Although I have not been able to read all 800+ pages of this book so far, I have looked at a couple hundred pages of the more controversial subjects and find that the book offer a fair and seemingly accurate depicition of history. There is no liberal bashing of the Founding Fathers to try and make them appear as a bunch of ignorant old racist. The is no real conservitive vilification of Woodrow Wilson. There is just thoughtful, carefully researched, unbiased information....which is how it should be. From the parts I have read, people of both conservative and liberal leanings get a fair shake through the book. And with 69 pages filled with references to the facts, you can easily check them out. This is a very impressive book, and I recommend it to everyone.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Thought Provoking

    I loved this book. I am proud of our country even with its faults. This book speaks to that, as I love my family even with its faults. One anonymous reviewer dismissed the book as only having a few references, but I counted over 70 pages of notes and references. If a reviewer can't be honest, he or she shouldn't review. A person is free to read the author's sources and decide for himself or herself. People condemn or elevate themselves with their own words, and this author uses actual quotes all through the book. I liked that.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Refreshing

    I found it refreshing to hear about our history from a different point of view. I strongly believe some due must be paid to those who sacrificed and gave their lives so we could have the freedom we do.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    This Conservative is ashamed of this book

    This book is nothing but a thinly disguised attack on the left, with history rewritten to suit the need. There is very little actual substance in here, and very little proof that what is written is fact. Come on people, if you want to attack the left, just come out and do it. Don't try to rewrite history because you are lazy and angry. We're suppose to be the side that is smarter than that.

    13 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding

    I purchased this book for research, but have found it to be a stimulating and enjoyable read. It is, when all is said & done, a history book, but it goes well beyond simple names & dates, providing context to the history. Though I've not yet finished the book, what I have read has been clearly written and well conveyed. It is more a series of essays on specific topics associated with history rather than a timeline of events, but tells a thorough tale of the development, growth and modern decline of our nation. Don't be dismayed by the reviewers who claim that this book is Conservatively biased. If it carries any bias at all, it is the fact that it begins with the assumption that our nation is NOT evil at its core. I urge anyone looking for a clear-cut study of American History to buy, read and re-read this book.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    Real History

    Several years ago I became aware that the American history that I studied years ago in high school and college is not the same American history taught today. The patriots and pioneers that I held in such great esteem have now somehow become usurpers and exploiters, according to contemporary educators. I reject that, and this book puts America back in its proper perspective.

    I gave this book as a present to an American history loving friend and he raved about it, so I bought it for myself. Although it is an overview (at 932 pages a fairly hefty overview) it is a great starting point for a quick reference on the United States, without the revisionist perspective that is sadly popular today.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    silly...

    American History 101.. for those that see faith as the alternative to facts and reason.

    9 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    What a horrible interpretation of American History!

    This Book was difficult for me to finish because it was clearly biased toward a more conservative Christian reader. I don't think it's a 'Patriots' history, but rather a blind man's history which completely distorts the truth in order to seem more patriotic during this time of war. I think our children have learned enough about how great Columbus and Washington were. Let's now teach them that some of the greatest figures in history were real people who in order to achieve so much did some horrible things to many undeserving people for money and power. Please open your minds and realize that most history books are written from the winners perspective. Think of what your children would be reading if Hitler had won the war. I guarantee Native American history, Chinese history, Italian history, and oh yes even Iraqi history books do not see us as such a great land. I urge you to read any and all books and then do your own research in order to prove or disprove the information contained in it. Just cause it's printed doesn't make it true.

    9 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Great Book to Keep forever...

    I bought this for my dad after he was injured and had to be in rehab for 3 weeks...He has read it all the way though twice already. He said it is a great book that tells you about history in a very interesting way. He says this book will stay with him because he an always refer back to something when he needs to...great idea for Father's Day coming up...

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Patriot's History of the United States

    As a history teacher, this is must reading for any high school history class on American History. It is well balanced and does not constantly blame the Europeans for coming to and developing the Western Hemisphere. It is fair in its depiction of the Natives that were already living here in that they were not as docile as the main stream would like us to believe. For example, the Aztecs routinely took its many enemies into captivity just so they could cut out their beating hearts. In the current climate where the people who settled this county are often demonized, this book puts balance on that type of thinking.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Finally

    Finally, a comprehensive American history book. I'm not finished with it yet but I've already learned things about American history that I never knew....and I went to school when they still taught history. It reads like a novel; it is so interesting. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to know what our country is all about.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    History You Should Read!

    This is a must read. Not just because Glenn Beck said you should read it. But there is alot of history that they didn't teach you in school. It will take you awhile to get through it, but read it. This should be in the schools!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Lack of Research and a Predisposed Slant

    It's a shame - so much for advancing the American dialogue

    8 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    Ludicrous

    For the brainwashed only.

    8 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    History not as Fact, but as a Story

    Lack of quotes and references shows how make-believe most of this book really is. It's lack of actual research is made up for by good story-telling. But it is the lack of cites and real history that tend to shine the brightest in the end. This is not so much a histroy book, as it is a good story of the whitewashing of our own story.

    8 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    This book might as well be called 'Fake History of the United States'. Every claim in this book is backed up with nothing, every story is exaggerated beyond belief, and every so called 'fact' is referenced by something non-peer-reviewed. Stay away from this fictional story of our history.

    8 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    A must for every American to read.

    History made fun to read and really engrossing! I learned alot that I don't think I ever learned in school.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    Holy pretend history American Man! The only good thing about this book is that it shows that the author has an incredible imagination. So much of this book was absolutely incorrect that I was not suprised that it had only a couple of refences. Buy this book if you want to feel super great about our history and don't care if it truthful or not.

    7 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    A Patriot's History of the United States unrealistic account of the history of the United States comes from the overall right-wing disillusionment of our real history. Sure, we all want to believe that our Founders were wonderful, God-fearing, perfect, representatives of Christianity, but reality tells us otherwise. The desire to accept books like this, that rewrite history for nationalistic reasons, should be avoided at all cost. Propaganda is most dangerous in historical form. If everyone believes it is true, time soon makes it true. This is just another attempt to bleed the truth out of history by casting doubt on known facts through misrepresenting the inconsequentials in the hopes that it somehow undermines the complete message. It is nothing but propaganda and should be read only by those who wish to convince themselves that America is guided by Providence and made up of those who support God and liberals who hate Him.

    7 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    History Misrepresented

    The Book's content is exactly what one would assume by the title, a historical interpretation that is meant to encourage Nationalism. The Puritans are misrepresented as being archetypes of religious tolerance and the 'Indians' killed themselves by spreading diseases between warring tribes. The authors' biases towards a version of Capitalism where the state is subservient to the interests of Capital is very obvious. The 13 colonies are also misrepresented. There were really only three colonies that were established for religious reasons: Mass, Penn, and Maryland. Whereas in this book, all of them were founded by religiuos zealots. All in all, the authors' rare use of quotes and primary documents prevents the reader from enjoying history from the perspectives of those who lived it.

    7 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 318 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16