Customer Reviews for

A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

Average Rating 3.5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

True to history and the ideals of the American poeple

Larry Schweikart and Michael Allen have written a history of the United States that is tremendously broad in scope, and monumental in its approach in our modern times. It begins with Christopher Columbus and proceeds through to current events, including 9-11 and its af...
Larry Schweikart and Michael Allen have written a history of the United States that is tremendously broad in scope, and monumental in its approach in our modern times. It begins with Christopher Columbus and proceeds through to current events, including 9-11 and its aftermath, the War on Terror and the fights in Afghanistan and Iraq as well as the re-election of George W. Bush.. The work covers over 510 years of history in 825 pages. There are over 70 pages of footnotes at the end of the book, detailing critical historical conditions and facts from each of the twenty-two chapters.

The best introduction to a review of this work that I could give regarding its approach the authors took, is from the mouths of the authors themselves in their own introduction:

'Is America's past a tale of racism, sexism, and bigotry? Is it the story of the conquest and rape of a continent? Is U.S. history the story of white slave owners who perverted the electoral process for their own interests? Did America start with Columbus's killing all the Indians, leap to Jim Crow laws and Rockefeller crushing the workers , then finally save itself with Franklin Roosevelt¿s New Deal? The answers, of course, are no, no, no, and NO.

'One might never know this, however, by looking at almost any mainstream U.S. history textbook. Having taught American history in one form or another for close to sixty years between us, we are aware that, unfortunately, many students are berated with tales of the Founders as self-interested politicians and slave-holders, of the icons of American industry as robber-barons, oppressors, and of every American foreign policy initiative as imperialistic and insensitive. At least Howard Zinn's, A People's History of the United States, honestly represents its Marxist biases in the title!

'What is most amazing and refreshing is that the past usually speaks for itself. The evidence is their for telling the great story of the American past honestly-with flaws, absolutely; with shortcomings, most definitely. But we think that an honest evaluation of the history of the United States must begin and end with the recognition that, compared to any other nation, America's past is a bright and shining light. America was, and is, the city on a hill, the fountain of hope, the beacon of liberty. We utterly reject 'My country right or wrong'- what scholar wouldn't? But in the last thirty years, academics have taken an equally destructive approach, 'My country always wrong!' We reject that too.

'Instead, we remain convinced that if the story of America's past is told fairly, the results cannot be anything but a deepened patriotism, a sense of awe at the obstacles overcome, the passion invested, the blood and tears spilled, and the nation that was built.'

The authors then proceed to do just that, to show that despite the errors, mistakes, and shortcomings along the way, the telling of American history ends up being a story of unequaled faith, character, virtue, and moral clarity. They demonstrate how through the faith and goodness of most of the principle characters involved, as well as the majority of the settlers, colonists, and then citizens, a liberty was allowed to develop that was based on moral constraint and founded in Christian heritage. That liberty then allowed America to become the envy of the world. Not due to arrogance, selfishness or shortsightedness, though there was some of that at times, but due to the intrinsic foundational moral principles that those people based their lives upon which produced and then maintained that freedom and that prosperity.

It is a marvelous work that I cannot recommend highly enough. Every student of American history, every parent wanting their child to understand what truly has made this nation great, every home schooling parent should place this book in their library and make it readily available to their children. Better y

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Tragic

I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or r...
I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or right.

The author writes well - but it is too biased for my tastes.

posted by bluessnob on February 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    Tragic

    I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or right.

    The author writes well - but it is too biased for my tastes.

    37 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    I wish with all of my heart that the information in this book was a true representation of what really happened in American history, but unfortunately it's not. Most of this book is the stuff that they teach in public schools (Indians killed themselves, everyone who came to the new country was a religious zealot). It's a shame that some people can read this book and believe that it's true - when it is so obvious that it is not. I truly hope that no one believes that we are this angelic and wholesome, because any realistic history book will say otherwise.

    28 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Jesus is the reason for the United States, God is the reason for our Constitution, the Indians wanted to be killed because they weren't Christians... ...if these sound like truths to you, then this book should appeal to your version of fact. If not, then aviod this hack-job and read a real history book.

    25 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    The Patriot's History of the United States is a book of pure fancy, masquerading in Nationalism, and trying to appeal to the ignorant. The authors¿ use of religious justification for horrendous crimes, not to mention the blatant lies through misdirection and arbitrary financial explanations, somehow still don¿t eclipse the lapses in proven, factual, history. As a matter of fact, fact is not even relevant. You can tell that this book is propaganda by the people defending it by those who do nothing but personally attack those who disagree with its premise. I can see why this is now a barging book just about everywhere that it¿s being sold.

    24 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    A moment for the ages

    The popularity of books like this one are powerful evidence that America is in a lot of trouble. Our main competitors in the future, India and China, are growing smarter, while we continue to slide downwards. Forget global warming, I'm a lot more worried about our eager embrace of ignorance. Maybe we can swear Sarah Palin in as President the same day this book sells its billionth copy.

    16 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    This Conservative is ashamed of this book

    This book is nothing but a thinly disguised attack on the left, with history rewritten to suit the need. There is very little actual substance in here, and very little proof that what is written is fact. Come on people, if you want to attack the left, just come out and do it. Don't try to rewrite history because you are lazy and angry. We're suppose to be the side that is smarter than that.

    13 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    silly...

    American History 101.. for those that see faith as the alternative to facts and reason.

    9 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    What a horrible interpretation of American History!

    This Book was difficult for me to finish because it was clearly biased toward a more conservative Christian reader. I don't think it's a 'Patriots' history, but rather a blind man's history which completely distorts the truth in order to seem more patriotic during this time of war. I think our children have learned enough about how great Columbus and Washington were. Let's now teach them that some of the greatest figures in history were real people who in order to achieve so much did some horrible things to many undeserving people for money and power. Please open your minds and realize that most history books are written from the winners perspective. Think of what your children would be reading if Hitler had won the war. I guarantee Native American history, Chinese history, Italian history, and oh yes even Iraqi history books do not see us as such a great land. I urge you to read any and all books and then do your own research in order to prove or disprove the information contained in it. Just cause it's printed doesn't make it true.

    9 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Lack of Research and a Predisposed Slant

    It's a shame - so much for advancing the American dialogue

    8 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    Ludicrous

    For the brainwashed only.

    8 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    This book might as well be called 'Fake History of the United States'. Every claim in this book is backed up with nothing, every story is exaggerated beyond belief, and every so called 'fact' is referenced by something non-peer-reviewed. Stay away from this fictional story of our history.

    8 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    Holy pretend history American Man! The only good thing about this book is that it shows that the author has an incredible imagination. So much of this book was absolutely incorrect that I was not suprised that it had only a couple of refences. Buy this book if you want to feel super great about our history and don't care if it truthful or not.

    7 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

    A Patriot's History of the United States unrealistic account of the history of the United States comes from the overall right-wing disillusionment of our real history. Sure, we all want to believe that our Founders were wonderful, God-fearing, perfect, representatives of Christianity, but reality tells us otherwise. The desire to accept books like this, that rewrite history for nationalistic reasons, should be avoided at all cost. Propaganda is most dangerous in historical form. If everyone believes it is true, time soon makes it true. This is just another attempt to bleed the truth out of history by casting doubt on known facts through misrepresenting the inconsequentials in the hopes that it somehow undermines the complete message. It is nothing but propaganda and should be read only by those who wish to convince themselves that America is guided by Providence and made up of those who support God and liberals who hate Him.

    7 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Lame Propaganda

    Don"t waste your time.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    PROPAGANDA IS PROPAGANDA IS PROPAGANDA

    Right wing propaganda. No more, no less. Laughable at best. The authors have no interest in historical fact, only their own subjective interpretation. I seriously fear for the students of the so called educators that endorse this nationalistic drivel. FYI, you can cite anything, footnotes and multiple sources do not hold water if they hold the same bias as the authors, or are used out of context. American exceptionalism is once again disproved by this blatant attempt to white wash and Disney up historical fact.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    If you're hoping to read about patriots who contributed to the m

    If you're hoping to read about patriots who contributed to the making of this country, you may be disappointed to find that contributions made by common men and women patriots are omitted, or, if mentioned at all, seem to be pawns used along the way by true patriots of the day. The authors do cover much history, but it's given along with their own biased opinions and the foot-noted supporting opinions of others. The bibliography and references used to write the book are very telling in themselves. I would NOT recommend this as a history book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    NO!

    NONONONONONONO

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Glen Beck

    If I would of known before hand that Glen Beck gave it good reviews I wouldn't have touch it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Revisionist drivel

    Wanna see the adult equivalent of Texan textbooks? Look no further for American History, aborted. A pathetic hash of far right extremist nonsense. Great fiction for the bagger types on your xmas list if you decide not to get them bullets.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4