Customer Reviews for

A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

Average Rating 3.5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

True to history and the ideals of the American poeple

Larry Schweikart and Michael Allen have written a history of the United States that is tremendously broad in scope, and monumental in its approach in our modern times. It begins with Christopher Columbus and proceeds through to current events, including 9-11 and its af...
Larry Schweikart and Michael Allen have written a history of the United States that is tremendously broad in scope, and monumental in its approach in our modern times. It begins with Christopher Columbus and proceeds through to current events, including 9-11 and its aftermath, the War on Terror and the fights in Afghanistan and Iraq as well as the re-election of George W. Bush.. The work covers over 510 years of history in 825 pages. There are over 70 pages of footnotes at the end of the book, detailing critical historical conditions and facts from each of the twenty-two chapters.

The best introduction to a review of this work that I could give regarding its approach the authors took, is from the mouths of the authors themselves in their own introduction:

'Is America's past a tale of racism, sexism, and bigotry? Is it the story of the conquest and rape of a continent? Is U.S. history the story of white slave owners who perverted the electoral process for their own interests? Did America start with Columbus's killing all the Indians, leap to Jim Crow laws and Rockefeller crushing the workers , then finally save itself with Franklin Roosevelt¿s New Deal? The answers, of course, are no, no, no, and NO.

'One might never know this, however, by looking at almost any mainstream U.S. history textbook. Having taught American history in one form or another for close to sixty years between us, we are aware that, unfortunately, many students are berated with tales of the Founders as self-interested politicians and slave-holders, of the icons of American industry as robber-barons, oppressors, and of every American foreign policy initiative as imperialistic and insensitive. At least Howard Zinn's, A People's History of the United States, honestly represents its Marxist biases in the title!

'What is most amazing and refreshing is that the past usually speaks for itself. The evidence is their for telling the great story of the American past honestly-with flaws, absolutely; with shortcomings, most definitely. But we think that an honest evaluation of the history of the United States must begin and end with the recognition that, compared to any other nation, America's past is a bright and shining light. America was, and is, the city on a hill, the fountain of hope, the beacon of liberty. We utterly reject 'My country right or wrong'- what scholar wouldn't? But in the last thirty years, academics have taken an equally destructive approach, 'My country always wrong!' We reject that too.

'Instead, we remain convinced that if the story of America's past is told fairly, the results cannot be anything but a deepened patriotism, a sense of awe at the obstacles overcome, the passion invested, the blood and tears spilled, and the nation that was built.'

The authors then proceed to do just that, to show that despite the errors, mistakes, and shortcomings along the way, the telling of American history ends up being a story of unequaled faith, character, virtue, and moral clarity. They demonstrate how through the faith and goodness of most of the principle characters involved, as well as the majority of the settlers, colonists, and then citizens, a liberty was allowed to develop that was based on moral constraint and founded in Christian heritage. That liberty then allowed America to become the envy of the world. Not due to arrogance, selfishness or shortsightedness, though there was some of that at times, but due to the intrinsic foundational moral principles that those people based their lives upon which produced and then maintained that freedom and that prosperity.

It is a marvelous work that I cannot recommend highly enough. Every student of American history, every parent wanting their child to understand what truly has made this nation great, every home schooling parent should place this book in their library and make it readily available to their children. Better y

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Tragic

I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or r...
I understand the criticism of the left and why many conservatives view textbooks as being biased...yet why would creating a bias text that leans to the right be any more helpful? Is there any middle ground? This book suggests that tragically, no, you MUST be left or right.

The author writes well - but it is too biased for my tastes.

posted by bluessnob on February 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Judge for yourself and I think you will find that this is a provocative and thoughtful look at the American history that is not being taught in our schools.

    I am not sure which I enjoyed more, reading "A Patriot's History of the United States" or reading the reviews of so many obviously left leaning individuals that would have you believe that this book is strictly right wing drivel.

    I hope that most of you are wise enough to realize that facts can be neither left nor right leaning; they are simply facts.

    As a teacher I can categorically state that our children are not being provided a full, unbiased, and balanced, rendition of American history. I found "A Patriot's History of the United States" to be a well written book that presents many of the facts that have, over the years, been deleted from the textbooks. "A Patriot's History of the United States" is exactly the type of book that all Americans need to be reading to supplement the sad, watered down, version of American history that they have been exposed to through the education system.

    Biased? This book is only biased in that it presents historical facts that many wish would never come to light. To prove my point, consider the fact that this book was first released six years ago, in 2004. Why is it that this book has just now become so controversial? The answer is simple. The perceived, right leaning, comedian, Glenn Beck has recommended this book which, in turn, has the left wing in an uproar claiming that the book is biased. It also had the added effect of helping the book to become one of Amazon's #1 best seller so, someone besides me, seems to think the book is worth reading.

    Please judge the book for yourself not for what I, or others write here, In my opinion "A Patriot's History of the United States" is well worth a read, especially considering that it is only $14.99 a copy.

    Semper Fi

    J.M. Snyder
    Teacher & U.S.M.C. Retired

    41 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Definate Must Read

    I had bought this book; in hardcover; back in 2004. Enjoyed it greatly. When I saw it on Glenn Beck's tv show and then here on B&N's "10 Best Sellers" I was amazed. Mainly due to the book being out for five years. My copy had been passed around to some friends and family shortly after I finished it. Everybody who read it enjoyed it. It's a long read but worth it. Whether you're a history buff or just curious, I recommend "A Patriot's History."

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Thought Provoking

    I loved this book. I am proud of our country even with its faults. This book speaks to that, as I love my family even with its faults. One anonymous reviewer dismissed the book as only having a few references, but I counted over 70 pages of notes and references. If a reviewer can't be honest, he or she shouldn't review. A person is free to read the author's sources and decide for himself or herself. People condemn or elevate themselves with their own words, and this author uses actual quotes all through the book. I liked that.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Refreshing

    I found it refreshing to hear about our history from a different point of view. I strongly believe some due must be paid to those who sacrificed and gave their lives so we could have the freedom we do.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Finally

    Finally, a comprehensive American history book. I'm not finished with it yet but I've already learned things about American history that I never knew....and I went to school when they still taught history. It reads like a novel; it is so interesting. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to know what our country is all about.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Factual History without Progressive influence!

    I am a mother of two teenagers and I am using this book to verify the correctness of my children's history text books. I have found some inaccuracies, missing information, and liberal progressive bias in several different areas of history. This is an eye opener. I highly recommend A Patriot's History for all Americans that believe in our Republic and want to preserve our great country. Our children are being misled in some schools and we must wake up and take action before we are destroyed from withing by the liberal Progressive movement.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    buy this book

    The format and message of this book should be applauded.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    A nice outline and fresh outlook to American History

    I just finished this book and I thought it was well written, stimulating, and refreshing. I admit that this book only touches on the main issues America has gone through in her colorful history. I too went to school when they still taught American History and I learned some things in this book I didn't previously know. I disagree with the review "A white man's history...". This book made it perfectly clear that slavery was a crucial issue and a topic of much angst throughout our history and building of this great country. It also stated some of the great accomplishments and contributions slaves and freedmen provided to our country.

    This book as I mentioned touches on the history of the United States; it brings out the main points but anyone that is truly interested in learning about our history should continue reading about it. Our history is remarkable and should be taught in earnest in schools across our land.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Good broad review of American History

    This book covers the story of America from Columbus up to the present. The narrative is told simply and is very understandable for almost any age group. My only negative comment is a desire to get a little deeper into the lives of some of the more colorful or inspirational figures in history, like Daniel Boone, however, the extensive bibliography does give the sources to do an more intense study.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Bring on America's history

    The book is a great device in looking at America's past with all it's glory and fault's. It's inspiriational in that our history is such. It reminds me of how powerfull our Country is- yet how fragile we are.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Great History Book

    Cons: Not an easy read

    Pros: Packed with information; points out errors commonly found in mainstream history textbooks. I have no complaints about the Nook Book version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    SHOULD BE REQUIRED READING OF EVERY AMERICAN

    I found this book very intresting and truthful and I dont know why some people hate it so much. I know that America is the best country in the world and people in France and Iran are jealous so they hate our freedom. I can understand that. What I CAN NOT understand is why so many people in America has to hate on America - like some people who dont like this book?!? All high school kids in America should have to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I got the MP3 version and it is 50 hours long but worth every minute. I didnt know how much I didnt know and how much I had forgotten from my High School and College History courses. A great book for history lovers.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I have only read about 25% so far, but this is a must for anyone in our country. I have given two to our sons.

    Informative, detailed and comprehensive.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    One of the most accurate

    The author is religous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3