Customer Reviews for

Patron Saint of Butterflies

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing...one of my favorites!

This book is amazing. So compassionate and interesting...you can read it over and over again.

posted by 5836482 on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

If you like this novel, try "The Chosen One". Another great religion novel.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Amazing...one of my favorites!

    This book is amazing. So compassionate and interesting...you can read it over and over again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Tasha for TeensReadToo.com

    Agnes and Honey have been best friends since they were born. They both live, along with 260 others, in a religious commune called Mount Blessings. Here they abide by severe rules and try to live the most perfect life possible, except that there are some horrendous and not-so-perfect secrets that are kept. <BR/><BR/>As Honey and Agnes get older, their personalities drift apart, until they are complete opposites of each other. Agnes wants nothing more than to be a saint, while Honey wants to leave the commune and never look back. When Agnes' grandma, Nana Pete, comes for an unexpected visit, she is horrified to learn one of the most horrendous secrets about the commune and immediately takes Agnes, Honey, and Agnes' brother, Benny, out of Mount Blessings. <BR/><BR/>Honey is overjoyed to finally be out of the grasps of the commune and is thoroughly enjoying Big Macs, driving a car, and shopping at everyone's favorite store, Wal-Mart. Agnes, on the other hand, is scared to death and feels like it's a sin just to be outside of the commune. She can't find any joy in buying ribbons for her hair or scented shampoo, and knows she must find a way back to Mount Blessings. <BR/><BR/>When a secret is finally unearthed, both girls learn that they need to dig deep inside themselves to find the courage to survive and make the right decisions. <BR/><BR/>This is a stunning, incredible, and heartfelt novel. I instantly fell in love with the book when I saw the cover, and then was completely shocked with the actual story. It was completely amazing. Agnes and Honey were deep characters that I was really able to connect with. The book also had a completely different level of emotion in it that I hadn't really experienced before. I could really tell that the author was writing from her heart and that made me enjoy the story even more. <BR/><BR/>The author addressed so many different points in this novel such as friendship, family, and the ability to ask for help. I also loved the setting of the book. I'd never really even heard about religious communes before reading this book and realized that I like being able to live my life the way I want and not have to always be bound by rules. Some points that Cecilia Galante made about religion also really spoke to me. I found it really ironic that I read two books that had so much to do with religion back-to-back (the other being CHANGE OF HEART by Jodi Picoult) and found that a few points showed up in both books. <BR/><BR/>What surprised me the most though is that this is the author's first novel. The writing was so eloquent and put together that I was stunned. I can't wait to see what Cecilia Galante has coming our way next; in fact her next book, HERSHEY HERSELF, comes out in May.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Fabulous

    I can't recommend this book enough. I had the pleasure of meeting the author at a book club, and her life story is fascinating. Even though this is a 'young adult' book, adults will love it too. I can't wait to read more by Cecila!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Must read!!!!

    You will love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    The Patron Saint of Butterflies

    Other than some bad language, this is an incredibly good book. It is also very thought provoking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    <3

    I loved this book! I read in a matter of days! A must read and highly recommened

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    A fascinating and timely book

    Agnes and Honey are two very different girls with very different places in their commune, one struggling to purify herself, the other struggling to free herself. Agnes has a family Honey is an orphan, living in a shack with the commune's handyman. It is only when Agnes's grandmother learns of what happens to the girls when they are disciplined, and kidnaps them and Agnes's little brother, that they are given a chance to look at their commune from a distance and make their own choices. Agnes could seem a little too perfect, except that we're inside her head as she struggles to believe what she has always been taught, and we share Honey's love of freedom and butterflies. Through the girls' eyes we get a scorching look at adults as normal human beings, with good points and flaws. And we get to savor things about the everyday world that we take for granted, but which are strange to them, like shopping and fast food. This book is especially timely now, with 413 children being taken from the commune in Texas on suspicion of abuse. It's a good illustration of how people live with such hard rules in their daily life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Wonderful story. Will read it again :)

    Wonderful story. Will read it again :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1