Customer Reviews for

The Patron Saint of Liars

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic First Novel

I am fast becoming a fan of Ann Patchett! This novel has wonderful characters that draw you quickly into their lives. I also have read The Magician's Assistant, Truth and Beauty, and Run by this author and liked them all very much as well. If you are a fan of Jodi Pi...
I am fast becoming a fan of Ann Patchett! This novel has wonderful characters that draw you quickly into their lives. I also have read The Magician's Assistant, Truth and Beauty, and Run by this author and liked them all very much as well. If you are a fan of Jodi Picoult or Anita Shreve novels, you will like this book as it reminded me much of their works. I especially liked reading the editorial afterword by Patchett "The Movie of the Week Ate My Novel." It was funny and gave great insight about how much gets changed from the vision an author has about their books and their characters when they get made into movies. I am looking forward to reading the other novels written by this author, including Bel Canto and Taft.

posted by 425665 on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

This is my first Ann Patchett book. I picked it up because the title was intriging. I could not put the book down.....I enjoyed how Ms. Patchett told the story from the three main characters point of view. One thing though....the ending was very disappointing....It left...
This is my first Ann Patchett book. I picked it up because the title was intriging. I could not put the book down.....I enjoyed how Ms. Patchett told the story from the three main characters point of view. One thing though....the ending was very disappointing....It left me wanting about 20 more pages. I'll probably read another one of her books and see if the ending is disappointing as well.....

posted by CitygirlAG on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic First Novel

    I am fast becoming a fan of Ann Patchett! This novel has wonderful characters that draw you quickly into their lives. I also have read The Magician's Assistant, Truth and Beauty, and Run by this author and liked them all very much as well. If you are a fan of Jodi Picoult or Anita Shreve novels, you will like this book as it reminded me much of their works. I especially liked reading the editorial afterword by Patchett "The Movie of the Week Ate My Novel." It was funny and gave great insight about how much gets changed from the vision an author has about their books and their characters when they get made into movies. I am looking forward to reading the other novels written by this author, including Bel Canto and Taft.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book

    This is my first Ann Patchett book. I picked it up because the title was intriging. I could not put the book down.....I enjoyed how Ms. Patchett told the story from the three main characters point of view. One thing though....the ending was very disappointing....It left me wanting about 20 more pages. I'll probably read another one of her books and see if the ending is disappointing as well.....

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    It's true ... I couldn't put it down! Your journey with Rose through her dreams, desires, despair, and finally her strength of character, consume your emotions. Then the author juxtaposes the narrator, and you see the events in a fresh light, with a whole new heart! The end is masterfully wrought, and will wrench from you a cry for more!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Excellent Character Building

    Nicely woven story, one where you wish everybody a nice ending but that's not the endings planned, as all of the writings of this author the end is a twist that leaves you wanting more even after the books is finished. Is it the characters? The story? Both.
    Well written once you get the cadence of the author.

    Enjoyed it very much, like all of her books actually.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Beautifully written, a must read.

    You can't help it, you will fall in love with each and every character that makes up this beautifully written story. The end will come too soon, you will want to know more, but this is the magic of Ann Patchett, you always end up wanting to know more about the characters, because they become your friends, your family. That's how real they are. Savour this little wonder of a book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Patron Saint of Liars

    I enjoyed reading this book. My first of Ann Patchett. I am currently reading her book "Run."

    There are so many people like the character Rose. I have personally never experienced the death of a parent at a young age, but the effects must be dramatic and long lasting. Fathers and daughters relationships are vital. Rose grows up without a father and it is hard for her to make any commitments. She is searching in all the wrong places.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a great book! It¿s about a woman who runs off to a home for

    What a great book! It’s about a woman who runs off to a home for unwedded pregnant girls and ends up staying and raising her daughter there. The book is broken down into thirds with each section being told by a different narrator. The characters were all so loveable even if you didn’t particularly like or understand them.




    When I first started reading the book, I was intrigued but found it a little slow. Luckily, my sister had recommended it and told me to keep reading, and I’m glad I did! The past few books I have read have all lacked in some way, whether it be poor character development or failing to wrap up loose ends. This book was different. Although there were a few loose ends that could have been tied up a bit better, the fact that they were left the way they were only adds to the story itself.




    This was my second book by Anne Patchett (the other being State of Wonder) and they are so completely different. While the other book was also really great, this is one you want to curl up with on a windy and cloudy day (like today!).

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Ggreat writing Hard to put down

    Great writing. I could not relate to Rose hurting her mother and Thomas and then Cecelia and Son. I guess that is one reason this is a well written book. The author makes you feel emotion al attachment. I hated to see this book end. She leaves the reader with her /his own idea as to what will happen next! Wonderful book!!


    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Loved this book

    Ann Patchett is one of my favorite authors, and this is my favorite book of hers. The pregnant home for girls setting was fascinating, as was the plot.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Great Book

    Loved this book, major page turner!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    unsympathetic main character

    I have not had such a strong reaction to a character in a long time. I really disliked Rose. She deserved to be slapped by Sister Evangeline. Everyone seemed to love her but why? Because she was beautiful?Because she was a good cook? She never seemed to have that much to say, she didn't seem attached to anyone in a human way, seemed very self absorbed. That she could just run off and leave her family, (husband yes, but daughter?) NO! And then not to even address a separate farewell note to her daughter, just lump her in with "everyone". Incredibly selfish!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Intriguing

    Made me think about the roles we play and look outside my views. Hadn't thought about these situations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes you want to run!!!!

    This is a very interesting story about people who get used to living in a certain way, having the daily habits over and over again. With the backdrop of a place for pregnant women to go through their pregnancies without the knowledge of their families. The story goes on to reveal secrets of a main character and shows how our lives are a continuous circle, even for the people involved in it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Great Read

    This book was very captivating and I couldn't put it down. I felt that the characters where very real and you could feel the emotions. Enjoy Ann Patchett very much!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    A wonderful book; well written with terrific character development.

    My second book by Ann Patchett and my favorite thus far. It was difficult to put down and ended all too soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Writer's Workshop

    I was lucky enough to have Ms. Patchett as an Introduction to Literature teacher at the University of Iowa, while she was participating in the Writer's Workshop. Her talent was apparent to me then and I thoroughly enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Beautiful, as are all of Ms. Patchett's wondrous books. A gifte

    Beautiful, as are all of Ms. Patchett's wondrous books. A gifted writer whose novels are luminous and magical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    very good book

    It held my interest through out. I enjoyed the characters and theme. However, I think it is left open for a second in the series.
    Worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    great read

    My first read by this author and will definitely look into more. Great way of pulling you into the lives of the characters. I felt the pain and heartache of each one of the characters and I loved how Patchett switched the story from the point of view of each character. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Please lend me this book

    I wasn't quite funished and lost it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4