Customer Reviews for

Paula (en espanol)

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Language

Can the book be switched from spanish to english?

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paula by Isabel Allende.. Review

Paula is an autobiography based on an emotionally difficult time in the author's life because she is losing her daughter, Paula to a long and excruciating illness. Through out the book, Allende's wry and ironic sense of humor lightens the tense, sad mood. For example, i...
Paula is an autobiography based on an emotionally difficult time in the author's life because she is losing her daughter, Paula to a long and excruciating illness. Through out the book, Allende's wry and ironic sense of humor lightens the tense, sad mood. For example, in the begining she is telling a story about when her father, Tomas, abandons his family, and how her mother was glad to return his coat of arms, which featured three starving dogs- an ironic reference to the blue blood(nobility) that Tomas brought to the family, then took away.
The book is narrated by the author, Isabel Allende. She begins the book by talking to her daughter, who is in acoma. She says her reason for writing the book is so when Paula awakes from her acoma, she can read the diary and be fully aware of what happened while she was unconisious. She starts the story when she got a call saying Paula was ill, in a Madrid hospital. At the time, she had just published her book "The Infinate Plan" and was on a book tour in Spain, thus was able to get there in a matter of hours. She was grateful to be nearby, but was disheartened when she learned that Paula had been sick for some time, and Isabel hadnt done anything earlier. Next she flips to talking about her childhood, in Santiago, Chile. She had been enrolled in numerous schools and was expelled from some due to her strong will and rebelling to conform. Also around this timie she was introduced to the joys of story telling. Isabel tells how she believes that she was lonely, and out of lonlieness she began making up stories. Then, she begins talking about her dreams of Paula's death and how she often awakes crying. She feels Paula's acoma has lasted to long, and she cant enjoy Spain because of it. She wants to return Paula back to California, but to do so she must get her off of the oxygen. She asks the doctors to do just that, and they agree so slowly they wean her off day by day. After time in the hospital, scans ran showed that Paula has irreversable brain damage, so if she ever came out of acoma, she would never be able to read the diary. After some thought, Isabel decides to take Paula back to California. Back in San Fransisco, Paula has a hospital bed and all neccesary equiptment installed in her room, and family members are close enough to visit her in her last days. Paula's grandmother comes up from Chile to see her, and is surprised to see her in such a fragile state. Paula had significantly deteriorated, her hair, once down to her waist is all cut off, she continues to lose weight and curl up into fetal postion. Hope for Paula is quickly losing its stregnth.
Overall, I liked the book, though it definetly wasnt one of my favorites. Paula's story i found more interesting than Allende's life story. I also didnt like how she was constantly switching back between past and present. When she did switch back and forth, in my opinion the transition wasnt very smooth. My favorite part of the whole book was the ending, when she describes how she had to say goodbye to her daughter on her trip to the next world. If i had to pick a moral for the book it would be a tie. I've learned that you can never take any day for granted, and to always expect the unexpected. You never know whats gonna happen, or when. So by living each day to its fullest, and never take anything for granted, you will better enjoy life, and when the unexpected happens you can embrace whatever happens knowing you did exactly what you wan

posted by 2455831 on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Language

    Can the book be switched from spanish to english?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    Wonder book

    This book brought more tears and more insight than most books I have read. There was also a lot of joy. Her description of their family life and the abuses of life in Chile and Argentina was a real eye opener. Isabels honesty at revealing what seem to be mistaken choices in her life is amazing. Her love for her daughter and the suffering they experienced is both heartrending and memorable. A great book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    Paula by Isabel Allende.. Review

    Paula is an autobiography based on an emotionally difficult time in the author's life because she is losing her daughter, Paula to a long and excruciating illness. Through out the book, Allende's wry and ironic sense of humor lightens the tense, sad mood. For example, in the begining she is telling a story about when her father, Tomas, abandons his family, and how her mother was glad to return his coat of arms, which featured three starving dogs- an ironic reference to the blue blood(nobility) that Tomas brought to the family, then took away.
    The book is narrated by the author, Isabel Allende. She begins the book by talking to her daughter, who is in acoma. She says her reason for writing the book is so when Paula awakes from her acoma, she can read the diary and be fully aware of what happened while she was unconisious. She starts the story when she got a call saying Paula was ill, in a Madrid hospital. At the time, she had just published her book "The Infinate Plan" and was on a book tour in Spain, thus was able to get there in a matter of hours. She was grateful to be nearby, but was disheartened when she learned that Paula had been sick for some time, and Isabel hadnt done anything earlier. Next she flips to talking about her childhood, in Santiago, Chile. She had been enrolled in numerous schools and was expelled from some due to her strong will and rebelling to conform. Also around this timie she was introduced to the joys of story telling. Isabel tells how she believes that she was lonely, and out of lonlieness she began making up stories. Then, she begins talking about her dreams of Paula's death and how she often awakes crying. She feels Paula's acoma has lasted to long, and she cant enjoy Spain because of it. She wants to return Paula back to California, but to do so she must get her off of the oxygen. She asks the doctors to do just that, and they agree so slowly they wean her off day by day. After time in the hospital, scans ran showed that Paula has irreversable brain damage, so if she ever came out of acoma, she would never be able to read the diary. After some thought, Isabel decides to take Paula back to California. Back in San Fransisco, Paula has a hospital bed and all neccesary equiptment installed in her room, and family members are close enough to visit her in her last days. Paula's grandmother comes up from Chile to see her, and is surprised to see her in such a fragile state. Paula had significantly deteriorated, her hair, once down to her waist is all cut off, she continues to lose weight and curl up into fetal postion. Hope for Paula is quickly losing its stregnth.
    Overall, I liked the book, though it definetly wasnt one of my favorites. Paula's story i found more interesting than Allende's life story. I also didnt like how she was constantly switching back between past and present. When she did switch back and forth, in my opinion the transition wasnt very smooth. My favorite part of the whole book was the ending, when she describes how she had to say goodbye to her daughter on her trip to the next world. If i had to pick a moral for the book it would be a tie. I've learned that you can never take any day for granted, and to always expect the unexpected. You never know whats gonna happen, or when. So by living each day to its fullest, and never take anything for granted, you will better enjoy life, and when the unexpected happens you can embrace whatever happens knowing you did exactly what you wan

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Beware!!! It's in Spanish!!!

    Nowhere in thedescription did I see that thisbook is in Spanish. Who knows if it's good or not because I CAN'T READ IT .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the book and was deeply affected, since I lost a sister and took care of her.

    Paula by Isabel Allende

    When Allende's daughter succumbs to a disease that leaves her in a coma, the author starts to write her autobiography and reads it everyday to her dying daughter. The story reveals extraordinary ancestors, memories both sweet and sour of Paula's youth, incredible anecdotes from the family history, and the most secret whispers.

    Paula is, more than anything, the suffering of a mother that is seeing her daughter sleeping away towards death, unable to do anything else but to keep her memory alive by telling her stories.

    I loved the book and was deeply affected, since I lost a sister and took care of her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Don't buy!

    THIS BOOK IS IN SPANISH!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    This book brought tears and a lot of thinking. The way Isabel Al

    This book brought tears and a lot of thinking. The way Isabel Allende describe her life from the beginning is just so amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Did you

    Did not like it kk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Click here for sad story

    As it turns out, Paula- the REAL Paula- never came out of the coma, she died one day while Isabel was sitting in a chair in her hospital room reading,"Paula" to her. So sad...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Bien puto, el de el comentario de arriba es gay

    GAY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Question...

    Does it come in spanish?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1