Customer Reviews for

Paula Deen: It Ain't All about the Cookin'

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    If you're a fan of Paula Deen, this book will only make you love her more. She puts herself out there for the world to understand that the only person that is in your way of being happy in your life is you, and no obstacle is too big to overcome. To know where she's been and see how far she's come is an inspirational book for anyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Paula Unplugged!

    I found this memoir to be very real. The one thing about Paula is she never does anything half way. Some of the intimacies she reveals in the book border on TMI, but it seems she set out to bare her soul and that is what she did. Raucus, rowdy, and feriociously loving, Paula tells her story with honesty and humor. She made me laugh as she always does. Great read. Inspirational.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Well worth your time...

    Love her or hate her, (personally I love her and all her butter lovin' ways, too) Paula Deen is an American fixture and a hard-working self-made woman. and that deserves respect. I just got through reading her autobiography It Ain't All About the Cooking. I know it came out a few years ago, but that's just how life goes sometimes.

    I'm so glad that I was finally able to pick it up. As a woman who has been through plenty of hard knocks myself, I found her story very relatable. She's a woman who made mistakes (failed marriage, affair with a married man) and faced a lot of tough obstacles (agoraphobia, no money) but she had the courage to move on and become "a woman of substance". successful restaurant owner, cookbook author and Food Network queen. Ultimately, she never let the negative things in her life weigh her down. That to me makes her story enjoyable and very inspiring.

    Of course it couldn't be a Paula Deen autobiography without her including some really great recipes! Mississippi Mud Cake, Biscuits & Sawmill Gravy and her Grandmomma's Fried & Steamed Chicken, . it ain't diet food, it's comfort food!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun - Written just how she speaks!

    I read this book in an afternoon and it was very refreshing. Much of what I read, I had already heard from interviews but it was very fun 'hearing' it in her voice from the beginning.

    It was written very matter-of-fact and quite honestly. I wasn't a big fan of her cooking shows (sorry) since I favor Medditerranean cuisine but have visited her restaurant in Savannah (Lady & Sons) and found the fried green tomatoes and seafood chowder fantastic. And butter aside, I find HER extremely likeable (I may even try some recipes found in this lil' book ya'll).

    Good Read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Paula Deen is unashamed!

    I didn't know many things about Paula until I read this book, I would highly recommend it to ANYONE, even if you don't cook or even like Paula Deen. She tells her story well, including her struggles, mistakes, ups and downs, and triumphs. This is a really great read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Free Paula Deen!!!

    I love Paula Deen!! She deserves a second chance. Haven't we all said something we shouldn't have, or done things we regret? Michael Vick was killing dogs and he got back on the football field, really???!!! So why shouldn't Paula be allowed on tv, or sell another cookbook??!!

    Give her a break!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    Love Paula!

    I thought it would be interesting to learn a little bit about Paula's background.....Well, I now know and I love her even more! What a great book! I love the honesty and the wisdom she gives. One of my favorite biographies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surrprised me how much I liked this book!

    I'm not a really big Paula Deen fan, but I found this in a bargain bin and I love memoirs so I read it. I loved her candid storytelling, the insight into her life and family, and I loved her commentary on random things. I haven't tried any of the recipes that end each chapter, but I definitely will be! I enjoyed the quotes that introduced each chapter as well. I can think of a few people who will enjoy this book, also. I would recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    Inspiring Bio

    I didn't know Paula Deen until today. I swear I bought her book only because It was at a $1.99 price and I knew she was a great cook. It is funny how God works and sends you the info you need just in the right moment. That is what happened here. (I'm working on m own book and needed a bit of inspiration).
    Now, about the book. It's heart warming and heart breaking. When we read the true story about a TV celebrity, we usually expect easiness and la vie en rose, basically. Well Paula´s story is completely different. She tells you all the details of her success, including those that are terrible decisions, bad moments and how she got trough them.
    It's definitely something that will inspire you, and let you see how lucky you're. I really hope you read it, it will be worth the time and money spent on this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    I loved Paula's book and the way she talks about her past, prese

    I loved Paula's book and the way she talks about her past, present and yes dreams of the future. As I read her story I smiled, laughed and yes cried, then smiled some more. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed the book from the beginning to the end. Paula Deen explains how she came to be as a cook and celebrity. She did not hold back and told her 'secrets' with dignity and grace. Some of her revelations must have been difficult to disclose. God bless her soul! I admire her honesty and courage and I especially admire her dedication to family. Good book to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Peoplewhohatepauladeen

    Payula deen wgas being racest agents blacks so she and her books sucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I thought I was ordering the book by the same title. Unfortunately I took off the outside wrapping before I realalized this was a CD package;therefore I could not return it.I did enjoy the CD's even though they were long.I wouldhave prefered the book

    The CD's were very entertaining, however each one was at least 1 hour which meant you had to be in the same area so you didn't miss anything.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3