Customer Reviews for

Paula Deen: Paula Deen

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Paula Deen's Story is Incredible

    Paula Deen is a favorite on TV. You see her cooking up her great recipes and she seems like a natural and you would think she was always on top of the world. Reading this book you get insight in to the early years of Paula's life and the hard times she encountered. Those hard times actually made her the strong person and great cook she is today. She talks about her brother Bubba and her sons who are also great cooks. This is an inspirational story and should be enjoyed by anyone who loves food and also likes a good biography. Paula Deen fans will truely love getting to know her better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Paula Deen is a hoot. She is not perfect and she openly admits

    Paula Deen is a hoot. She is not perfect and she openly admits it...course few of us are. I read this book and laughed out loud at some of the parts. She has been through the worst of times and came out on top. You cant fault her on that...though some people try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I enjoyed reading "Paula Deen's "It aint all about the cooking"

    Paula writes a really interesting life she has lived and is very thankful that her life has turned around. What she has done with this book is truly inspirational because she tells how she has succeeded in life by "Hard Work" which I feel that people need to know that. She doesn't pull any punches when she lets us know her regrets and by reading this book I have come to know the Paula Deen that I have always been fond of from watching her cooking show on the Food Network. I thank Paula for writing this book and had a fun time reading it. DD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Paula Deen's It Ain't All About Cookin'

    I would read Paula Deen's biography repeatedly for inspiration and 'just because'. This book reads as if Paula Deen is your personal friend. She is so down to earth and humourous. Her experiences will mirror your own, no matter who you are or where you're from. She will have you dreaming again, if you've stopped, and picking up the pace, if you've slowed down. Her story is one of survival and family. She uses the very thing that is in her hand (cooking), and turns it into a monumental success. This is a great gift book for anyone needing hope and motivation to perservere, a source of joy if in need of laughter, or simply needing a good book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Southern Lady Makes Very Good!

    I could not put it down! Ms. Deen, unlike I had thought, had not been a lady of privilege and unending happiness and prosperity. No, she really arrived at success the hard way. I just fell in love with her and her triumphs over countless obstacles. She is EVERYWOMAN. Every Southern woman, that is. She bares her soul. She relates that if you tell a secret, you'll get one back. I am a southern lady a little older than Paula. I love to cook, read, laugh, cuss (just a little), and try to keep it real while wishing it were perfect. I am a fan for life and just wish I could go to Savannah while I can still walk and digest good food. Paula, stay Paula. Please keep writing and cooking!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Ya gotta Love this woman!

    This a really good read about "The Lady". Recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It is all about Paula Deen

    Love this book. Cannot say enough about it. I have rated it my favorite book I have read so far this year - and the year just started. I am not even going to lend this one out as I usually do. Love, love, love it.
    There is a bonus as well, after every chapter she inserts a recipe, so now I get to try all those.

    I was touched beyond words by Ms. Deen. It brought back such wonderful memories for me. As a child I hung out with a Southern family - my best friend was from the South. Her mother Sandi would do the best cooking. I mean, the table would be covered with wonderful foodstuffs. I loved to be at that house at those times, not just for that wonderful food, but because it felt like love to this child from a broken home. I never wanted to leave that place. Paula Deen just brought all of that back to me in this book. I did not want this book to end and savored every word. What a lady.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    A truly inspiring, funny woman

    From the moment I read the first paragraph I loved this book. Have always admired Paula's great sense of humor and charm but would never guess what she had to overcome in her life to get her success. She is a woman of so much strength and courage. Even though she went through some really tough and depressing times she always kept her zest for life and sense of humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Inspirational

    Paula Deen is my favorite television chef. Not surprisingly, her memoir is just as down home as her cookery. And, just as delicious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Cheers to you Paula!

    When you watch these people on Food Network, you think you know them pretty well. Never could I have imagined Paula, that you lived such a life full of fear. I have read other reviews about this book and people have said they are disappointed in you. My review could not be further from the truth. I can't imagine the courage it took to put this into print and tell the world your most hidden secrets. I give you so much credit and I admire you even more for it. Everyone has skeletons and if you say you don't, you are hiding from the truth. There isn't a person I know that hasn't made a bad choice or has some type of regret. You go girl!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Camellia Ann

    I have loved her/you Paula Deen over the years watcHing your Home Cooking on the Food network and also being on that first cruise with the Travel Goup. I am disappointed with her/your stretch, ie: marketing everything and not sticking to just the cooking-the down home person. She is another 'Kinkade' that has gone to far! She/You prayed and wanted a husband/companion and grand children and now what are/is you/she doing-being away from all that more and more, and then the new restaurant-WHAT ARE YOU DOING PAULA??? It's time to smell the rose's, your box of chocolate's are about gone 'Forest Gump'! I , after reading to page 133 and before then have decided you are just a SPOILED BRAT AND A CONTROL FREAK!!! Yes, you did work hard but that was you and your stubborn hard head personality.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    The Best biography I've ever read

    I watch Paula every day on the food network, but reading her book just shows me the kind of person she truly is. I could not put her book down. She is so inspiring. To get where she is today has been a long hard struggle. It's very sad that she struggled so hard and so long with her panic attacks, but she proved to me and many others if you want something bad enough you will do it. God Bless you Paula. You are one beautiful, sweet and kind person. Your husband and sons I'm sure are quite proud of you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    I loved this book

    I like to read true stories. And Paula's story is very interesting. She has the guts that I wish I had. I'm too scared to take risks and she definately isn't. Way to go Paula!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    I LOVE THIS

    I love Paula Deen and reading this book brings out a whole other look for her. I love how he tells everything like she is talking right to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I got paula's book shortly after her book tour brought her to cincinnati, ohio and I love it!!!. The story makes me want to give her the biggest hug and never let her go. And the recipes Oh, my lord. Reading her recipes will make yo mouth water. You have not seen or read anything by paula deen till you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    One of the best and most honest book's I have read in years. Thank you for a very honest look inside your heart and family. I am going to try and get tickets for show in August 2007... Thanks again, Eldonna from Dallas Texas

    I now have all your cookbooks, thanks to my daughters and friends who all know how much I Love Paula Deen...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    I couldn't put it down....

    I love to watch Paula Deen on the food channel. I had heard some bits and pieces about her life. This really was a tell all. She was open and honest...very honest! It gave me hope for the future. I'm almost 40 and faced with possibly having to make a career change. I don't know if I'd be as brave as she was but it really was encouraging to read where she came from and how she got to where she is! When I started to read it I just didn't want to put it down. I read it in about three sittings. Go Paula!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    A Momma for the Ages

    This woman is the real thing--yo' momma, yo'cook, yo' best friend, yo'shrink, yo'sister----everyone you like and admire. On top of it all, she's the most fun on th e planet. I adore her, I'd follow her anywhere. Read IT AIN'T ALL ABOUT THE COOKIN'---you'll fall in love with Paula Deen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    Makes me want to drive on down to The Lady & Sons right now

    Paula Deen writes beautifully in the voice that we loyal food network fans have come to love. It took me just a few days to read and I loved the ease in which she told her life story. It really was very inspirational memoir and shows that sometimes a dream is all it takes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I bought this book so I could make some delicious meals for friends and family. Boy was i wrong!!!!!!!! All it talked about was Paula's life and not cooking. Thanks a lot!!!!. I am deeply disapointed and never leaving my house again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2